Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Pride Sweet Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Pride Sweet Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2010

      We have tried many cornbread recipes and always seem disappointed. This recipe is a KEEPER! YUM YUM! I was leary about the large amount of salt and baking powder and about the lumps in the batter after mixing. BUT, everything worked out beautifully! I made 22 muffins, cooked for 13 minutes at 375. We used a course ground yellow cornmeal. This is fantastic! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      Wow! These are so delicious -- and they came out nice and moist, not dry like a lot of other cornbread recipes I've tried. They cut into squares nicely too, not a lot of crumbs all over. The whole family loved this cornbread. I'll definitely be making it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Great! Used 3/4 cup of sugar and they were perfect! Also, used half white corn meal and half yellow. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Dinner for 9... Everyone loved them!!!! End of story! (The only changes I made was: I used 1cup sugar instead of 1 1/4cups and put them in muffin tins and baked for 15 minutes.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I am giving 5 stars because it is the perfect texture and moistness for me, I prefer my cornbread a little sweet but I thought this my be too sweet for me so I cut the sugar to 1 cup and no honey and I used buttermilk in place of the milk and water and I love it, everything else I followed exactly. I will continue to make this from now on, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      Very good - nice and moist with just a touch of sweetness. I used another reviewer's suggestion and subbed cream corn for the water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2004

      I was looking for a sweet cornbread recipe to take to work to go with our chili for our chili cook-off. I printed this up in a hurry and began to prepare the recipe the night before. I kept thinking I was missing something when I noticed there was no egg mentioned. I was a little worried but made the recipe as written. It came out perfect. Sweet and moist and not crumbly. I didn't win the cook-off but the corn bread was a big hit. You made me look good! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      I so much loved this.It is very tasty and after we ate it with chili,homemade chicken soup(instead of crackers)we still had a couple of pcs. left for cornbread and milk.Thank You Very Much.Colleen G.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      Delicious! Nice sweet taste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      I made this tonight and it was amazing! My 21 year old grandson is an expert on cornbread (his choice of dessert, ha) and he said it was the best ever! There ya go. 5 stars from us! This will be the only recipe I'll use from now on. Very moist, thick and sweet! I made the recipe exactly as posted (OK, maybe an extra squirt of honey), and baked in a 9x13 pan. Perfect! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      Well....it doesn't get any stars for being healthy...but the deliciousness makes up for it. Make just as written and you won't be dissappointed. Thanks for the great recipe Dawn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      This cornbread was fantastic. The only change I made was to reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup and they were still plenty sweet. The kids loved them, too, and I will be making this again. Update: I have made this numerous times now and have found that it is just as good with only 1/2 c sugar and 1/4 c butter with 1/4 c applesauce to substitute for the other 1/4 c of butter. Just thought I would share a way to make this wonderful cornbread a tad healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      I'm a *big* fan of extra sweet cornbreads, and I also cut the sugar down and it was too sweet. But because it doesn't have enough cornmeal in it, it doesn't really have anywhere near a normal cornbread consistency. It was more to me like a failed cake that turned out flat and slightly rubbery - more like a polenta cake, rather than a cornbread. I wouldn't make this again. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Wonderful cornbread and my family loved it! This is a great recipe for breakfast or dinner, especially BBQ! Consistency was moist but not crumbly and the crust it yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      Completely perfect. I baked for 35 minutes though, and used 1c sugar and added a few extra Tbsp honey. I could have just used less sugar and it would have been fine. Very much like the cornbread I remember my mom making. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      I made these into muffins last night and DD couldn't get enough of them. I served them with ribs and mac and cheese. We had honey to go on top, but didn't need it. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      I made these into muffins to go along with some jambalaya and they were reeeeally good. They held together nicely and were good and moist. I used buttermilk and subbed a can of cream corn for the water. The batter seemed awfully thick so I went ahead and added a few tablespoons of water to it. I also cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and they were still plenty sweet for me. I looooove cornbread and man is it awesome straight out of the oven with some melted butter :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      Very yummy! I halved the recipe with no problem. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      My husband love this. I made it as listed for my very first cornbread from scratch attempt, and husband only likes "johnny cake" that's sweet. This is a really dense bread, but boy is it good. I think next batch I'll use 1C sugar though, cause it's almost too sweet. Nice and moist, very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      amazing. so moist. i have found our new cornbread recipe. thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Pride Sweet Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 344.8
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    26%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 54.1 mg
    18%
    Sodium 382.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.4 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 26.8 g
    107%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites