10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy. Tasty. Simple substitions worked well.<br/><br/>I had a taste for beans and found your recipe. I had to sub bacon drippings for the pork/ham since I didn't have any onhand (and skipped the butter). I also used a mixture of chicken broth / water. <br/><br/>I've made several great northern bean recipes in the crock pot. All were a disappointment till this one.<br/><br/>Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmarkp July 20, 2013

Awesome

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mocha_mom_2 February 23, 2013

I had some salt cured pork...super salt cured. I didn't put any extra salt in just what was in the ham. Turned out great. I did add some onion powder and white pepper instead of the pepper flakes. My hubby's not a big fan of pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
witchstorm July 02, 2012

The cooking time was right on...however I used smoked pork neckbone, celery and sweet onions.... I did not add any more seasonings.. if you want it hot add some hot sauce...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foxpride January 27, 2011

Very good recipe, but way too salty. I have made them several times with less salt and less pepper flakes and everyone enjoys them. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janieintn August 11, 2010

Love the recipe but definitely too salty. I'm trying to quickly cook another # of beans to add to the batch I've already prepared so that it can be salvaged. I look forward to making it again with less salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joybean! July 18, 2010

Very good, but a little too spicy. I would suggest about 1 tsp hot pepper flakes and 1/2 tsp pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FL JoJo November 09, 2008

First time to cook or eat Great Northern Beans and great they were. A big plus not having to soak the beans overnight! I did use a ham bone and added a little garlic powder. Had to cook about 8 hours total (See UPDATE below). After cooking on high for the first two hours, cooked on low for 3 1/2 hours and then turned back up to high for 2 1/2 hours. Maybe it was just my crockpot but they weren't near done in 6 hours. This will be a keeper! Thanks for the great recipe!! UPDATE: Making again today with a NEW crockpot and they are done after 2 hrs on high and 3 hours on low. Since I miscalculated based on my previous review, will now need to keep them on warm until dinnertime. Guess the crockpot can make a big difference. They are still GREAT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little_Sister October 26, 2008

I really enjoyed this recipe! I did use 3 slices of bacon instead of the pork chop/ham hock. I think next time I'll cut down on the salt. Two tablespoons seemed a bit much when I read the recipe. My husband commented on the saltiness, as well. But he must have enjoyed it because he had three helpings! I loved the fact that I didn't have to soak the beans or anything with this recipe! Thanks for the yummy dinner last night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YummyBanna April 27, 2007

These were great! I threw in a chopped onion and a chopped clove of garlic. Used a ham hock, and did the quick soak method of boiling the beans for 2 minutes after picking them over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen of Everything November 29, 2006
Southern Great Northern Beans (Crock Pot Version)