Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern style Pinto beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern style Pinto beans

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2010

      My mom would put a pot of these beans on in the morning on wash day (she used lard). Everyone who walked past the stove had to stir the beans. I make these same beans often, but I use one smoked ham hock. Good amount of soupy broth. No, these are not cowboy beans with peppers etc... Just good southern pintos! Good with fried pork chops - now your talking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      These beans were really something different than what I am used to eating but I really liked them. I used dried pinto beans and used a pressure cooker to speed up the process ( 1 1/4 hr at 10 lbs pressure). Served this recipe with corn bread and buttermilk. Tasty! Thanks for posting, JimB. =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Love pinto beans, and the beans turned out just great without soaking!! I did add additional water, a couple of times during cooking, because I was afraid the beans would burn. The pork I used was the last remains of a cure 81 ham. Tasted great! Thanks, JimB427 for posting this down home recipe. Made for Cooking From The Pantry Challenge Game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Just like Mama used to make in the foothills of NC! Plain, simple yet really tasty. The cornbread and sliced onions complete the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Very good beans,I also prefer smoked ham hocks.By accident I discovered how to make ranch style beans with this recipe by adding a package of dry enchilada seasoning.They taste so much like the canned ranch style beans and great with cornbread. Good for a change once in awhile.Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      Pinto beans and ham are an Ozarks staple, we just call them "red beans". I do recommend the addition of onion and I prefer a smoked ham hock vs. fatback. This is true pioneer food and is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      These were very good, but I did miss the onion and peppers that I usually use. this was simple to make. I used 2 ham hocks instead of the pork fatback. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      you can also use ham hock for these and my dad adds a teaspoon of mustard in his bowl its really good as well as chopped onions of course

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I think I've found the secret recipe for pinto beans...you know, the one my mother-in-law must've used. These had a nice texture and the right amount of "soup"...unlike my usual attempt at pintos. Glad you posted this one, Jim.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2004

      A classic Country mainstay. Good as a Main Dish or a Side. No extra seasonings cooked in so everyone can do their own thing. "SoupBeans", fried potatoes and cornbread have gotten many a Southern Highlands family through hard times, and better show up on the menu at least every two weeks during good times or the family starts talking mutiny. Served with cornbread or hushpuppies the cornmeal has the amino acids the beans lack and vice versa. So the incomplete proteins in each become complete when eaten together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern style Pinto beans

    Serving Size: 1 (220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 81.5
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    85%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pork fatback

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites