Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Living's Country Fried Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Living's Country Fried Steak

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2012

      This is the best recipe for country fried steak. The only thing I do different is I use my electric fry pan and a lot less oil. I also halve the gravy. Thank You for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Good meat! I did something wrong and the gravy was bad- burned flavor. I may have had the heat too high in the pan when frying. I accidentally added crushed red pepper to the breading so I just added ground red pepper, too and it was fine. I'll try this again with a thermometer because of the gravy issue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      I liked it a lot and so did my family, BUT I am one for a lot of flavor and the gravy was BLAND so I think I will try to make my gravy with spicy sausage to give it a kick. But other than that it was delightful! :) and the dish was easy to make.... Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      Loved the crunch on the meat. I did chicken as well as steak. I added fresh mushrooms and sauteed before thickening. Wasn't crazy about the paste flavor of the gravy so I added a package of Lipton dry Onion soup mix and made it taste much better. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      This is the BEST in comfort food! I use this recipe all the time and have passed it on to everyone who tries it! I use veg oil or whatever I have on hand and a non-stick pan works just as well. I usually double the recipe for yummy leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      This was ok. I think I shouldn't have added the salt, mine was a bit salty and I don't know if it was the peanut oil or what but it had a different taste. I thought it tasted ok, dh didn't like it. Told me to go back to my way. Thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      This is an outstanding recipe. I am from the south and have made country fried steak or chicken fried steak for years but my family loves this recipe the best. It taste the most like my mother's who was a true Southern Belle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      I have fixed country fried steak for years but decided to try it this way. I used venison cube steaks and it was absolutely delicious! My family wished I had cooked more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      I have made this for years and it is very good.I omit the salt because the crackers have salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Living's Country Fried Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (579 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2157.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1844
    85%
    Total Fat 204.9 g
    315%
    Saturated Fat 39.9 g
    199%
    Cholesterol 133.5 mg
    44%
    Sodium 1850.0 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cube steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes