70 Reviews

We have tried many cornbread recipes and always seem disappointed. This recipe is a KEEPER! YUM YUM! I was leary about the large amount of salt and baking powder and about the lumps in the batter after mixing. BUT, everything worked out beautifully! I made 22 muffins, cooked for 13 minutes at 375. We used a course ground yellow cornmeal. This is fantastic! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cool Bean March 20, 2010

Wow! These are so delicious -- and they came out nice and moist, not dry like a lot of other cornbread recipes I've tried. They cut into squares nicely too, not a lot of crumbs all over. The whole family loved this cornbread. I'll definitely be making it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester December 01, 2011

Great! Used 3/4 cup of sugar and they were perfect! Also, used half white corn meal and half yellow. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue October 07, 2009

Dinner for 9... Everyone loved them!!!! End of story! (The only changes I made was: I used 1cup sugar instead of 1 1/4cups and put them in muffin tins and baked for 15 minutes.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynni October 02, 2009

I am giving 5 stars because it is the perfect texture and moistness for me, I prefer my cornbread a little sweet but I thought this my be too sweet for me so I cut the sugar to 1 cup and no honey and I used buttermilk in place of the milk and water and I love it, everything else I followed exactly. I will continue to make this from now on, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chipfo September 25, 2007

Very good - nice and moist with just a touch of sweetness. I used another reviewer's suggestion and subbed cream corn for the water.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez September 18, 2007

I was looking for a sweet cornbread recipe to take to work to go with our chili for our chili cook-off. I printed this up in a hurry and began to prepare the recipe the night before. I kept thinking I was missing something when I noticed there was no egg mentioned. I was a little worried but made the recipe as written. It came out perfect. Sweet and moist and not crumbly. I didn't win the cook-off but the corn bread was a big hit. You made me look good! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher February 14, 2004

I so much loved this.It is very tasty and after we ate it with chili,homemade chicken soup(instead of crackers)we still had a couple of pcs. left for cornbread and milk.Thank You Very Much.Colleen G.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keener4 January 15, 2004

Delicious! Nice sweet taste!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe January 03, 2004

I made this tonight and it was amazing! My 21 year old grandson is an expert on cornbread (his choice of dessert, ha) and he said it was the best ever! There ya go. 5 stars from us! This will be the only recipe I'll use from now on. Very moist, thick and sweet! I made the recipe exactly as posted (OK, maybe an extra squirt of honey), and baked in a 9x13 pan. Perfect! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebbieLovesToCook June 19, 2014
Southern Pride Sweet Cornbread