50 Reviews

Wonderful dish Stella. You all don't need my two cents worth because the taters say it all. I just want to see this perfect Southern recipe at the top of the scalloped potato rankings so that others who search for the best will find this first before they settle for au gratin - which are great, don't get me wrong - they are just not traditional scalloped potatoes. I used red potatoes sliced with the skins on and then boiled because I love skin. Also used fat-free half and half - all the yummy without the fat ...well except for the butter and there is no substitute for that. Made mine with some leftover ham so that all I need to do is throw a salad together and the DH and I are good to go. Wouldn't be a bit surprised to see the 6 children jetting in from across the country for this. I usually give them a "dish' for Christmas with a wonderful homecooked meal inside that they can take home and cook when they are missing Mom's cooking. They get the serving piece filled with the recipe of the day and a recipe card. It is always the favorite present. They will be getting taters this year for sure. Much better than the ones I have been making for the past 35 years! Thanks gal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CampChatsworthCook October 08, 2009

This is a good basic scalloped potato recipe. I made this the other night to go along with our baked ham and DH and I enjoyed them very much. Our kids however thought they were too bland. (spoiled kids are too used to foods being covered in cheese)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 17, 2009

Thanks for posting... this is my favorite scalloped tater recipe - just cooked a little faster :-) I always make a little extra sauce since it is so tasty. I have tried microwaving the potatoes sliced up prior to baking this - but the boiling seems to work better. Can't wait for them to be done... !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Danny June 26, 2009

Thanks for this recipe. It's like an old southern scalloped potato recipe I ate as a child. Some of us remember eating wonderful scalloped potatoes long before cheese and garlic were added to southern recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby May 18, 2009

Lovely recipe! Simplistic yet classic. This was a great side dish to my Easter ham and was enjoyed by all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yellowtail April 16, 2009

These are wonderful! Just how scalloped potatoes should be!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ala LaLa April 11, 2009

Definitely 5 stars, I grew up with boxed recipes of scalloped potatoes, b/c my mom worked midnites and she thought the boxed recipes would be easier for me to make for my brother & sister. Over the yrs, I have tried many recipes, but this one is the best so far. I made the Maple Glazed Carrots Maple Glazed Carrots along with my brother grilled steaks and we had the best dinner we've had in along time. All my brother kept saying was remember those cardboard scalloped potatoes you use to make when we were little. It brought back so many great memories and lots of laughter. Thanks Stella Mae for posting this wonderful recipe. Melody /Lansing, IL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
litldarlin February 12, 2009

I agree with all the other reviewers that it was great to find a scalloped potato recipe without a lot of other added ingredients. I cooked mine for 25 minutes covered, and then uncovered it for the last 20 minutes to brown the surface. We all enjoyed this recipe, and thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester January 04, 2009

I whole-heartedly agree with Cooking in Coco...real SCALLOPED potatoes, not au gratin! Simply delicious, Stella!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soleilbb December 24, 2008

Finally! A real SCALLOPED potatoes recipe. Glad I found this one. If I wanted au gratin potatoes, I'd look up that. Thank you Stella. Yummmm!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking in Coco November 06, 2008
Southern Scalloped Potatoes