228 Reviews

I usually make a gallon at a time and only use about 1 to 1.5c sugar for the whole thing. I add the sugar to the water when I bring it to a boil, it dissolves easily that way. The baking soda cuts any hint of bitterness. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stanzacp June 12, 2010

Thank you for sharing this simple recipe. My husband loves sweet tea and after his tea maker broke he was lost for a while. I tried sun tea- but it was too weak for him. Regular tea recipes weren't sweet enough (my hubby puts sugar on his frosted flakes if that tells you anything!) When I tested this out on him he loved it. Now I make this 2-3 times a week for him and he's happy. 6/4/10 Edited to Add: I still make this for my hubby soon as it gets close to summer time. I make it by the gallon so I only have to make it every-other day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faeanne June 04, 2010

I have made this before, and once recently. I do not know why I did not review it. Despite living in the south my whole life, I was never taught to make tea, being the offspring of yanks. This satisfies my right-brain need for a recipe, and it is easy. The tea is the perfect strength. However, we find 1 1/2 c. of sugar too sweet and usually use 1 c. instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch June 02, 2010

I'm not a southern girl, but visit Georgia often on business trips. One of the things I look forward to is the sweet tea - and I'm not a tea drinker! The addition of baking soda to this takes away the bitterness that turns me away from most tea. Thank you for such a delicious beverage recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prissbucket Black May 20, 2010

Its a keeper and this is from a Texas gal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Morrgian May 05, 2010

we love southern sweet tea so i couldn't wait to try this when i saw this recipe. we only use a cup sugar but follow everything else and we think it's perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies April 22, 2010

Awesome sweet tea. I put the sugar down to 1/2 cup and would probably do 1/3 cup next time. It is incredibly delicious and will make a great summer drink. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael Stoner April 21, 2010

Make it all the time. Cannot believe that I never reviewed it... I add fresh mint during the steeping and reduce the sugar to 1/3 cup, because... well, because it's SUGAR! ;) Thanks, RBS.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse April 15, 2010

I used to be very proud of my own iced tea- I perfected it over the years with trial and error. I quit making it for some reason, and forgot how I used to do it. It is HOT in Oklahoma today and I got the hankering for some nice, cool tea to serve with our Easter dinner and decided to check here on RecipeZaar since I've been getting so many fantastic recipes from here lately. O. M. G. This is not only the best iced tea I have ever made, this is the best iced tea I have ever tasted. Hands down. Thank you so much for sharing this. I will never try any other way, now! ( I doubled the recipe exactly, using about 3 cups sugar for a gallon)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThreeFish April 04, 2010

This is the perfect iced tea recipe!! I LOVE iced tea and everytime I made it, it would be bitter. I used 3 bags of regular tea and 3 bags mixed berry green tea and 1 cup Splenda and the baking soda. Followed the directions and it is perfect. THANKS, just what I was looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
birdfamily96 March 26, 2010
Southern Sweet Iced Tea