50 Reviews

Made with 14 smallish russet potatoes, and 8 small onions. Parboiled peeled potatoes for 10 minutes. I forgot to put salt in the water, so I salted them after they were sliced. Cooked onions very slowly in enameled iron pot over low heat letting them carmelize a bit. Increased flour to 1/3 cup and milk to 2 1/2 cups. Just as this much was done, I got a call that the dinner party to which I was taking them was postponed for a day. I poured onion and white sauce over sliced potatoes in the baking dish and refrigerated them at this point. Put them in the oven the next day at 350 for 45 minutes. It could have stood an hour or so of cooking, going in from being so cool. A few potato slices were on the firmish side. But all in all a terrific success. I resisted adding anything and they could not have been better,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brontewyn October 17, 2008

My grandmother made potatoes like these. YUM! Made as written. They were excellent.Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo Chef in West Texas August 03, 2008

Just like my family always made these.... these are amazing! love them just as they are (sometimes I use half & half instead of the milk for an extra creamy delicious treat!) This is a perfect, simple, comfort-food recipe.... thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
12345678980123455677889 June 11, 2008

I love the simplicity of scalloped potatoes, especially this kind. Don't get me wrong, I also like the potatoes with cheese, but there are times when a nicely peppered creamy sauce is all that is needed to enhance your meal. Thanks so much for posting this classic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina May 29, 2008

these taters were really tasty LOL! i've made these twice now, once exactly as written, the 2nd time i added a touch of garlic, thyme, and parsley. not much, just a touch of each to up the flavor just a tad. i have to say we all preferred the 2nd batch, 4yo DD said they were her mostest favoritest food ever LOL! the recipe is so good in general i'm giving it 5*s even though i'll tweak it for now on. i cooked my potatoes as directed the day before and stuck them in the cool garage till i was ready to use them. that way i didn't have to fuss w/ the hot potatoes. i also split the last batch into smaller dishes and baked some right away, the others i popped in the freezer. i used my microwave to thaw and cook and it turned out fantastic! i'll make sure to keep some of these on hand when i need a quick side dish. thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MuddyMommaPottery May 07, 2008

Oh Stella! These were really good! I've never had luck with making home made scalloped potatoes. I hate to admit, I've always made Idahoan from the box, but all the reviews gave me a whole new lease on making them. I cut the potatoes before cooking so I wouldn't have to fiddle with them after they cooked and were hot. I followed the recipe to a T, but I did add a bit of fresh dill to the mixture just for a bit of oomph. Next time, I will add a bit more milk because I like creamier scalloped and the sauce was a bit thick. But that's just personal preference. They went great with our Easter Ham and DannyGirl's Maple Glazed Carrots - Maple Glazed Carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 March 23, 2008

I can't believe I haven't rated these sooner. They are the greatest. I make them exactly as recipes state. Never thought I could make scalloped potatoes like my Mom's until now. My whole family loves them. If I wanted augratin I would have made augratin--Thank you so very much for a perfect scalloped potato recipe. It deserves more than five stars!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beansy February 12, 2008

Mmmmmmmmmmmm good! I love the consistency of these potatoes. I used someone else's idea and peeled then sliced potatoes before boiling to save cooking time. I also added a small can of French's Fried onions on top during the last five minutes of baking (I baked mine about a total of 25 minutes). Without the fried onions, I fear these would be on the bland side for us. I also drizzeled about a Tbsp of butter on top. This will be a staple at our house! THANKS!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephie Biggs February 06, 2008

This is the only Scalloped Potatoes recipe you'll ever need! This was terrific! Made it for a dinner party last night and even I was suprised by how wonderfully it turned out. Came down for a drink in the night and started munching them cold lol. I think I'll be making this for the rest of my life. I don't know what most people consider large onions but i only used 1 big vidalia onion (that filled my skillet to the top and was the perfect amount). I also added about 1/2 cup sharp cheddar on top. The recipe definately didn't need it but I like cheese :) Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma February 03, 2008

These are terrific potatoes that DH and I both enjoyed. I cut the recipe in half, using 2 large potatoes and 1 onion, otherwise made exactly like the posted recipe. DH has requested them again this week and he is extremely picky. Thank you for posting the recipe Stella Mae.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lunchmeat February 01, 2008
Southern Scalloped Potatoes