283 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This came out excellent! I had never made fried chicken before, so was a bit worried. I put the seasonings in with the dredging flour and used Frank's hot sauce. Also, because I double-dipped my chicken, I had just the right amount of flour. Thanks for posting, Sharlene!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie May 14, 2014

Chicken needs to be brined if you want flavorful chicken meat. There are lots of great brine recipes on the net. Choose your flavor and brine for 12 hours. Then follow this recipe and you will definitely have a 5 star fried chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nalltx April 04, 2014

I made this for supper today. It was delicious, not KFC but great. Take the other reviewers' comments seriously re NOT decreasing the hot sauce...I added 1/2 cup Tabasco along with 1 cup of Louisiana Hot Sauce & it had just the right amount of spiciness. I also got the chicken already & placed in in the fridge on a greased tray for 3 hrs prior to cooking taking out just long enough to bring close to room temp.We had a green salad with it but I can envision this served cold at a summer picnic with potato salad, macaroni salad & coleslaw.<br/>Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmerlou1 February 18, 2014

??? This was just OK 4 me.......would NOT make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative October 01, 2013

I was nervous about the hot sauce because we don't like spicy. I used half the hot sauce and it was delicious. I will make again and might try all of the hot sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummabear7 September 29, 2013

Absolutely the best fried chicken I've ever had!!!! Made following exact directions and it was amazing. It's nice and juicy, moist on the inside and crispy on the outside, and so flavorful!!! Can't wait to have it again!!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjill111 June 12, 2013

The chicken turned out so well! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmingfiona February 27, 2013

Made this tonight and the skin came out soooo crunchy! I did it just as written and it was amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brttnys February 16, 2013

I LOVE this chicken... thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamerLex December 25, 2012

Freaking awesome chicken! The best fried chicken I've ever made and definitely kid friendly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TennisMama28 December 16, 2012
Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)