Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Living Basic Yellow Cake Recipe ( or Chocolate)
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Living Basic Yellow Cake Recipe ( or Chocolate)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2010

      Delicous! Used this for my son's two layer birthday cake along with a double recipe of Chocolate Buttercream Frosting. Perfect, traditional old-fashioned yellow cake with a heavier crumb. Just a note, if you are used to the light and airy texture of a cake from a cake mix, this will be quite different but so much better :) And you can pronounce all of the ingredients! I used Doughmakers pans which don't usually stick, greased and floured them, then lined with wax paper. Did have some problem with sticking so next time would use a heavy hand with the greasing and flouring. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Southern Living never disappoints!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      This cake was delicious! I usually dont like yellow cake made from scratch because everytime i have made one it tastes like sweet corn bread. But not this one it is moist has the perfect texture i will be using this recipe alot thank you for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      Finally! A very moist and delicious yellow cake. I baked it in a 9 X 13 for about 25-35 minutes. Sorry, don%u2019t recall exact time. All my attempts in the past have yielded a somewhat dry cake, but yours is perfect. I will use it as a muffin base too. Thank you very much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      This cake needs salt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      Today I had a taste for homemade yellow cake that included basic ingredients.. I came across this recipe and had to try it. I am so glad that I did :) I did cut the sugar amount to 1 1/2 cups of sugar (I always do for all recipes). And the cake came out light and fluffy and not heavy, It does not have a cornbread texture to it at all.. I have found the perfect basic cake.. The recipe is very versatile.. I would love to layer this cake with strawberries and redi whip or even make a parfait with berries and banana pudding.. Endless possibilities!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      This is a good cake recipe but it is missing SALT- much to it's detriment. Next time I will add a 1/2 tsp to taste. This addition would have made this OK cake extremely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      This is an outstanding cake, it has become my cake of choice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Loved how moist and soft it is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      I made this cake for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it! It had a nice texture. I topped it with an old fashioned boiled icing and it was delicious! This will be my go to birthday cake recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2012

      OK, I'm very new to baking scratch cakes, actually this was only the 3rd (?), but first scratch yellow cake. Anyway...WOW! It's fantastic!! No more boxed cakes for me!!! I cut the recipe in half and it was the perfect amount of batter for 12 moist, fluffy cupcakes!!! I did cut out a TBSP of butter and added about 2 TBSPs of sourcream & a heaping 2 TBSPs cornstarch and a lil extra vanilla, oh, and 1 whole egg and the white only of another egg since this was HALF of the original recipe. I topped the off with homemade vanilla buttercream icing. This is seriously a super-duper cake recipe, perfectly sweet, moist, and deliciously fluffy!!!!!!!!!!! I would give it 10 stars if I could!! Perfect!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      Nice light cake - made a great SHEET cake (same temp, approx 30 min). Held up well to gobs of chocolate buttercream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Absolutely wonderful! I found it even better the next day. I did the http://www.food.com/recipe/cake-flour-substitute-87689 instead of all purpose flour. The conversion ended up being 6 tablespoons of cornstarch and the remainder of the cup being APF. Nice airy consistency better than any store bought cake! I paired it with the Wilton Buttercream Icing. Yumm! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      This beautifully tall cake needs a double recipe of frosting, as another reviewer noted. We enjoyed ours with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting and refrigerated due to the hot summer weather. This is the go-to yellow cake recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      This 'cake' is probably the weirdest cake I've made in my ENTIRE life. I followed the directions perfectly and only variation I made was adding a pinch of salt like the other reviews that says it's "excellent" claimed should be done. I've made plenty of homemade cakes this is probably one that will NEVER be made again, unless of course I'm craving a baked pancake. Then it's perfect. The only reason I'm giving it two stars is because it does taste good, when covered in a thick layer of homemade frosting. Total let down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      I've converted all my recipes to as natural, organic, preservative free as possible. I had to find a recipe for a white cake & I made this one for Thanksgiving. I used cake flour & I'll have to decrease the sugar next time. It was very dry despite all the rave reviews of being moist, but I think I may have mixed it for too long! I will try it again making that adjustment before I write this off!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      The cake was good, although it was very dense. The cake was more like a pound cake than I expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Living Basic Yellow Cake Recipe ( or Chocolate)

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 621.1
     
    Calories from Fat 239
    38%
    Total Fat 26.6 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 136.0 mg
    45%
    Sodium 186.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.1 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 50.1 g
    200%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites