Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    282 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 282

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2010

      I just made this recipe, its is amazing!! i used chicken tenders and subed 1 cup of masa flour insted of reg. flour. it came out beautifuly! ive never made fried chicken before and this is perfect! thanks so much sharlene!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Great recipe, crisp, easy, and great taste, will make this again for sure. Thanks for sharing....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      We love this recipe..its actually the only one we use for fried chicken now. My 10 yr old loves to help..he calls it HIS recipe and when others come to dinner he booats bout HE made the chicken..LOL. Thanks so much!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I found this recipe when I was in the midst of preparing my chicken for frying - because of that, I didn't follow all the seasoning directions of the recipe. I just loved the tip of adding baking powder to the flour and adding hot sauce to the egg wash. I also appreciate you telling me the frying temp and how long the different meats take to cook. This was the first time I've been able to fry ANYTHING outside of my tiny deep fryer. The chicken came out beautifully and I was so proud.. ha ha. Since I was preparing this for a camping trip, I didn't tasted it while it was still hot but it was great cold. Look forward to using all these tips again! Thank you so much for posting and teaching me how to fry :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I made this as someone suggested in the oven on a pan with a rack. It turned out great. I followed the directions exactly, but baked the chicken legs for 1 hour at 350 degrees. Baking in a raised pan keeps the juices from ruining the crispness. Thanks for a great recipe. I'm sure it'd be even better fried, but I went for a more healthy finish and it was still great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Hands down, the very best fried chicken I've ever had. My husband has been begging me to make it again! I've never had much luck with fried chicken, but this turned out so crispy and juicy. Thanks for the great recipe! ************************** By the way (this is my 2nd post), I am making this tonight for my stepsons and their girlfriends. They are so excited!!!! This has been requested A LOT since I last made it. I can't wait to feed all 6 of the kids and my hubby tonight. It's finally cooling off here in Florida and I couldn't think of a better "Sunday after Church" recipe to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I have tried so many recipes to make the best fried chicken, well I have found it with this one.! My husband came back and told me not to toss this in the wastebasket as he has told me so many times before!! Easy and just perfect!! Was bit skeptical with the hot sauce but it was yummy so pretty too!! Would not change anything in the recipe except to make sure I have more chicken to cook up the next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2014

      its ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2014

      This is an easy recipe to make with most of the ingredients already on hand. I was impressed with the crispness of the chicken. I didn't double bread, I didn't refrigerate. Just followed the recipe and amazingly everything turned out great! :) Note: I always follow the recipe exactly the first time I use it. That way I know what changes to make next time from knowledge not guesswork. This is a great recipe just the way it is or by adding ingredients you like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2014

      This came out excellent! I had never made fried chicken before, so was a bit worried. I put the seasonings in with the dredging flour and used Frank's hot sauce. Also, because I double-dipped my chicken, I had just the right amount of flour. Thanks for posting, Sharlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2014

      Chicken needs to be brined if you want flavorful chicken meat. There are lots of great brine recipes on the net. Choose your flavor and brine for 12 hours. Then follow this recipe and you will definitely have a 5 star fried chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      I made this for supper today. It was delicious, not KFC but great. Take the other reviewers' comments seriously re NOT decreasing the hot sauce...I added 1/2 cup Tabasco along with 1 cup of Louisiana Hot Sauce & it had just the right amount of spiciness. I also got the chicken already & placed in in the fridge on a greased tray for 3 hrs prior to cooking taking out just long enough to bring close to room temp.We had a green salad with it but I can envision this served cold at a summer picnic with potato salad, macaroni salad & coleslaw.<br/>Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      ??? This was just OK 4 me.......would NOT make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      I was nervous about the hot sauce because we don't like spicy. I used half the hot sauce and it was delicious. I will make again and might try all of the hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      Absolutely the best fried chicken I've ever had!!!! Made following exact directions and it was amazing. It's nice and juicy, moist on the inside and crispy on the outside, and so flavorful!!! Can't wait to have it again!!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      The chicken turned out so well! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      Made this tonight and the skin came out soooo crunchy! I did it just as written and it was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      I LOVE this chicken... thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Freaking awesome chicken! The best fried chicken I've ever made and definitely kid friendly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      LOVE this recipe my chicken came out super delicious. The only different thing I do to my chicken is I add 1/2tsp of Paprika and 1Tblspn of Lawry's Seasoned Salt to the seasoning blend and i don't use hotsauce because my husband doesn't like it. Plus I also add some of the same spices to the dreding mixture. Such a good easy recipe, especially a favorite in my house :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 797.0
     
    Calories from Fat 357
    44%
    Total Fat 39.7 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 356.1 mg
    118%
    Sodium 3012.2 mg
    125%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 55.3 g
    110%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes