Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Snow Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Snow Cream

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2011

      Making this snow cream is what I used as the incentive for my children to come in out of the snow! Quick, easy & yummy! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Easy and fun...a great way to celebrate the 13 1/2 inches of SNOW that Fort Worth, Tx had yesterday!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      NC is stuck in the middle of a nasty snow/sleet/freezing rain event. But, at least we had enough snow to make snow cream! My largest mixing bowl was full of snow, and made enough for about 4 or 5 servings. This was a nice treat in the midst of our lousy weather. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      This was so delicious! I remember my mom making this when I was a child but I forgot how good it was! We are lucky to get snow once a year in North Carolina and if we do it is usually not much. Got a good snow storm this time and it is a good thing we don't get it often because I'd be overloaded on this wonderful snow cream. This was my first time making it. So easy and so yummy! Great idea to add toppings. Didn't do that this time and it was wonderful without it but I know kids would love the sprinkles and such. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      So fun and easy! What a fun memory to create with my kids on a snow day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Who would have thought - we got snow today in Alabama! My daughter (21) and I HAD to go make this. Fantastic - thanks for a great memory from a great day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Boy does this recipe take me back some 45+ years. My dear gramma used to make this for all of us grandkids when we visited them on their farm. All 5 of us girls and granddaddy would sit at the table with a big ole bowl and thought we were having the finest dessert ever! Thanks for the memories today when I especially needed them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      OMG! I forgot the vanilla and it was STILL amazing! I wish it snowed more in Richmond so I could make this all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Used this recipe on a snowy SPRING day when the DGSs where visiting and needed something to use up some excess energy. They loved the idea and enjoyed eating it after it was made. They sprinkled candies on it for a topping and were so proud of the results. It was a little on the sweet side for me - but then I'm not a fan of the sweet condensed milk so that could just be me. Next time I think I'll try another posters idea and add a little plain milk to it. It was a fun project to do with the kids and I thank you for posting a fun and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      YUMMY!!!!!!!!! This is how to make a snow storm fun! We ended up adding a little evaporated milk because we had A LOT of snow!! So the milk we added made it very creamy and smooth and the condensed milk made it sweet and yummy.. MORE PLEASE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      We use to make this when I was young. We had 18' of snow and the grandkids over night. I sent them out ot gather some snow. They had no idea what I was doing before I put it in a bowl. Then the 3 year old yells, "It's ice cream" It was very good. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Thanks for a great childhood memory, Marg. We made it with milk and also put crushed peppermint candy in it. Now I can't wait for it to snow to have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      My kids made this (by themselves) one afternoon. They ate it for what seemed like hours! I tried it and was shocked because it tastes exactly like my mom's homemade ice cream. Who knew?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      What wonderful memories this dish evokes. My family made this when I was a little kid. I must hasten to add, however, NEVER use yellow snow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      This is something we made a lot as does a lot of the other members of the family. A note we also add flavorings such as chocolate syrup. Simply add to taste and consistancy and adjust accordingly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      When we were growing up, my mother always had us collecting buckets of snow for snow cream. We always had to wait for the second layer of snow to fall because she said it was cleaner. (I think she just didn't want us bringing part of the ground in with the snow) I still have her handwritten recipe for it. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      We made it the way Kathy did when we were kids. We thought it was the greatest stuff since ice cream was a real treat for us! Remember that melorine stuff? Yuck! A little snow would sure feel good in this 100 degree weather. 8-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      YES you really can make "ice cream" from snow!! We have had this recipe in the family for years. If we didnt have condensed milk we used regular milk, sugar and vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      Marg, I remember making this "ice cream" as a child. My 2 sisters and I loved it. Thanks for the memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Snow Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.5
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    23%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 33.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 126.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 54.2 g
    217%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes