Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Living Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Living Baked Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2006

      So easy & cheesy, with a great flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, using whole wheat noodles and doubling the hot sauce. I also used half mild and half sharp cheddar cheese. The onions, when sauteed and then baked, develop a very mellow, perfect flavor. I mixed this all together and then refrigerated half a day before baking, so added a few minutes to the baking time. DH raved & raved about this - I will definitely make it again. I served it with Meat Loaf Barbecue Style, salads and Southern Green Beans. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      Really good! would maybe use a little less pasta next time I like it a little more saucy, and would probably add more hot sauce it went so well in the cheese sauce. Very yummy. Added bread crumbs to the top before baking. Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      This was delicious! Everyone at Thanksgiving loved it. I used half cheddar and half gouda cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      Really good mac and cheese. The cheese sauce was really smooth and creamy. I used Sharp Cheddar cheese because I got to the store and couldn't recall what kind this recipe called for. I also used the hot sauce and it gave it a great flavor. Thanks Miss Annie for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I did add salt and pepper but other then that I followed it exactley. I would recommend this to first time macaroni and cheese makers as it was VERY easy. I can't wait to make it again and for a bigger croud. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Made this on 2/8/08 for our dinner,and let me tell you it was really good and cheesy.I never thought about using chedder cheese soup in mac and cheese before and it gave it a very good taste. I will make this again,but not to often as the sodium content is way too high for us.Thank you posting this recipe and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      I loved this, the hot sauce gives it a little something extra. I did everything the same but I boiled the pasta for a few minutes to cut the baking time in half.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Very easy to whip up at the last minute. Served this with some spicy burgers and some BBQ beans. Great comfort food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      I also made this for the cookathon. I am a bit late but I zmailed you:) This was a delicious and easy mac n cheese! I had to omit the onions but that is it. Thanks Miss Annie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      I made this for your cook-a-thon, thoughts and prayers to you during this difficult time. The whole family enjoyed this easy and tasty recipe! Thanks for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      Easy to make and tasted wonderful! Thanks for the recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      Very easy with a smooth cheese sauce. I would omit the hot sauce for young kids though I enjoyed it very much. Count on Southern Living for a great recipe! Thanks, Miss Annie, for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2005

      I doubled this recipe for a family get-together, omitting the hot sauce b/c my grandsons are little... and using sharp cheddar rather than mild. It was easy to make and my daughter, a connoiseur of mac & cheese, said this was outstanding. My grandsons sure seemed to love theirs! Leftovers nuked the next day were great for lunch! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Miss Annie! You can bet good money I'll be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2014

      I was looking for a great mac and cheese for an upcoming event and this was the third recipe I tried. It was excellent! The flavors blended nicely and the cheese on top was nice and crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

    • on February 28, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Living Baked Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 642.6
     
    Calories from Fat 257
    40%
    Total Fat 28.6 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 84.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 916.2 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites