Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Sweet Iced Tea Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Sweet Iced Tea

    Average Rating:

    220 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 220

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2011

      Do not add 2 cups of sugar to the tea..wayyyy to sweet! Made my stomach hurt:(...i'll try 1 cup next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Very smooth iced tea! Being from Texas I have drank a lot of iced tea in my life, seeing as we have it with every meal, and this was some of the best. This is exactly how my mom taught me to make tea with the exception of the baking soda. The soda is the key and I will never make tea without it again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      My husband is from Georgia and everytime we go visit we drink all the sweet tea we can because you cant find it here so I looked high and low for a good recipie and I definetly found a good one with this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      My husband and I were raised on sweet tea. But for health reasons, we have gotten used to sweetening our tea with Equal. I made this as a surprise for him for his birthday dinner. He loved it and so did I. It is very sweet but we both think that is how tea ought to be. Thanks for a guilty pleasure that will be saved for special occasions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      Made as recipe states and it was too weak and wayyyy too sweet. Next time I will let it steep longer to make it strong and halve the sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Very good. Like several other people, I only used 1/3 cup sugar and it was plenty sweet. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2014

      In addition to reducing the amount of sugar, I like to add it as soon as the water boils, so it is easier to completely dissolve... After stirring the sugar in, then I add the tea bags to let them steep.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

      That's how we make it in Georgia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      pretty refreshing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      This was great - tasted authentic! I used Lipton's tea and only put in 1 1/3 cup sugar. Even then it was very sweet! I might make it with 1 1/4 or 1 cup next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      I started with 1 1/2 C of sugar and it was too sweet. The kids said all they tasted was sugar and needed more of the tea flavor to be more prominent. Through trial and error, we found that a bit more than 1/3 C is perfect for the teen palates. Thanks for sharing this family treasure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I kind of liked it, but it was very weak and really sweet. Next time, I'll add more tea and a little less sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      I think the baking soda is the secret. Seems to make the tea smoother and cuts the aftertaste bitterness. Made a gallon and used 2 cups of sugar. Just right for my taste. If you like lemon in your tea, squeeze half a lemon and throw the half in with the tea while it is steeping. I'm from N.C. and this recipe taste just like home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      Not real southern sweet tea with out making a syrup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      I joined this web site just to comment on this recipe. I made 1 gallon of Lipton's Blackberry tea using 14 tea bags, 3 cups of sugar and steeped it for 18 minutes. I did not squeeze the bags though I did allow the excess water time to drip out and it turned out great. I agree its a bit sweet though it did not over power the good clean tea taste. I forgot to use the baking soda of which I think is to help it not be cloudy. Thanx for the recipe, it will always be the recipe I use from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      I doubled recipe for a Gallon pitcher. For the doubled recipe I reduced sugar from 3-4 cups sugar to 1 1/3 cups and added 1/3 cup Spenda. Best Sweet Tea EVER! My DH who has NEVER been a real tea drinker, inhaled the first pitcher.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      Yummmm.... This is sooo good! I use 1/3C sugar as well as some other people but that's just my preference. I've tried this with orange pekoe and earl grey - with both I prefer to add an extra tea bag just to make it a bit stringer - again that's personal preference. This is a great recipe - I double it and it's gone very quickly, it helps keep everyone hydrated in the heat - thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      This a great recipe! But I tweaked it a little. I added one teabag and one cup of hot water to help express the extra tea, and filled with cold water to two quarts (1/2 gallon). Also, I'm using Splenda-sugar blend, and at 2x sweetening power by volume, a bit less than a full cup works out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      I had to tweak this a lot. I found 1 1/2 cups of sugar to be fine for us, but 6 teabags steeped for 15 minutes produced a very weak-tasting tea. I ended up steeping 2 more bags for another 15 minutes in a small amount of water. After adding this, the flavor was much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      Love Love Love this recipe!!!! My kids and myself are big McDonalds Sweet Tea addicts. We can't get enough. This recipe is a perfect match! Although I doubled it, I only used 3 cups of sugar and it was still as sweet as McD's if not still a bit sweeter. The next time I make it , I might try a little less sugar just to see. But for now its great the way it is. This Recipe is a definite keeper. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Sweet Iced Tea

    Serving Size: 1 (2197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 108.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 149.9 g
    49%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 149.7 g
    598%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tea bags

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites