Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Grits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Grits

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2008

      Great basic recipe here. I had along with (believe it or not) butter and maple syrup on top for breakfast this morning along with some maple flavored sausage. Absolutely DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      This was excellent. My husband and I enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Awesome Grits!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      This is a perfect recipe for delicious grits, as well as a great way to introduce those who only know the so-called "more refined" polenta to its southern US counterpart. Add these to your next eggs and bacon breakfast, sit back and enjoy! If you have country ham and red eye gravy, that's even better. I highly recommend bringing the water and milk gently to a boil. Don't take your eyes off the pot or it can boil over before you know it. And just like Connie says, stir continuously as you add in the grits so you won't have any lumps. Once that's done, it's a breeze and the taste is wonderful. Thanks so much for the outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      These are wonderful! And I grew up on grits, so I know good grits. I've been trying to be healthier lately, so I used skim milk instead of whole, and instead of 1/4 cup of butter I used 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      My South Georgia born and bred husband loved these grits! I always just followed the directions on the box or bag and added some butter. Thanks for letting this Yankee in on the secret to delicious grits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Wonderful! I made this as part of a big southern meal. I doubled the recipe without a problem. The amount of salt called for is perfect but I did cut the butter in half. At the last second I realized I was out of milk but I did have condenced milk so sub'ed half that with half water. It worked perfectly. Leftovers reheat well enough but this is best eaten right away. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      My husband said these are the best grits he has ever had! I had to add a little water every now and then to keep them creamy. They were so yummy. My daughter requested some this morning for breakfast. Thanks for the "secret" to making good grits. I will always make them this way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      I have been eating and cooking grits my entire life, and have always been pleased with them. However, I decided to just give these a shot to see what the difference really was. Well, let me tell you, these are out of this world. I had from time to time used a bit of milk(never measured), and even a little butter while cooking(never measured). This recipe "nailed" it. I have always LOVED grits, and these were the hands down definitive best I've ever put in my mouth...Way to go, Connie K!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      These grits are sooooo good! Adding the milk makes such a difference...wished I'd thought of it first! My daughter adores/devours this, and even DH (who never eats them) said he would like some next time if I made it this way. Thanks for teaching this GRITS (Girl Raised In The South) how to make the real deal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      I made half the recipe since it was just the two of us and that was the perfect amount. I ran some water though the coffee maker to heat the water, and added the hot water as needed to keep up the temperature of the grits. I will be making grits this way from now on! By the way, perfect amount of salt, no more guessing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      I'm thinking now that cooking this in a T-Fal pan would make clean up easier. Hubby likes his grits with jam and I like mine with sawmill gravy. Great recipe, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      This is almost exactly how I've always made grits for my southern hubby since I can't stand grits that are soupy, ick!! The one change with this recipe is that I've never thought of using milk for part of the liquid. Dh and I liked the extra creaminess and the kids didn't know what was different but they commented on how good it was. Thanks for the suggestion for taking grits up a notch; I'll definitely do it this way from now on. ;o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      These are the best grits I've ever had. The milk makes the grits so creamy. I did however add lots of cheese which made them even better. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      This is totally "THE BEST WAY" to make southern grits!!! I love grits and I usually wait and add my milk (if wanted) til after I have cooked them. With this recipe,,,,, I am from now on making my grits the way this recipe says!!! I reduced the recipe down just for 1 person (ME) cause DH was gone to work but I just gotta say you sure have the right amount of ingredients for making grits. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe Connie K!! I am having a bowl of grits as I am typing this!! LOL :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      Had to review again after reading the other reviews..when I was little I remember my dad fixing the best grits...then he would totally ruin his..he would pour a little red eye gravy over them and top with chopped tomatoes...I hated sitting next to him a breakfast early in the AM but he loved them and so did some others I later found out..now my son eats his this way..might want to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      I made this recipe, following the steps exactly, this a.m. for breakfast when the kids were here.... 16 mo old grandson up to 31 yo son. Everyone LOVED the grits and commented how good they were! The babies didn't say anything... they were just enjoying them! Thanks for a great recipe. It will be the way I fix grits from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      There is a diner here in town that we go to for breakfast, mainly because their grits are the best, but not any better than these. Thank you so much. This is the only way I will ever make grits again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      I loved these grits. I know it might sound weird, but we like to sprinkle brown sugar alone or with some crumbled bacon on our grits at breakfast.Thanks, I'll be cooking grits this way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2005

      At last, a yankee recipe for grits that does not call for cheese, papaya, raisins, walnuts, soy cake, or other such nonsense. KISS. The only thing I ever add is cooked & peeled crawdad tail meat and hot sauce but then of course there's the requisite bloody mary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Grits

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.2
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    45%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 41.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 723.9 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes