Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2003

      This was the perfect scalloped potato recipe that we all remember from those pot-luck dinners. It was simple to make, but had a wonderful flavor. Was perfect with an Easter ham and steamed asparagus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I give this three stars only because i had to cook mine for over an hour before i finally had to turn the broiler on to get it to brown!! By that time i realized i let this go way too long because it lost all it's creaminess (and i used almost 3 cups of milk!) ... It had great flavour though, exactly what i was looking for in my scalloped dish, so i was pretty bummed out that it ended up being pasty, but it's good enough to warrant trying it again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I thought this was a lot better with less onion, but otherwise, it's so good! I also made it once with some ham and veggies mixed in for a complete meal, and that was tasty, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      This is exactly like the scalloped potatoes I remember my grandmother making. The recipe was so good and almost too easy to make. I served this with French Dip Roast Beef Sandwiches for an easy, simply delicious meal. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2003

      I did half this recipe using 2% milk and it worked very well. Took a while for the sauce to thicken but it was worth the wait. I added about a tablespoon of salt to the water that I cooked the potatoes in too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      Nice to see a basic, classic recipe. Easy to make, great flavor. Just like Mom used to make. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      This is a good scalloped potato recipe. I used less onion than was called for and followed the suggestion of another reviewer and covered the dish for 25 minutes, then baked them uncovered for 20 more. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup cooking game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      Loved them. Just like my grandmother made when I was a kid. It is so hard to find good scalloped potatoes recipes as most are au grautin. Thanks so much for sharing I followed the recipe exactly, but cooked them in a crockpot on low for 5 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I've tossed away my old recipe for scalloped potatoes now that I've made this recipe a few times! So simple, but so good. I really like the chunkier potatoes, rather than the thin slices I used to use. Really, really yummy. Thanks Stella Mae.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      The sauce is very creamy but I thought that 3 onions was way too much onion. I also don't think I put enough salt and pepper in the sauce because it was a little bland. Next time I think if I do 2 onions and more salt and pepper it would be perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Wonderful dish Stella. You all don't need my two cents worth because the taters say it all. I just want to see this perfect Southern recipe at the top of the scalloped potato rankings so that others who search for the best will find this first before they settle for au gratin - which are great, don't get me wrong - they are just not traditional scalloped potatoes. I used red potatoes sliced with the skins on and then boiled because I love skin. Also used fat-free half and half - all the yummy without the fat ...well except for the butter and there is no substitute for that. Made mine with some leftover ham so that all I need to do is throw a salad together and the DH and I are good to go. Wouldn't be a bit surprised to see the 6 children jetting in from across the country for this. I usually give them a "dish' for Christmas with a wonderful homecooked meal inside that they can take home and cook when they are missing Mom's cooking. They get the serving piece filled with the recipe of the day and a recipe card. It is always the favorite present. They will be getting taters this year for sure. Much better than the ones I have been making for the past 35 years! Thanks gal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      This is a good basic scalloped potato recipe. I made this the other night to go along with our baked ham and DH and I enjoyed them very much. Our kids however thought they were too bland. (spoiled kids are too used to foods being covered in cheese)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Thanks for posting... this is my favorite scalloped tater recipe - just cooked a little faster :-) I always make a little extra sauce since it is so tasty. I have tried microwaving the potatoes sliced up prior to baking this - but the boiling seems to work better. Can't wait for them to be done... !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Thanks for this recipe. It's like an old southern scalloped potato recipe I ate as a child. Some of us remember eating wonderful scalloped potatoes long before cheese and garlic were added to southern recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Lovely recipe! Simplistic yet classic. This was a great side dish to my Easter ham and was enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      These are wonderful! Just how scalloped potatoes should be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Definitely 5 stars, I grew up with boxed recipes of scalloped potatoes, b/c my mom worked midnites and she thought the boxed recipes would be easier for me to make for my brother & sister. Over the yrs, I have tried many recipes, but this one is the best so far. I made the Maple Glazed Carrots Maple Glazed Carrots along with my brother grilled steaks and we had the best dinner we've had in along time. All my brother kept saying was remember those cardboard scalloped potatoes you use to make when we were little. It brought back so many great memories and lots of laughter. Thanks Stella Mae for posting this wonderful recipe. Melody /Lansing, IL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I agree with all the other reviewers that it was great to find a scalloped potato recipe without a lot of other added ingredients. I cooked mine for 25 minutes covered, and then uncovered it for the last 20 minutes to brown the surface. We all enjoyed this recipe, and thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I whole-heartedly agree with Cooking in Coco...real SCALLOPED potatoes, not au gratin! Simply delicious, Stella!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Finally! A real SCALLOPED potatoes recipe. Glad I found this one. If I wanted au gratin potatoes, I'd look up that. Thank you Stella. Yummmm!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.3
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    26%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 19.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 75.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes