Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Living's Cream Cheese Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Living's Cream Cheese Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2011

      I'm a northern girl, who tries so hard to cook southern delights. This one does NOT disappoint. It was a HIT at this year's Thanksgiving feast. I followed the steps to the letter and it came out moist and delicious. Using regular sugar and flour are fine. Use REAL butter and REAL cream cheese. I did add 1 tsp of almond extract when I added the vanilla. I later read one of the reasons my cake probably came out so good is that I really beat the batter up during the cream stage and when I added the sugar. Easily plan 10 minutes if you are using a hand electric mixer, less if you have one of the big guns. Also, I read, when you beat in the eggs, don't beat too long, only 30 sec per egg - or your pound cake will get too airy. I ended up cooking it 15 min longer than stated. I wanted the inside cooked well. When you take it out, it still may seem jiggly, but as it cools, it firms nicely. Lastly, mix some powdered sugar with some lemon juice and make a nice glaze. Simply mix 2 cups of powdered sugar and 1 to 2 TB of lemon juice, stir till it gets thick and drizzle over the top. It will dry hard, don't worry! Last hint, for us non-bakers..don't waste money on a cooling rack. Parchment paper on a cookie sheet does the trick. BE SURE TO POP THAT CAKE OUT AFTER 15 minutes LIKE THE INSTRUCTIONS SAID! I heard leaving it in the pan too long is a no-no. This was a lot of work, but you will WOW everyone with this recipe! Good luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      This cake is delicious. I tripled the recipe so I could give a couple cakes away. I used 1/2 powdered sugar and 1/2 regular sugar. I loved the cooking method. The time for baking was absolutely PERFECT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      DH requested this cake 3 times over the holidays & occasionally appeared to be hoarding it from guests! It is just a perfect pound cake. I disagree with one reviewer who says it's time-consuming. Perhaps it is by hand-mixing, but with an electric mixer it's a breeze. I expect to make this so often, I'll know it by heart. Thanks Sue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      Always a hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      SUE... This cake is delicious, taste and texture are perfect.. So surprised no other members have reviewed this recipe. Everyone raved over this cake... Sorry I didn't locate this recipe sooner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2014

      Best pound cake ever. It is moist and flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      I'm not sure what I did wrong but I ended up with this cake all over my oven. I think maybe my cake pan was not big enough but it ran over big time and looks terrible but has a good taste. This was my first attempt at a pound cake so I guess I will learn with time Lol I hope my oven might not be able to take much more without Fire Department on stand by.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      Good cake. Not a fan of the glaze posted by another writer, however. Would definitely use another recipe (1 1/4 c confectioner's sugar, 3 Tbsp milk and 1/2 tsp vanilla - stir together) or just dust with powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      this recipe is exactly like another here, amanda's cheese pound cake, except that one does not call for salt......i made it today and it turned out wonderfully! i did add 1 tsp baking powder per a review on that recipe and only used five eggs as they were extra large, i also doubled the vanilla extract, prepped my bundt pan well and baked for 1 hr. 45 minutes and it was GORGEOUS.....thanks to the reviewer here for the glaze recipe, made it even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! I made it last night, followed the recipe exact and a beautiful moist delicious cream cheese pound! THANK YOU for sharing!! Stand by for my pics..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Living's Cream Cheese Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1856 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 7371.8
     
    Calories from Fat 3475
    47%
    Total Fat 386.1 g
    594%
    Saturated Fat 228.7 g
    1143%
    Cholesterol 2097.9 mg
    699%
    Sodium 3891.8 mg
    162%
    Total Carbohydrate 899.3 g
    299%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 610.0 g
    2440%
    Protein 92.7 g
    185%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes