Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Hush Puppies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Hush Puppies

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2002

      This little cornbread treats are a true Southern delight. I made mine with chopped green onions (the recipe call for onions) for a little color in these golden balls. They fried up nicely and were a nice treat with pinto beans. Absolutely worth going to the extra effort of frying!! Thanks, MG, for a wonderful Southern, country treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2002

      Very good. I added some garlic (just because I like it) and a little parsley for color. We really enjoyed them. The DH said it reminded him of Grandmas in Georgia. Thanks MG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I was so happy to find this recipe. I was raised in south Georgia, and besides not including finely diced celery, this is exactly like the ones my Grandma used to make. Thanks MysteryGirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

    • on May 25, 2007

      this tasted like fried nothing not my fav sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      My family just loved these. They went wonderful with southern fried catfish! Will definantly be making again. TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      Not too crazy about the recults of this recipe. Too dry for my taste, but very easy to make with ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      I highly recommend this wonderful recipe for hushpuppies. I too, have made other hushpuppy mixes before but nothing compares to this recipe. They are so very delicious. Thank you Mysterygirl for sharing such a wonderful recipe. This will be a keeper for sure and I look forward to making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      Just made these last night and they were wonderful! We tried other recipes and mixes, and always ended up disappointed, but these are definitely a keeper for sure! Easy to make and so very tasty! Thanks, Mysterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2004

      Very easy to make. Very tasty. All my family liked them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      These are wonderful! The only hush puppy recipe I will use from now on. I used stone ground yellow cornmeal, and threw in some shredded cheese. We had plenty to go with our supper of fried fish, and even had enough batter left for more the next day. Yum!! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2004

      I made these to go with Rita L's Crispy Tilapia (#47391). They were really good but kind of dense for my taste. Plus, traditional Southern hushpuppies tend to be sweet- we added a couple Tbs of sugar to this as an afterthought, but I could have gone sweeter. Like Michelle S. we added a couple of cloves of garlic. Good flavor overall and easy to make. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Hush Puppies

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 263.0
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    16%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 59.2 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1182.7 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites