Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Style Turkey Pot Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Style Turkey Pot Pie

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2011

      Super easy and quick! And delicious!! I used turkey from Thanksgiving, which was originally grilled/smoked and then frozen. My boyfriend claims the seasoning of the turkey gave the meal some extra punch, which is probably true. I tweaked the recipe as such:

      1. Two words, people: Grands JUNIORS! I used the junior homestyle biscuits and by the time they had browned on top, they were cooked all the way through. I started the oven at 375 degrees for 10 minutes, upped it to 400 for another 7 minutes, then turned it off and let the dish sit in the oven for about 5 minutes, plus 5 minutes cool time out of the oven.
      2. 3 cups of turkey instead of 4
      3. 1 can of Del Monte's big 26 ounce can of mixed vegetables with potatoes, drained
      4. 1 can of Creamy Chicken Soup, plus a can's-worth of 2% milk (I don't like gravy!)
      5. Seasoning of sea salt, seasoning salt, pepper, thyme, parsley, garlic powder
      6. As someone recommended, it's important to heat everything up really well before putting it into the baking dish. After I heated the mixture and poured it into the dish, I mixed in 3/4 of a package of shredded cheddar cheese (a tip I stole from another recipe). Then I put the junior biscuits on top, then sprinkled the rest of the cheese on top of them.

      My boyfriend ate about 4 servings for dinner! I stuffed myself with almost 3 and we have this sad little container now with 1 serving left over...I plan to make it again since I still have a lot of turkey. Whole meal took 45 minutes from start to finish including 25 minutes baking/cooling time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      I've been searching for quite awhile for this kind of recipe. It is great. We don't especially care for turkey except at thanksgiving, but since I had some in the freezer I decided this was a great way to get rid of it. If the turkey pies were this good, I cannot wait to try the recipe with chicken. It's almost a blueprint that you can 'do your own way'. I used a lot of another reviewers tips, put it in 7 inch throwaway foil pans, topped them with thinly rolled sourdough biscuits, and instead of cans of mixed veggies I used canned peas,& carrots, added potatoes, & celery flakes,& also added some chopped onion. Used the same above mentioned viewers suggestions for seasonings. We did sprinkle cheddar cheese on the two pies we ate, and it added to it just fine.Thank you so much for a recipe that I can work with, and enjoy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      The problem of doughy biscuits is that they are too thick to cook through, on top of the pot pie, before they become too browned. My suggestion is to pull the flaky biscuits apart half way down, so you have 2 thinner biscuits from one biscuit. Try this and they should cook through and you will also have more crust to go over a larger casserole dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      My DH loved this and so did I. I am rating the recipe mostly on how easy it is to make and how changable it is since I can't really rate it for taste since I did alot of changes LOL First off I hate mixed canned veggies so subbed in canned peas and I had an ear of corn that need used so those were the vegs added. Same goes for canned gravey so i used a gravey mix we like . I did use turkey and mushroom soup LOL I don't buy canned bisquits so used Flaky Biscuits#16093 for the bisquits. Bisquits need a high heat so I upped the temp to 400 F. I also cut my bisquits thinner then normal. I had no problem with gooey bisquits they were a touch "soft" on the bottom but not alot. Plus I make sure the filling was VERY hot before placing the bisquits on. I also added a smidge of Summer savary. I also cut the recipe back to make two individual casseroles. So even though I did changes for this house it is still 5 stars Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      Good recipe for Turkey Pot Pie I really liked the filling but I have to agree with other reviews the biscuits are too doughy on the bottom. I used chicken since turkey was not an option and I add salt and pepper to the filling. Very good recipe, just need to figure out what to do about the biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      My only complaint on this, was that the bottom of the biscuits were soggy and... well.... grossly undercooked. all i did was set them on top and i cooked for the time stated, I wouldnt have wanted the tops any browner then they were... next time I would just make them on the side. I also added alot of pepper, some seasoning salt and some onion powder into the soup mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This dish was so quick and easy to prepare. It will be perfect for those busy evenings when we have scouts or soccer. Plus the taste was yummy too. I used chicken in mine. Wonderful comfort food, thanks so much MsSally.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      We loved this. It was easy and very good comfort food. I did use homemade leftover gravy and frozen mixed veges. Followed the directions exactly and was very pleased. I did also add a pinch of dried thyme, parsley and sage. Wonderful dinner thanks, MsSally!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      What an easy way to make pot pie! I used some turkey that I had in the freezer and a bag of frozen mixed veggies as I couldn't find Veg-All. I can't make a pie crust for the life of me, so the biscuit topping was wonderful. Very simple and tasty dish. Thanks MsSally.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      Very very easy and yummy pot pie! I scaled it down to fit in to small ramekins for an early dinner. I Used chicken since I seem to always have cooked chicken laying around the fridge. Topped each ramekin with a biscuit and placed them in the oven until they were browned, it was less than 20 minutes I think (but thats obvious since I made them in smaller portions). This is one of thouse dinners that make me look like I slaved away in the kitchen all day, but really all I did was open up some cans and turn on the oven!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Style Turkey Pot Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.6
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    29%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 58.0 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1443.6 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 29.0 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes