22 Reviews

Really liked this recipe. I doubled the bacon drippings, salt, and pepper. I used about 1/4 slice leftover country ham. Also added a dash of red pepper flakes and a tiny pinch of sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jan pan November 30, 2008

Fantastic! I used bacon instead of ham. It was sooo good. I can't wait to have it again! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp April 24, 2013

Wow this was amazing. My first time eating fresh butter beans and i used this recipe. My husbands' first comment coming in the house was 'what is that smell, it's amazing,. Accolades are well deserved

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeluna28 June 10, 2012

Yup, these are GOOD! I really enjoy lima beans but, unfortunately, hadn't really had any real success in making them taste the way I like them. Now, I have no excuses not to put them on the menu more often. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud December 10, 2011

I put a twist on it by adding brown sugar and maple syrup so good and your kids will love it !!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
owl&sage April 26, 2011

In a word: Awesome. I halved the recipe since I didn't have 4 cups of lima beans. Didn't change anything else. I thought the salt in the ham would be overpowering, but it blended well with everything else and required no additional seasonings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mhartung November 29, 2009

My husband is the only one in the family who LOVES lima beans so I cut the recipe in half and made this just for him. My ham was not overly salty so I did add a bit of chicken stock base instead of salt, and a generous dash of dried onion flakes. My husband was in heaven eating this. I was asked to please make this again.....he said 5 stars all the way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. November 05, 2009

By FAR the best lima beans I have ever tasted!! and it was soooo easy! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheebess November 02, 2009

DH may post his happy dance on You Tube! I used one 1-pound ham steak, which was about 1 1/2 cups after trimming. I cooked 2 slices of bacon to create fresh bacon drippings. Of course, the ham bone circle (minus fat) also went into the pot. DH loves limas, I am not a fan of limas, but these were fantastic! Next time I'm making double! DH is doing a happy dance, because I won't shy away from this recipe. It's so easy, he may start this for me to have an earlier dinner. This is going into my Top Favorites for 2009. Thank you for sharing! Made for I Recommend Tag based on mightytyro's review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL July 07, 2009
Southern Lima Butter Beans With Ham Bits