303 Reviews

As Sharlene states, this is not a copycat recipe it's just better than anything KFC has to offer. She isn't lying either. This made for a crispy, flavorful and moist chicken. I followed the recipe but added the seasoning blend to the flour mixture. Thank you Sharlene, for a company worthy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely October 11, 2009

This was a very good fried chicken recipe. The Colonel, however, can rest easy knowing his secret recipe has not been replicated here!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Desert Mojo October 11, 2009

I love fried chicken, but have always failed miserably at making it. My fiance, neighbors, and I all agree that this recipe makes the absolute best homemade chicken. The only substitutes I made were using drumsticks instead of breasts (had to cook it in a deep fat fryer for around 17 minutes) and using milk instead of water. Also, I used 1 cup of Louisiana Hot Sauce and it was not hot at all. You can taste the flavor of it, but it's not hot at all (coming from someone who can't even eat mild salsa, because it's too hot). Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahmariex00 October 10, 2009

Excellent, Used the Louisiana sauce so it would not be hot, it was just right. Will be serving it again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
freckles76 October 09, 2009

This was DELISH!!! While it was cooking, my 4 year old said; "Mommy, what's cookin that smells sooo good?" I double battered the chicken, and did not use the hot sauce...the chicken was super juicy! Will make this over and over! Thanks so much for sharing..my husband has a full, happy belly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikisilv October 08, 2009

OK here goes- i was so excited to try this and was a little disappointed after doing so. i totally expected a GREAT burst of flavor from the chicken but was left wanting. The smells from the "sauce" were outstanding but failed to come through. This is the way I made this. I followed the directions with the exception that I reduced the pepper to 1 tsp and increased the garlic powder to 1/2tsp. after sprinkling the chicken with about half of the seasoning mix i dumped the rest into the "sauce". I massaged the seasoning into the chicken pieces. I heated my oil in the rotofryer to 360. . I had the sauce in a bowl instead of a bag and let the chicken sit there a few minutes and the dredge in a bag. I shook off the drippy sauce a little and then shook in the bag dredge. At first taste it tasted like a lot of chicken even the 10yr daughter said its just regular fried chicken. NOW........ the last few pieces I let sorta marniate while the other batch was frying and that chicken tasted better. SO I think that if you let the chicken sit in the sauce it soaks up a lot more of the flavor. I gave this 4 stars because of the last batch. I love everything Paula does and am glad you posted this for others to enjoy her southern charm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn C October 04, 2009

Here's one more five star review for an excellent fried chicken recipe. A nice crispy coating over tender and slightly spicy chicken--will be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers October 02, 2009

Have to admit this chicken is the best I've ever made or had and in my line of business I've tried a lot of recipes. The only thing different is that I marinate the chicken in salt water brine for a couple of hours. Other than that I followed the recipe. In my humble opinion this is excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarikaKisSzentem September 28, 2009

DH of 42+ years doesn't give many 5 star ratings "just in case there's something better" gave this the ultimate ... "Oh, Baby, this is a 5 star for sure" ... I'm finished looking for the "perfect" fried chicken recipe! I wasn't sure about the 1 cup of hot sauce ... an absolute must! I did let the chicken set after the last step while the oil was heating since I've heard doing that helps the coating to stay on. Thanks so much, Sharlene!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker September 26, 2009

Wow! I live in South America and miss fried chicken (my favorite food). This was the first time I made it and it turned out so good. It was just spicy enough. My South American boyfriend loved it too and he doesn't like anything too spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StaciaE02 September 26, 2009
Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)