Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Great Northern Beans (Crock Pot Version) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Great Northern Beans (Crock Pot Version)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2013

      Easy. Tasty. Simple substitions worked well.<br/><br/>I had a taste for beans and found your recipe. I had to sub bacon drippings for the pork/ham since I didn't have any onhand (and skipped the butter). I also used a mixture of chicken broth / water. <br/><br/>I've made several great northern bean recipes in the crock pot. All were a disappointment till this one.<br/><br/>Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Awesome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      I had some salt cured pork...super salt cured. I didn't put any extra salt in just what was in the ham. Turned out great. I did add some onion powder and white pepper instead of the pepper flakes. My hubby's not a big fan of pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      The cooking time was right on...however I used smoked pork neckbone, celery and sweet onions.... I did not add any more seasonings.. if you want it hot add some hot sauce...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      Very good recipe, but way too salty. I have made them several times with less salt and less pepper flakes and everyone enjoys them. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Love the recipe but definitely too salty. I'm trying to quickly cook another # of beans to add to the batch I've already prepared so that it can be salvaged. I look forward to making it again with less salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Very good, but a little too spicy. I would suggest about 1 tsp hot pepper flakes and 1/2 tsp pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      First time to cook or eat Great Northern Beans and great they were. A big plus not having to soak the beans overnight! I did use a ham bone and added a little garlic powder. Had to cook about 8 hours total (See UPDATE below). After cooking on high for the first two hours, cooked on low for 3 1/2 hours and then turned back up to high for 2 1/2 hours. Maybe it was just my crockpot but they weren't near done in 6 hours. This will be a keeper! Thanks for the great recipe!! UPDATE: Making again today with a NEW crockpot and they are done after 2 hrs on high and 3 hours on low. Since I miscalculated based on my previous review, will now need to keep them on warm until dinnertime. Guess the crockpot can make a big difference. They are still GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      I really enjoyed this recipe! I did use 3 slices of bacon instead of the pork chop/ham hock. I think next time I'll cut down on the salt. Two tablespoons seemed a bit much when I read the recipe. My husband commented on the saltiness, as well. But he must have enjoyed it because he had three helpings! I loved the fact that I didn't have to soak the beans or anything with this recipe! Thanks for the yummy dinner last night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      These were great! I threw in a chopped onion and a chopped clove of garlic. Used a ham hock, and did the quick soak method of boiling the beans for 2 minutes after picking them over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Great Northern Beans (Crock Pot Version)

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.8
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    25%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 15.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 723.3 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes