50 Reviews

Having never had grits before, I don't know how I'd rate these on a grit scale. But I thought this was some of the most delicious stuff I've eaten in a while. Its rich simplicity makes it seem very versatile. I loved it savory (and next time with cheddar!!) but the rest of my family added some sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie H December 29, 2009

yet another perfect morning with the world's best grits. what would i do without this fantastic recipe?!? march 11: best grits, hands down. i didn't even need the extra pat of butter on top, just some freshly ground black pepper. this will cut down my breakfasting out quite a bit. thank you for sharing this amazing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sutefani June 13, 2009

I used more water instead of milk. Always daunted to make grits myself - but these were great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen May 12, 2009

I worked at a Waffle House in GA for a week when I went to visit relatives (they all worked there so...when in rome) I'd never had grits, but after working there I never wanted them again! They were either like soup or spackle and everyone seemed to LOVE them. So naturally I thought that was how they were supposed to be. The other day my boyfriend was talking about them and told me " I just didn't know how to make them right" hehe.. well...ok then. I went out and bought a box and came to Zaar. These are really good! I really enjoyed them and can honestly say I'm a convert! They were the consistency of thick cream of wheat within 5 minutes though. I tried to cook them longer, but after 10 they were starting to get to thick so I stopped. The taste is great and my DBF was mightily suprised. Thank you Connie. I'll make them again just this way many times!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 29, 2009

Wow, now I see why these have so many 5-star reviews. They're terrific; nice & creamy, and with a smooth texture. We all loved these, Connie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester January 27, 2009

Just like Mama's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VO August 31, 2008

These were very good, however not the flavor/texture of Waffle House. The extra cooking time makes them alot better! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamela J July 03, 2008

So so so good. Exactly what I was looking for. Very creamy and excellent reheated with a bit of milk in the microwave. I agree with another reviewer: eat these with a bit of butter and maple syrup. Way better than oatmeal! Thank you so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixitrix July 02, 2008

All I can say is I will Never Ever make grits any other way again. Superb! Creamy and delicious. A must have for a truly memorable Southern breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefRD June 28, 2008

My husband loves the grits at Waffle house but we are not southerners and I didn't know how to make them. Thank you for this recipe, he likes them as much as the waffle house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loulachien May 21, 2008
Southern Grits