Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Grits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Grits

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2010

      Having been a grits eating/cooking Southerner all my life, I can tell you the recipe as written (using 'quick' grits) does not have enough liquid in it. The proportions for quick-cooking grits are 4:1 (4 cups H2O to 1 cup grits) for 6 servings. This may be the source of some of the problems listed in the comments regarding having to add more liquid for longer cooking times. BTW, one NEVER adds sugar to grits. Sugar is for oatmeal and/or cream of wheat, NOT grits. Grits is a savory dish, not a hot cereal. just sayin' :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      This is word for word, instructions and ingredients, Paula Deen's recipe! I've been making them for more than 10 years, the best grits I've ever had. easy and fool proof.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Absolutely wonderful! Just got done eating supper. Never made grits before. I have been a fan but I usually only got them for breakfast and even though one of you said you never ever put milk and sugar on them, that is how I ate them. Like cream of wheat or farina. I know plenty of other people who eats them like that too. However, I was looking for something as a base on my plate for my homemade chili (actually just made a recipe up tonight for it and I will post it here, as it was really good). Well let me tell ya, the grits turned out so very very creamy. I took the suggestion of the other posts and decided to not fool around with the liguid in spurts. It sounded like it would need quite abit more and one person said about 1/2 cup more so after the initial boil down and they thickened some, I added the 1/2 cup of milk. After that I didn't have to add any more. They were just amazing! I put them on my plate and added my chili on top. Perfect! I usually use rice under my chili but rice has been messing with my stomach lately and I don't care for brown rice. This worked. Guys, if you haven't tried these you absolutely have to. Can't wait to make them for my daughter and her crew. They will love them! Thanks Connie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2014

      I grew up in the south and hungered for those southern grits. This recipe was awesome! I printed it out and will post it on my pantry door because I will be making it on a regular basis. I followed the recipe exactly, except for the amount of liquid and the 20 minutes cooking time. I turned the burner off when it was almost thick enough (maybe 10 minutes of cooking time) and let it sit while I cooked the eggs to go with it. Came out perfect! My husband loved it and even remarked on it since he thinks of grits as just a "filler" and he never mentions them. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      I feel bad giving this recipe such a low rating, but the stated liquid amounts are all wrong. In my experience, and I have prepared this recipe every Sunday morning for nearly two years, one must double the amount of liquid (both milk and water) stated in the recipe to get a batch of authentic Southern-style grits (I'm a born-and-bred Southerner, though I've been transplanted to the west coast :) ). It also helps to use a heaping teaspoon of salt, to compensate for the increased amount of liquid. <br/><br/>Incidentally, I agree with what other Southern reviewers have said about grits being a savory, not sweet, dish. I believe in live and let live, so I won't tell you how to eat your grits, but if you want the real deal, make them as I have described above. This method of preparation turned my Canadian boyfriend into a grits addict, and it'll make you a true believer, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2012

      Really good recipe. As already pointed out by others, needed to add water as they cooked. Being from the north, I didn't discover grits until I was grown up. I have been using the instant brand but these are so much creamier and better! I like mine with sugar and butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      Really good recipe for grits. I've made these a couple of times now and the whole family will eat them. That's pretty uncommon! Last time I made this, I added some bacon crumbles right before serving. My 7 year old daughter said they "were the best grits in the world"! High praise, indeed! I do add a little extra liquid, maybe a half cup, because I like them a little extra creamy and slightly less thick. And sometimes I serve them with soft boiled eggs on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      My first time ever making (or even eating!) grits. We all loved them (7 members in our family), even my hubby who has eaten grits before and liked them. Thanks for the recipe and I will be making them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      This was awesome. We went to a restaurant in Kissimmee, Fl while on vacation and then went back again because I loved their grits. These are just as good if not better. They are so creamy with the addition of milk. I too had to add water from time to time as I cooked them. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I will be making grits this way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      OMG these grits are beyond delicious! Being a New Yorker, I had never had grits before. I saw them in the store one day and decided I would try them. I was thrilled to find this simple recipe! I use skim milk, and only top with a bit of butter on individual servings rather than stir it in...but they are truly delicious. I'm sure they're even better with more butter, but I prefer to keep things as healthy as possible. I make these all the time now, perfect recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Having never had grits before, I don't know how I'd rate these on a grit scale. But I thought this was some of the most delicious stuff I've eaten in a while. Its rich simplicity makes it seem very versatile. I loved it savory (and next time with cheddar!!) but the rest of my family added some sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      yet another perfect morning with the world's best grits. what would i do without this fantastic recipe?!? march 11: best grits, hands down. i didn't even need the extra pat of butter on top, just some freshly ground black pepper. this will cut down my breakfasting out quite a bit. thank you for sharing this amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I used more water instead of milk. Always daunted to make grits myself - but these were great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I worked at a Waffle House in GA for a week when I went to visit relatives (they all worked there so...when in rome) I'd never had grits, but after working there I never wanted them again! They were either like soup or spackle and everyone seemed to LOVE them. So naturally I thought that was how they were supposed to be. The other day my boyfriend was talking about them and told me " I just didn't know how to make them right" hehe.. well...ok then. I went out and bought a box and came to Zaar. These are really good! I really enjoyed them and can honestly say I'm a convert! They were the consistency of thick cream of wheat within 5 minutes though. I tried to cook them longer, but after 10 they were starting to get to thick so I stopped. The taste is great and my DBF was mightily suprised. Thank you Connie. I'll make them again just this way many times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Wow, now I see why these have so many 5-star reviews. They're terrific; nice & creamy, and with a smooth texture. We all loved these, Connie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Just like Mama's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      These were very good, however not the flavor/texture of Waffle House. The extra cooking time makes them alot better! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      So so so good. Exactly what I was looking for. Very creamy and excellent reheated with a bit of milk in the microwave. I agree with another reviewer: eat these with a bit of butter and maple syrup. Way better than oatmeal! Thank you so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      All I can say is I will Never Ever make grits any other way again. Superb! Creamy and delicious. A must have for a truly memorable Southern breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      My husband loves the grits at Waffle house but we are not southerners and I didn't know how to make them. Thank you for this recipe, he likes them as much as the waffle house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Grits

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.2
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    45%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 41.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 723.9 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes