Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    279 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 279

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2009

      Made this last night for Halloween dinner and it was fantastic. This was the first time I ever deep fried bone in chicken and it turned out fantastically crispy (not KFC, but close enough!) Both my spouse and my teenage daughter said it was the best fried chicken we have made and said they would definately make it again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Very good fried chicken! We had coleslaw and potato salad along with it and we all enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Really good. My first attempt at fried chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I have been making this chicken for years like this. This is hands down the best fried chicken recipe out there. I make chicken fingers (My hubby's favorite) and buffalo chicken wings (toss in melted butter and hot sauce after wings have been fried). You can also fry chicken cutlets and make out of this world chicken club sandwiches with this recipe. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      wonderful!!! delicious!!! the first fried chicken ive made whos batter actually stuck on, and it tasted heavenly! so flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      The batter was really good, but I think next time I would forgo the hot sauce. I don't really like my chicken spicy and it really changed the taste of the chicken having the sauce in it. Thanks for posting, though, it did turn out to be some impressively beautiful fried chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      As Sharlene states, this is not a copycat recipe it's just better than anything KFC has to offer. She isn't lying either. This made for a crispy, flavorful and moist chicken. I followed the recipe but added the seasoning blend to the flour mixture. Thank you Sharlene, for a company worthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      This was a very good fried chicken recipe. The Colonel, however, can rest easy knowing his secret recipe has not been replicated here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      I love fried chicken, but have always failed miserably at making it. My fiance, neighbors, and I all agree that this recipe makes the absolute best homemade chicken. The only substitutes I made were using drumsticks instead of breasts (had to cook it in a deep fat fryer for around 17 minutes) and using milk instead of water. Also, I used 1 cup of Louisiana Hot Sauce and it was not hot at all. You can taste the flavor of it, but it's not hot at all (coming from someone who can't even eat mild salsa, because it's too hot). Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Excellent, Used the Louisiana sauce so it would not be hot, it was just right. Will be serving it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      This was DELISH!!! While it was cooking, my 4 year old said; "Mommy, what's cookin that smells sooo good?" I double battered the chicken, and did not use the hot sauce...the chicken was super juicy! Will make this over and over! Thanks so much for sharing..my husband has a full, happy belly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      OK here goes- i was so excited to try this and was a little disappointed after doing so. i totally expected a GREAT burst of flavor from the chicken but was left wanting. The smells from the "sauce" were outstanding but failed to come through. This is the way I made this. I followed the directions with the exception that I reduced the pepper to 1 tsp and increased the garlic powder to 1/2tsp. after sprinkling the chicken with about half of the seasoning mix i dumped the rest into the "sauce". I massaged the seasoning into the chicken pieces. I heated my oil in the rotofryer to 360. . I had the sauce in a bowl instead of a bag and let the chicken sit there a few minutes and the dredge in a bag. I shook off the drippy sauce a little and then shook in the bag dredge. At first taste it tasted like a lot of chicken even the 10yr daughter said its just regular fried chicken. NOW........ the last few pieces I let sorta marniate while the other batch was frying and that chicken tasted better. SO I think that if you let the chicken sit in the sauce it soaks up a lot more of the flavor. I gave this 4 stars because of the last batch. I love everything Paula does and am glad you posted this for others to enjoy her southern charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Here's one more five star review for an excellent fried chicken recipe. A nice crispy coating over tender and slightly spicy chicken--will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Have to admit this chicken is the best I've ever made or had and in my line of business I've tried a lot of recipes. The only thing different is that I marinate the chicken in salt water brine for a couple of hours. Other than that I followed the recipe. In my humble opinion this is excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      DH of 42+ years doesn't give many 5 star ratings "just in case there's something better" gave this the ultimate ... "Oh, Baby, this is a 5 star for sure" ... I'm finished looking for the "perfect" fried chicken recipe! I wasn't sure about the 1 cup of hot sauce ... an absolute must! I did let the chicken set after the last step while the oil was heating since I've heard doing that helps the coating to stay on. Thanks so much, Sharlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Wow! I live in South America and miss fried chicken (my favorite food). This was the first time I made it and it turned out so good. It was just spicy enough. My South American boyfriend loved it too and he doesn't like anything too spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was so delicious, and so easy! This was my first time making fried chicken by myself, and I will continue using this recipe. Used Frank's red hot sauce, and it was perfect, not spicy at all. Coating was crunchy, and the meat was so moist. Husband loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I've been frying chicken since I was a teenager and I have to say, this is about the best I've made. It was a big hit with my picky eaters....I'll be making this one again for sure...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      This recipe was fantastic! I love chicken (and especially fried chicken!) so I thought I would give this a try. I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out perfect. I, personally, think it's even better than KFC. I was also a little skeptical about the amount of hot sauce used, but it really doesn't make the chicken spicy. It gives it a tiny kick, but if you're used to eating any spice at all, you may not even notice it. I tossed 1/2 of the chicken I made in some buffalo wing sauce and both sets were fantastic! I would definitely recommend this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Really good. I used a bit less tabasco cause 1 cup was pretty much the whole bottle, but still came out awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 797.0
     
    Calories from Fat 357
    44%
    Total Fat 39.7 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 356.1 mg
    118%
    Sodium 3012.2 mg
    125%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 55.3 g
    110%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites