Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Sweet Iced Tea Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Sweet Iced Tea

    Average Rating:

    220 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 220

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2008

      I can't believe I haven't submitted a review for this iced tea yet! I've been making it for so long and love the tea it makes. I follow the directions with the exception of the sugar. We don't like "sweet" iced tea -- but we do like GREAT iced tea -- and this recipe has never let us down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

    • on July 23, 2008

      I'm a southern girl from Bay St. Louis, MS. so this tea is a 'MUST HAVE' in my family. We all LOVE it. I double the recipe to make one gallon. Using 4 family sized tea bags, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, 4 c. boiling water, 1 1/2 c. sugar and 12 c. cold water. It's the perfect drink for a hot summer day. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      When it says sweet, oh man, they're not kidding. It was sweet, brown water. And I'm from the south and like it super sweet, but this was just too much even for me. I could taste no tea flavor at all....not even a little. So, I tried it again. I doubled the tea bags so that you could actually TASTE tea and cut the sugar back to 1 cup. Then when I served it, I served it with lemon wedges to further cut back on the ubersweetness. Second batch was definitely better than the first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      I've been making this for a while... although mine isn't "sweet tea" because I only use 1/3 cup of sugar. Mainly I appreciate finding this recipe because of the quick cooling method and the perfect ratio of tea to water. My hubby loves it and I'm always having to make more. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      This is the best sweet iced tea I have ever had. I love sweet tea, but I could get mine quite sweet enough. This recipe did the trick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I am usually only an unsweetened iced tea drinker except when I am in the south. However, this recipe for sweet tea is wonderful and one that I am going to use often. It is just like I'm used to when I'm visiting the south. I made it exactly as stated with 1 1/2 cups sugar. I always like some sliced lemon in my tea as well. Thanks for sharing this fantastic sweet tea recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

    • on May 23, 2008

      PERFECT southern sweet tea!!!! I used 1 1/2 cups sugar, and loved it!!! It's so nice to now have it written down so I don't have to play with it to get it just right! ;) :) Thanks so much!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Wow! What more can I say. This is "THE REAL DEAL." No need to take a trip to the South, this recipe is "summer southern hospitality in a glass." 1 Cup of Sugar is plenty. I think I will retire my Mr. Coffe Tea machine and keep the pitchers it came with to make and keep the tea in. Thank you for an incredible recipe. Thank you, Thank you , Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Takes the guess work out of making sweet tea. This also eliminates my tendency to burst one of the tea bags, filling my tea with dregs (recipe says do not squeeze). I used just about 1 c. of sugar and felt that it was a little too much. I'll bump it down a bit next time. Still very easy, very good. Will go great with lunch tomorrow. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I was dying for something sweet today and I spied this and made it. It's great! I used about 1/2 cup sugar and that's good for me. Restaurants serve this all the time down here and I love it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I was a bit concerned about using this recipe today for two reasons. One I purchased tea specifically for this recipe and still managed to buy an herbal tea. Must have seemed like a good idea at the time but as I pulled it out of my cabinet I realized I wanted a more traditional flavor, which this recipe implies. And two I've switched from sugar to agave nectar, which although it takes less to sweeten an item, I've found that it takes a LOT of product when making liquids so I feared I wouldn't be able to get it sweet enough. Both due to the loads of calories and the cost of agave nectar. Long story short neither was an issue. I'm waiting for it to chill but as it stands it's very sweet without having used a full bottle of agave:) And the herbal tea is a nice touch although next time I will go with traditional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      I"m a southern girl living in cali where sweet tea isn't the same. this took me back to the south. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I want to thank you so much. Im from tennessee, but im working in wyoming, and when i got here i was devistated 2 find out they dont serve sweet tea anywhere. I tried 2 make my own, and it wasnt that good. This recipe is perfect. A perfect example of some good old fashined southern sweet iced tea. Thank you again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Made mine with Luzianne Tea bags which to me are perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      This is absolutely incredible. I grew up in the North but have lived in the South for the past four years; and I've loved sweet tea ever since I tried it. I think that 1.5 cups of sugar is perfect if you really want it to taste like real southern sweet tea without being undrinkable. Amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      How I lived so long in Texas without knowing this secret recipe I will never know. This tea is PERFECT. I would not change a thing. This is a keeper......thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      NOW I know why so many people like sweet tea! A must for summertime BBQs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I lived in Texas for a Little More than 6 months and I realize there is a debate between sweet or unsweetened down there,but I love it sweet! Thanks for the great tea, Ive never been able to duplicate it perfectly until now . Its the baking soda, I never knew to put it in. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Sweet Iced Tea

    Serving Size: 1 (2197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 108.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 149.9 g
    49%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 149.7 g
    598%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tea bags

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes