Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    282 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 282

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2009

      I've been frying chicken since I was a teenager and I have to say, this is about the best I've made. It was a big hit with my picky eaters....I'll be making this one again for sure...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      This recipe was fantastic! I love chicken (and especially fried chicken!) so I thought I would give this a try. I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out perfect. I, personally, think it's even better than KFC. I was also a little skeptical about the amount of hot sauce used, but it really doesn't make the chicken spicy. It gives it a tiny kick, but if you're used to eating any spice at all, you may not even notice it. I tossed 1/2 of the chicken I made in some buffalo wing sauce and both sets were fantastic! I would definitely recommend this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Really good. I used a bit less tabasco cause 1 cup was pretty much the whole bottle, but still came out awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Very good chicken. Sending recipe to friends because its that yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This was the first time I used a deep fryer. My family LOVED this chicken - juicy and tasty. I'll use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      I made chicken nuggets with this recipe. I couldn't stop eating them they were so good. I even had some of the leftovers as a snack cold and they were good. My 5 year old thought they were a little spicy but she just kept drinking milk to cool down her mouth while eating them. I am so happy to have found this recipe because I have had a hard time finding good chicken nuggets on the Hungarian economy. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I had my first ever success with fried chicken using this recipe. Of course, this means one less thing I'm able to convince the hub to take me out to dinner for! This is really a no-fail recipe for deep fry beginners. I used vegetable oil instead of peanut oil and it still came out crispy, juicy and flavorful. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I made this and my family thought it was better than any fast food chicken they had ever eaten. We like things a little more spicy so the second time I made it I added about 1 Tablespoon of cayenne pepper to the sauce mixture. This is the fried chicken recipe I have ever made. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      This fried chicken recipe is to die for! My husband begs me to make this all the time now. We love the flavor of this chicken, and to give it a little extra zing I marinate the chicken for 24 hours beforhand. Very, very good! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Not spicy at all but still very good....I will add some red pepper to the dredging mixture next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Great. Could have used a little more spice in the dredging mixture. but it was really great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I was really disappointed in this recipe. I followed as directed. I used chicken breast. This was not like paula deens or kfc. I was assuming the hot sauce would cook out. It was overpowering and the gravy I made was very spicy. Very disaappointed. This receipe needed to be compared to buffalo wild wings or something like that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I used wings instead of fryer pieces...they were very juicy but I had to transpose the order in which I battered the chicken... bcuz the seasonings were diluted by the wet batter (so I ended in re-seasoning & double battering).This is a good fried chicken recipe, but nothing extraordinary about it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      the coating was alittle salty but otherwise it was good and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I meant to say that..like i said, the breading was perfect. No salt except whats called for should be added. My Bf said it was Plenty salty for him and it was just salty enough for me (the salt-a-holic) without being inedible for him. So, thats why the breading is a winner for us!!!! I was only commenting on the inner layer of chicken being blandish. And, Like i said, I will try marinating it in hot sauce or buttermilk for an hour or two before the process next time. Thanks still!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      This recipe is simply the best fried chicken recipe ever. Don't be afraid to use all the hot sauce. It doesn't make the chicken spicy at all. Took it to a picnic and everyone wanted the recipe. Yum Oh!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      The chicken was juicy and crispy. I thought it was lacking flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

    • on August 23, 2009

      This was so easy to prepare and just the right amount of flavorings too. not too hot and enjoyed by all. thanks so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      My husband and two teen age boys absolutely loved this. I can't believe how they raved on it. A definite 5 star hit! I cut my breasts into chicken fingers and used Franks Redhot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 15

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 797.0
     
    Calories from Fat 357
    44%
    Total Fat 39.7 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 356.1 mg
    118%
    Sodium 3012.2 mg
    125%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 55.3 g
    110%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites