284 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome,,,, just enough spice. Cooked small batches in a deep fryer. Kept them warm in the oven til all batches were done. Thanks for sharing the recipe Sharlene. A real keeper. Hubby wants to take left-overs for lunch.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnneHas2 October 26, 2010

I wish for more stars! My first time for this recipe so I followed closely. No "Louisiana" hot sauce avail so used "Mexican". I ALWAYS soak my chicken 1st in lightly salted ice-water for an hour or so. Then made this (concerned about the hot sauce) and it was a fantastic hit! Everyone loved it! I'm picky about fried chicken taste and this is absolutely superb.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newbie Old Guy July 30, 2010

This was a very good fried chicken recipe. I put the hot sauce/egg mixture into a bowl instead of a bag because I thought that might be cleaner. The crispiness was outstanding! Thanks for posting. This will be my new fried chicken method!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Sarita in Austin Texas March 27, 2010

This is the best recipe for Fried Chicken, I made these into strips and it turn out wonderful. They do not lack in flavor, next time I would add a little bit more salt and prehaps marinate the chicken in the sauce overnight for even better flavor! This is will be the go-to recipe for fried chicken.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheCambodianCook March 02, 2010

Just plain good! Give it a try.
The second time I made this I used a few bonless skinless breasts, those pieces were my sons (15) favorite. Very moist! You could probably cut up some chicken breasts and make your own strips or nuggets. We will try that next time. My hubby is a KFC die hard and he said this recipie is a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RJB January 26, 2013

Being from the South, I grew up with this as a dinner staple. It was also one of the first dishes that I learned to make along with dumplings. However, this is the BEST fried chicken that I have ever had or made! My picky family LOVES it!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
proudmommy12 January 07, 2013

Excellent recipe! Making it extra crispy is easy. After you dredge it in the flour dip it again in the sauce then again in the flour mixture. Messy to do but comes out crazy crispy! I make twice the flour mixture to do it. My family loves it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Orange Walk girl December 04, 2012

The best & easiest fried chicken I've ever made. My entire family said it was the best chicken they've ever had. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Msflojo March 12, 2012

Turned out really good! I marinated the chicken in the egg mixture for about one hour. Came out really tasty!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj February 29, 2012

Love Love Love this recipe!! Have made this countless times and never fails to be a winner at my house. I cut the hot sauce by half for my little ones but the flavor is still great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mussmom August 24, 2011
Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)