51 Reviews

This was the perfect scalloped potato recipe that we all remember from those pot-luck dinners. It was simple to make, but had a wonderful flavor. Was perfect with an Easter ham and steamed asparagus.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ken Wood April 21, 2003

I give this three stars only because i had to cook mine for over an hour before i finally had to turn the broiler on to get it to brown!! By that time i realized i let this go way too long because it lost all it's creaminess (and i used almost 3 cups of milk!) ... It had great flavour though, exactly what i was looking for in my scalloped dish, so i was pretty bummed out that it ended up being pasty, but it's good enough to warrant trying it again :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel#608 January 17, 2010

I thought this was a lot better with less onion, but otherwise, it's so good! I also made it once with some ham and veggies mixed in for a complete meal, and that was tasty, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayness December 31, 2009

This is exactly like the scalloped potatoes I remember my grandmother making. The recipe was so good and almost too easy to make. I served this with French Dip Roast Beef Sandwiches for an easy, simply delicious meal. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess August 07, 2003

I did half this recipe using 2% milk and it worked very well. Took a while for the sauce to thicken but it was worth the wait. I added about a tablespoon of salt to the water that I cooked the potatoes in too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff July 13, 2003

This is the real deal--the original. The first time you make it, it will flood your taste buds with memories of pot-lucks, family reunions, and school lunches from yesteryear--even to the point of tears. Albeit, bland is as bland does; and this recipe also withstands contaminations of cheddar cheese, garlic, additional spices and herbs, or whatever cinches yer bustle. Moreover, replace thinly sliced Idaho baking potatoes with thinly sliced red boiling potatoes and this thing withstands freezing with perfection, yielding as good a left over as if it were fresh baked, first time, straight from the oven. I'll continue making the original as submitted but won't hesitate to update with a bit of contamination now and again. A definite keeper and I thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David S #2 April 15, 2016

Nice to see a basic, classic recipe. Easy to make, great flavor. Just like Mom used to make. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook October 27, 2012

This is a good scalloped potato recipe. I used less onion than was called for and followed the suggestion of another reviewer and covered the dish for 25 minutes, then baked them uncovered for 20 more. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup cooking game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa August 10, 2012

Loved them. Just like my grandmother made when I was a kid. It is so hard to find good scalloped potatoes recipes as most are au grautin. Thanks so much for sharing I followed the recipe exactly, but cooked them in a crockpot on low for 5 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debby H April 15, 2012

I've tossed away my old recipe for scalloped potatoes now that I've made this recipe a few times! So simple, but so good. I really like the chunkier potatoes, rather than the thin slices I used to use. Really, really yummy. Thanks Stella Mae.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha December 30, 2009
Southern Scalloped Potatoes