221 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have only made sweet iced tea once before, but used another Zaar chef's recipe to make it. This recipe tastes similar to that recipe. Now I know why they call it "sweet" iced tea!! When making this, I only added 1 cup of sugar, and that was a bit too sweet for me, so I added one regular size packet of Unsweetened Kool-Aid Lemonade to it, to make this a lemon flavored iced tea. I liked how it turned out, but next time when I make this, I'm going to add a few more tea bags, as I like my tea abit stronger. Other than that, this was very good! Thank you ratherbeswimmin' for the recipe. I'll definitely be making this agan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess August 29, 2008

I can't believe I haven't submitted a review for this iced tea yet! I've been making it for so long and love the tea it makes. I follow the directions with the exception of the sugar. We don't like "sweet" iced tea -- but we do like GREAT iced tea -- and this recipe has never let us down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie August 19, 2008

I'm a southern girl from Bay St. Louis, MS. so this tea is a 'MUST HAVE' in my family. We all LOVE it. I double the recipe to make one gallon. Using 4 family sized tea bags, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, 4 c. boiling water, 1 1/2 c. sugar and 12 c. cold water. It's the perfect drink for a hot summer day. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Charlie Brown July 23, 2008

When it says sweet, oh man, they're not kidding. It was sweet, brown water. And I'm from the south and like it super sweet, but this was just too much even for me. I could taste no tea flavor at all....not even a little. So, I tried it again. I doubled the tea bags so that you could actually TASTE tea and cut the sugar back to 1 cup. Then when I served it, I served it with lemon wedges to further cut back on the ubersweetness. Second batch was definitely better than the first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Echo0502 July 18, 2008

I've been making this for a while... although mine isn't "sweet tea" because I only use 1/3 cup of sugar. Mainly I appreciate finding this recipe because of the quick cooling method and the perfect ratio of tea to water. My hubby loves it and I'm always having to make more. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker July 08, 2008

This is the best sweet iced tea I have ever had. I love sweet tea, but I could get mine quite sweet enough. This recipe did the trick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ms_stats July 07, 2008

I am usually only an unsweetened iced tea drinker except when I am in the south. However, this recipe for sweet tea is wonderful and one that I am going to use often. It is just like I'm used to when I'm visiting the south. I made it exactly as stated with 1 1/2 cups sugar. I always like some sliced lemon in my tea as well. Thanks for sharing this fantastic sweet tea recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 July 06, 2008

PERFECT southern sweet tea!!!! I used 1 1/2 cups sugar, and loved it!!! It's so nice to now have it written down so I don't have to play with it to get it just right! ;) :) Thanks so much!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflour May 23, 2008
Southern Sweet Iced Tea