Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    279 Total Reviews

    Showing 261-279 of 279

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2006

      This was very good, but to me it was missing just a little something...the breading still tasted a little "floury" to me. Next time I'll add some seasoned salt and possibly even some chicken boullion granules to my dredge, and maybe a little honey to the sauce mixture. But I'll definitely be making this again, it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      This is THE BEST fried chicken I have EVER made! I've tried several different ways (pan frying entirely to pan frying/oven finishing) but this is the only way I will ever make it again! 14 minutes was perfect for breasts. The breading stays on and everything!! Not to fear the hot sauce - next time I might even add a little more zing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      Tasty and easy! I cut up 6 chicken breast halves into 1/2 inch strips and used those instead of cut up chicken, otherwise I followed the recipe as written. Kids really got into helping make them, and we thought the flavor was better than the local fast food restaurant's chicken strips. Definitely a keeper and a favorite from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      very good, don't let the 1 cup of hot sauce scare you away, it doesn't make it spicey at all, but does add something to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      MMMM my family and i loved it, i will definately tossing out my plain recipe and using this one from now on, loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      I was not sure if we were supposed to make them with skin on or not, so I made mine without. My kids raved about the coating. They did not miss the skin at all. I used the really hot Indonesian hot sauce, and diluted them with water to make 1 cup, and the spiciness was just perfect. Thank you for sharing a fantabulous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      I made thses and forgot to review them. I thought they were prety good, i followed directions to a T. I used Franks Red Hot sauce, cause that is what my son likes. They were not to spicey at all, in fact they could have been hotter. My chicken always taste bland and this time it had a good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      Used just chicken legs for this recipe and they were awesome! I found I only needed half the dredging mixture. The seasonings are right on, except I was very apprehensive about using the whole cup of hot sauce. Will definitely make this again and will try using wings next time. Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous recipe. To add to my review, I only added several drops of hot sauce and it was not hot at all. I would perhaps use 1/4 cup next time as a start to see how spicy it would be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      Fabulous chicken!! I used breast cut into strips - the kids were thrilled with their "kfc crispy strips" and I'm happy to not have to buy fat-laden kfc. Next time I'll try this recipe on wings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      This was really good. I made this recipe with chicken tenders. One thing though, I only used 1/2 cup of hot sauce thinking that it would be way too much....next time I'll use the 1 cup it calls for. And I might add a bit of cheyanne pepper too. Thanks, my family really liked this alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      This is the best fried chicken ever! I have tried numerous fried chicken methods and recipes, and this recipe is the best by far! Thanks so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2006

      This was wayyyy good. I used the leftover sauce to marinade some drumsticks we had for my sons birthday party, they were great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      I was looking for a great chicken nugget recipe, and came across this. WE LOVED IT. I cut up some boneless chicken and omitted the hot sauce b/c of the kids and these cooked up PERFECT. The coatting is great, alot like KFC.. thanks for sharing!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      This was fantastic! I, too, love Paula Deen and when I saw her name on this I just had to try it. I put 3 lbs of chicken legs in a salt brine for a couple of hours before I started cooking. I used Frank's Red Hot as my hot sauce and I ended up frying these in my deep fryer for 16 min. a batch. So yummy! The joke in my house is that the quieter it is at the dinner table, the better the food. And let me tell you, it was SILENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      I have officially replaced my fried chicken recipe. I made this last night for dinner and it was delicious!!! From now on when I make fried chicken I will be using this recipe. I only altered one thing and that is the seasoning blend, all I did was double it for a little extra flavor. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe my family really enjoyed it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      This was so great! This was only my second time frying chicken and all I had was a bag of tenderloins and they came out excellent! DH said I could make em' anytime. They were almost like little chicken strips but 10 times better than anything you'd get at a fast food joint! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      *Perfect* Sharlene! I only wish that my Philips 6161 deep fryer had more finite temperature control settings...The options were 320 or 360 >8-(. Was a *BIT* too dark @ 10 minutes, but am confident that if I had been able to follow the recipe exactly (recommended 350) it would have been even better). Was afraid to use a whole CUP of hot sauce (used 1/2), but I WILL next time - it wasn't hot at all - just *flavorful*. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      OH MY GOODNESS! What a wonderful recipe. Leave it to Paula to come up with this. I couldn't quit eating chicken. This will be the only recipe I use from now on. Thanks for the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      Great chicken,very tasty!It wasn't hot,but nice & crispy.Thanks Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 797.0
     
    Calories from Fat 357
    44%
    Total Fat 39.7 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 356.1 mg
    118%
    Sodium 3012.2 mg
    125%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 55.3 g
    110%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites