Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    282 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 282

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2009

      This is an easy recipe. After making it I will agree with other vewiers that I would like to try it with the seasonings added to the flour mix. The breading needed some flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Wow, fantastic! I'm a fairly advanced cook but a novice to frying (not usually my thing). Following the instructions almost exactly, this recipe made me look like I knew what I was doing and it's sooooo good. Wonderful fried chicken! By far the best I have ever made or eaten other than my grandmother's (and she was a kind of wring-the-head-off-the-chicken fresh kind of cook). Yucck but so delicious as long as I didn't have to watch, much less help. The only thing I did different with the recipe was cutting the sauce ingredients in half. The recipe made plenty for six large chicken thighs (slightly more than 2-1/2 lbs.). Other than that, I followed the exact instructions posted by Sharlene~W. In a second batch, I tried double-dipping, but it's not necessary or better. Thank you Sharlene~W and Paula Deen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      easy to do and the flavor was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Great Taste. Lot's of reviews but I didn't read them all. Combined seasoning into the sauce as it would have come off in the sauce anyway? I Cut up little nuggets/tenders sized bites to get more coating. Left the sauce/seasoning in a bowl and just dumped all the chicken in there. I put the flower mix in the zip bag for an easy coating shake, went faster this way. Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I loved this recipe! I used skinless, boneless chicken breast to make it slightly less on the calories. My goodness!!! My kids thought they where eating chicken strips that you can order from Chili's or TGIF. They couldn't believe I made it. They dunked it in Ranch dressing with tabasco sauce. IT Was Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I use boneless chicken for this recipe and my family really loves it. They alway ask when we're going to have it again. The kids friends love it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Really good; Slightly crunchy on the outside, but still juicy in the inside. I used boneless/skinless breasts cut into 1'' strips, and was surprised that it was still quite juicy. I did, however, manage to overcook some pieces and they turned chewy. I only had a little 2oz bottle of Tabasco, so I dumped it all in, and for the seasoning blend I just used seasoning salt. Really easy and quick to fry up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      So good! It was my first time making fried chicken and i was surprised that it was so easy. I love how the hot sauce gave it a little extra zing. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Yum, I made this last night for the family and it was a big hit. It was really flavorful and I will definitely be making this again. The hot sauce I used was Louisana Crystal Hot Sauce and I actually only used 2 eggs plus the 1/3 cup water and 1/2 cup hot sauce because I only had a total of 7 chicken thighs. Depending on the size of the chicken I had to deep fry the batch for about 15 - 20 minutes. The chicken turned out crunchy and juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      OMG! This was the best fried chicken EVER! It was crunchy on the outside & moist & juicy on the inside. Don't be afraid to use all of the hot sauce . . . it adds an amazing flavor with no heat. I will add some cayenne pepper to the flour mixture next time for a bit of a kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Not KFC...but still excellent! I made chicken nuggets out of it and it worked very well for that. Hubby ate it for dinner and a finished off as a late night snack last night. He loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Thank you for your recipes. I have printed two of them off, and will be trying them at a later date, yours, arthur .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Wow, this was really good and crunchy! My husband raved about it! I would add more spices to it next time. I cut back on the hot sauce, thinking it would be too hot. I think I would add some paprika to the breading, too! I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      We liked it, but we have had better fried chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      I have never fried chicken before, so I figured why not give it a try. This was SO GOOD. The directions were clear, easy, and accurate. The chicken came out perfect and I recommend to all to try this recipe, MOUTH WATERING GOOD! Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      I watched Paula Deen make this on TV a few years ago. She used a whole bottle of hot sauce (not Tabasco) apx. 8 ox. She promised the heat would cook out of the pepper sauce leaving only the flavor. She was right. I have to add a few red pepper flakes if I want it spicy. The peanut oil is perfect for making it light and crispy because it has a higher smoking pt. than veg. oil. The only way I fry chicken now! I love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Wonder

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I had never friend chicken before in my life, and this recipe was simple and so good! I ended up making it for 3 nights in a row! I also cut boneless skinless breasts into strips and made chicken strips to freeze for later! This recipe definitely deserves 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I can't say enough about this recipe it's just to die for. I felt like a piggy eating becasue I didn't want to stop. I was scared to use so much hot sauce so I only used half, but next time I will use the full amout I am shocked that the chicken didn't taste hot, but it had a nice flavor of the hot sauce, but not any heat. It's honestly the best fried chicken I have ever made. I wish I had more chicken in the freezer because I would be making this again tomorrow for dinner. Thank you so much for sharing it's sooo yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Very tasty but next time I'll cut waaay down on the salt. Since I'm very sensitive to hot/spicy I substituted milk for the hot sacue. Also there was a lot of waste in the ratio of sauce and dredging mix to chicken. I hate wasting that much food. Next time I'll cut the amount of sauce and dredging by half for the same amount of chicken. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 15

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 797.0
     
    Calories from Fat 357
    44%
    Total Fat 39.7 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 356.1 mg
    118%
    Sodium 3012.2 mg
    125%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 55.3 g
    110%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites