Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Lima Butter Beans With Ham Bits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Lima Butter Beans With Ham Bits

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2008

      Really liked this recipe. I doubled the bacon drippings, salt, and pepper. I used about 1/4 slice leftover country ham. Also added a dash of red pepper flakes and a tiny pinch of sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      Fantastic! I used bacon instead of ham. It was sooo good. I can't wait to have it again! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      Wow this was amazing. My first time eating fresh butter beans and i used this recipe. My husbands' first comment coming in the house was 'what is that smell, it's amazing,. Accolades are well deserved

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      Yup, these are GOOD! I really enjoy lima beans but, unfortunately, hadn't really had any real success in making them taste the way I like them. Now, I have no excuses not to put them on the menu more often. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

    • on April 26, 2011

      I put a twist on it by adding brown sugar and maple syrup so good and your kids will love it !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      In a word: Awesome. I halved the recipe since I didn't have 4 cups of lima beans. Didn't change anything else. I thought the salt in the ham would be overpowering, but it blended well with everything else and required no additional seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      My husband is the only one in the family who LOVES lima beans so I cut the recipe in half and made this just for him. My ham was not overly salty so I did add a bit of chicken stock base instead of salt, and a generous dash of dried onion flakes. My husband was in heaven eating this. I was asked to please make this again.....he said 5 stars all the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      By FAR the best lima beans I have ever tasted!! and it was soooo easy! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      DH may post his happy dance on You Tube! I used one 1-pound ham steak, which was about 1 1/2 cups after trimming. I cooked 2 slices of bacon to create fresh bacon drippings. Of course, the ham bone circle (minus fat) also went into the pot. DH loves limas, I am not a fan of limas, but these were fantastic! Next time I'm making double! DH is doing a happy dance, because I won't shy away from this recipe. It's so easy, he may start this for me to have an earlier dinner. This is going into my Top Favorites for 2009. Thank you for sharing! Made for I Recommend Tag based on mightytyro's review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      I danced with every spoonful, in my seat. I served it like a "true southerner", with fried chicken and mama's squash on the side. Great dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      We WERE dancing around the table with these like Seasoned Cook said we would be!!! The flavor that the ham and slow- cooking gives these lima beans is great!!!! I used chicken stock for half of my water so I didn't put in but a pinch of salt and I put in a little bit of butter instead of bacon drippings. This is good eatin' like your Grandma made, thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Wonderful! The best recipe for lima beans ever!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I got my dancin shoes on and I'm dancin! These precious beans were GREAT!!! Loved the flavor from the ham and drippings. The beans were so tender and delicious I had to have 2 helpings and stop myself lol! You southern girls sure do know how to make a mean bean! Thanks for sharing Seasoned Cook! Sheryl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Boy I love these!! They turn out real soft and flavorful! Taste like my favorite country buffet or like grandma makes! I didn't know if I should thaw my beans or not so I ran hot water over the bags a little bit before putting them in the pot. (they were still pretty frozen though) Used 1/8 tsp seasoning salt instead of 1/4. I cooked them uncovered the whole time and I had plenty of water, I didn't need to add any. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Nice simple recipe Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • I love baby limas and this recipe is one of the best I have ever had. I made them with a neckbone and it was wonderful! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This is a yummy side, especially if you like Southern dishes! Made with all bacon. DELISH! Made for Comfort Foods in Cooking Photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Clearly, I missed this recipe when I was scouring on *Zaar* for more lima bean recipes. I am sorry I didn't get it sooner, because this brings all the charm and all Southern taste of this little lima bean. This is one of those recipes that sitting down (as you mentioned) and shelling baby beans you could fix and eat just a bowl of these for dinner. I did dance around the table, just as Dennis did to get after the bean bowl, and the bacon drippings *plus* the slices of country ham, well it must be heaven. Thank you for telling your memories, and you have brought me mine with this lovely recipe that does stand the test of time. I used the frozen beans we had in the freezer from the summer so we were so happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I made this recipe on 1/6/08 for "Comfort Food Photos".Since there was only SO and myself,I cut the recipe in half.I did however use one slice of country ham,so the bacon drippings were left out.The taste was different,but good.Thanks for posting,and "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Lima Butter Beans With Ham Bits

    Serving Size: 1 (401 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 494.4
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    22%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 855.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.5 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 19.7 g
    78%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 32.7 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes