304 Reviews

The chicken was all around pretty good. I have to agree on too much flour for dredging and would cut back as well. The salt and paper amount for spices needs to be increased, I felt there wasn't enough pepper. I had halved the recipe for 1 lb of chicken and was disappointed that the Hot Sauce flavor did not come through. I think I will try a previous suggestion of precooking chicken so it doesn't burn (mine came out dark,dark brown), and tailoring it to be spicier.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitsmomma January 17, 2011

Outstanding. More than satisfying. I added a teaspoon of seasoned salt and not one complaint. Boyfriends new favorite dinner. Thanks for making me look good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vbpinksweetp January 02, 2011

This was the best fried chicken I have made so far! Don't be afraid of the hot sauce, it just adds seasoning and isn't really hot. I love that the directions were spot on with frying dark/light meats. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes October 21, 2010

This was my first time ever frying chicken and it turned out fabulous. I used the green jalapeno tabasco and I loved the flavor it created. YUM! I was afraid that it was going to be very spicy because of the amount of hot sauce in the recipe, and instead it gave it just a hint of pepperiness. I made few other substitutions. I used Lawry's seasoning salt instead of regular, whole wheat flour instead of regular, and safflower oil instead of canola. All in all, it was a great success. I think Paula would be proud :-) Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp October 21, 2010

This is one of the best fried chicken recipes I have ever tasted. Its very easy for a beginning cook like myself. Absolutely LOVED it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgvan87 October 07, 2010

First time I ever made fried chicken... EVER! It was just as easy as everyone promised :-) Everyone loved it, I will definitely make it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liz Beginner Cook September 22, 2010

I just used this recipe, our dinner was AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactally as written. I did, however brine the chicken before starting the recipe, I think it added flavor to the meat ( taking care of the "blandness" reported by other commenters).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashleigh Davis August 16, 2010

Good coating nice and crunchy. I would watch the tempature of your oil though by the time we got to the third batch it was starting to burn the coating. We also halved the hot sauce for the little ones sake, still had a good flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paperprincess424 August 04, 2010

I tried this recipe with drumsticks and by the time the chicken was cooked all the way through the outside was burned (I used a meat thermometer to determine the inside temp of the drumstick and its doneness). So I tried pre- boiling the drumsticks then dipping them in the sauce and dredging mixture and this worked out very well. I got a nice juicy drumstick with a light crispy coating. Very good recipe, my husband enjoyed it very much, thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cure SMA mommy June 16, 2010

Wow! I never tried frying chicken, and this made it possible :) I had loads of left over sauce mix and dredging mix, will reduce it a bit next time. We really enjoyed it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ayame April 20, 2010
Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)