Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Living Pinto Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Living Pinto Beans

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2011

      I am trying this recipe today as the ingredients sound delicious and are sure to make a flavorful pot of beans. Being a southern girl I am always on the lookout for other cook's take on pinto's. I'd like to add that it is very important to soak your beans. Yes, they will usually cook up nicely if you don't... however, the reason for soaking is to break down the phytic acid and enzyme inhibitors in them which interferes with the absorption of the nutrients in the beans. It is best to soak them in whey or fresh squeezed lemon juice. For every 2-6 cups of dried beans add 2 tablespoons of whey or fresh lemon juice. Soak for 12-24 hours (longer is better) and rinse the beans before cooking. I'll let you know how my beans turned out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This is tooooooooooo good. My mom and I wanted a recipe to use the hambone after Xmas ham and I found this recipe! It's totally best when you cook it down to look like canned baked bean texture with the sauce and stuff. Made twice in the crock pot and am making again today!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      I used a ham bone left from dinner with quite a bit of ham still on it. I used that, a can of mild rotel and dried beans that had soaked over night. I put everything except the rotel in the crockpot and let it cook on low while I was at work. When I came home I added the rotel and some hot sauce. Served it with brown rice and biscuits. The family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      This recipe is a keeper!! It was so delicious and my family loved it!! I substituted the ham hock with smoked turkey parts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      I can't believe I can make something so delicious. I did substitute bacon for the ham hock. I made this last week and I'm probably going to make it every week for the rest of my life. Absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

    • on October 31, 2013

      My wife loves beans, any kind of beans. She has eaten this whole mess almost by herself. I did add 2 cleaned jalapeno peppers and soaked the beans 12 hrs. Letting the beans hydrate is key. If your beans have gone by their experation date you must soak or cook them to death. Yes beans can get old but you can still use them. As others have said, adding lemon juice to the soaking water helps get them ready.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      These were really good and easy. My parents used to cook these beans all the time when I was a little boy back in the 60s. They were nothing compared to this recipe. I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      WOW. Delicious. Amazing. Yummy. Who would have thought pintos could be so exciting. This will be my new go-to pinto beans recipe!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Delicious! The beans cook even faster if you do them in a pressure cooker. 12 minutes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      Very good...very easy since I used the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Absolutely delicious! I made these beans in my brand-new pressure cooker. Since I didn't soak the beans overnight -- it took 30 minutes vs. 15. Made as directed except for adding additional broth as per my cooker instructions. Will definitely make them again as I can have these wonderful pinto beans in the same time as it takes to cook the rest of my meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      These pinto beans were absolutely awesome. I used a smoked turkey wing and fresh garlic. I will be making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Omg These beans were AWESOME! My son dislikes beans and never eats them.He's a super picky eater. I made him try a little bite and he ate a whole bowl and then asked for seconds! I'm so happy to find this recipe and I will definitely be making this again and again... Thanks alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      This turned out really yummy. The kids even liked it and that was a hurdle in itself. I fried up 4 strips of bacon and added 1 pound ham sliced up rather than the ham hock. Big hit.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I was looking for something even a non-pinto bean person would eat. I still didn't find it , but this is the best recipe I have cooked. The only difference was I added water at the end and had to cook for about 20 minutes longer. I wanted the pot liquer for sopping with biscuits. Otherwise, made exactly as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Wow, these beans are great! The vegetables, seasonings and chicken broth result in a very full-flavoured bean dish without using any sugar, ketchup or chili sauce. (Great for diabetics!) I used dried beans and soaked them overnight, then boiled them for 75 minutes (step 2). I made some minor changes out of necessity: a pound of smoked ham, not a hock; 10 ounces diced tomatoes and a half a 4 ounce can of green chilies; a yellow pepper instead of green; and 2 cloves garlic instead of powder. I didn't need any salt but the amounts of herbs and spices were perfect. This was a wonderful southern meal served with brown rice and corn muffins. Thank you, Caroline. This will be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Great beans. I made these as directed about 2 months ago. I stash a little bit in the freezer, and pulled them out tonight. Taste just as good as the day they were made. Thanks for the recipe. I served with white rice, and Real Southern Cornbread,#51550, and they where a great pair.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      Omitted the hot sauce but outside of that was faithful to the recipe. Very easy to prepare and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Great Pinto's. I have a Texas heritage and have been eating pinto's all my life and this recipe is really excellent. I have never used chicken stock before but I will from now on! The veggies and seasonings really elevate this pot of beans to something special. I served them only with corn bread and was very pleased with a simple, comfy dinner. I did skip the Worcestershire and I used a chunk of Christmas ham from the freezer. I'm so glad I made this and the recipe is tucked away for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Living Pinto Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.8
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    16%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 905.8 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    smoked ham hock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes