Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Lemon Chess Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Lemon Chess Pie

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2003

      I substituted Splenda for the sugar and this was still really yummy. Very tart, just awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2003

      This was fabulous!!! lemon pies are my favorite, and this has just jumped to the top of my list..Like you said, this pie won't last long...Chris ate 2 pieces and still wanted more!! So easy to make, too...couldn't ask for more..delicious, simple, and just wonderful..will be making this alot!! Teresa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      FABULOUS! And I normally don't even like lemon pie. This recipe is fantastic and easy to make. My husband took one piece and went for seconds! I used Meyer lemons, which are a cross between lemons and mandarins... yummy! I added a bit more lemon juice than the recipe called for and it was just perfect because Meyer lemons are a bit less tart than regular lemons. I will make this again and again. Thank you for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Just like my grandmother's. Very good. Be careful when you cook - the top can burn quickly. I had to have a do-over with the first one I made because the top burned. But the 2nd was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Loved this pie. I made this pie for a friend who loves anything lemon. It was a great hit. I really liked the texture and lemony flavor of this pie. This one is a keeper. Thanks for sharing your mother's recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This pie was really good. DD(9) rated as a five(she ate two pieces). DS(8) ate one piece and rated it as a 10,000. DD(7) ate two pieces and rated it at two million! DH loved it and took the leftovers to work!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      Very good! I did make a meringue to go ont top using 6T of sugar, cream of tarter, 4 egg whites and a dash of vanilla. I added it 10 minutes before it was done. It turned out great! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2014

      Absolutely the best, easiest lemon pie I have ever made! Never lasts long at my home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      Very good! Perfect texture, lots of lemony flavor. My son commented that this pie had less of an eggy taste than others which is a good thing. Used a 9-inch pie plate and the pie was quite thin. Next time I might try doubling the filling amount and using a 10-inch plate, but I hate messing with a good thing:) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      I made this pie for thanksgiving 2011. Its very good with a not to sweet lemon flavor. I actually prefer a tiny bit sweeter pie. I will make this again and not use splenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I wasn't too sure about this pie by its looks, but it tasted wonderful! Great for lemon-tart loving tastebuds. I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      It's like lemon squares in a pie, but even better! This recipe is going into my favorites file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Have never had a chess pie before, so have nothing to compare it to, but thought it was outstanding. I even cheated and used margarine, but it still came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This is, by far, the best lemon dessert I have ever eaten. What more can I say than thank you, thank you, BeachGirl! So much pleasure to so many lemon lovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This was soooo good!! It IS a lemon lover's dream. Just enough "tart" lemon flavor. I used a regular butter crust...next time I'll use a shortbread or nilla wafer crust. Thanks, beachgirl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      my SO needed a pie to take to an office dinner,so i made this one.he went to go get a piece and it was gone.he said everyone enjoyed it so much.TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Lemon Chess Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 267.9
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    41%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 56.1 mg
    18%
    Sodium 156.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 26.0 g
    104%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites