Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    281 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 281

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2011

      Wowza! This was the best fried chicken I've ever made or eaten. The family loved it. Not at all spicy, just perfectly seasoned. Just the right amount of ingredients for 8 thighs and 10 drumsticks. Used a deep fryer at 375 degrees, cooked drumsticks 13 minutes and thighs 18 minutes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Made this tonight and the skin came out soooo crunchy! I did it just as written except I put 1 1/2 tsp of garlic. We love garlic so I didn't figure it would hurt! :) My hubby fried them in the deep fryer outside, and I battered them before he had time to heat up the oil so we double breaded it...lol...it came out so good. I just wish the meat had a little bit more flavor. Other than that it was awesome! Thanks for sharing it! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      I tried this recipe and it was an instant hit! I always get asked to make it for dinner by my family - they just love it! I've even successfully frozen the cooked chicken to use at a later date. I have found that the best hot sauce to use (for me anyway) is Cholula when I can find it! Excellent stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      DH loves fried chicken! I break down once a year and make it for him. This was the selected recipe for this year. He just raved about it. Very easy to prepare and it was tasty. Made as posted with the exception of cutting the recipe in half. And using shortening because I didn't have peanut oil. Cooked in my electric fry pan. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      At last I have the time to reassess this recipe, as promised.I have upped the star rating to 5. This was hit with the family this time around. I followed the recipe as is, but, added a crumpled stock cube to the coating and the egg mix, this helped a lot as it added flavour as well as salt. I used West Indian Hot Pepper sauce in the egg mix, it made a hot mix that calmed down a bit with cooking.All in all a simple recipe to make and a pleasure to serve and eat. I hope that this will encourage others to try the recipe.
      Well I have to say that the chicken was tender and moist inside the crisp coating, thats why i have given it 3 stars !!!! The chicken lacked flavour !!!!! I will cook this again and re-evaluate, I hate to give just three stars. I double coated and dipped the chicken, used Harrisa hot sauce, next time I will try a few spices.

      Despite my low rating this dish will please many fried chicken lovers.

      UPDATE:- I have cooked this again and uprated the recipe.
      The addition of a good pinch of chilli powder and more salt improved things no end. My photo shows the chicken served with BELL PEPPER AND POTATO MASALA, salad and ITALIAN MAYO. This was delish, I will be cooking this again and again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      I love to cook but frying food is my biggest challenge. This recipe came out great!! My family loved it. I put about 3/4" of oil in my pan over medium heat and it came out crispy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      This was my first attempt at frying chicken. I have always been afraid to do it becuase I worried I wouldn't cook it long enough. I opted to play it safe and use boneless tenders. The tenders cooked up wonderfully and were picture perfect. Served it to the kiddos with Cream Gravy and corn on the cobb. Good meal enjoyed by all. Thanks so much for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      we loved this! Double dipped was perfect. Triple dipped too much. Used a deep fryer at 350 for 6-8 min depending on size of chicken tenderloin. Not spicy at all. Just delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      This was a very easy, flavorful recipe that my whole family enjoyed. I personally only used half the hot sauce because of my kids. I will probably use the full amount next time. It was not spicy at all like I thought it might be. I am saving this recipe, and it will continue being the one I use to make fried chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      This is excellent fried chicken. I followed the recipe but adjusted the preparation method. I first tossed the chicken into flour, then marinaded it in the sauce mixture for a few hours, mixed the seasoning and dredging mixture together and then tossed the chicken through it. I was concerned about the sauce mixture washing away the seasoning. Turned out great. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      I have made this a few times now. It is the only fried chicken recipe I use now. I make it as written but use a bit more of the seasoning mix. I also prepare the chicken early and refrigerate it for a couple hours. This keeps the breading on the chicken while you fry it. Also, I have one kid who doesn't like spicy so I mix 1 egg with about a TBSP water, leaving out the hot sauce for 2 pieces for him. He likes it.
      I Love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      I have made this recipe a few times and every time I make it my family just loves it. I prefer Popeye's fried chicken, but my family likes KFC but since I started making this recipe, "Good bye Popeye's and KFC". Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Brace yourself, maybe against a large piece of furniture. My picture speaks for itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Easy and tasty chicken. Used my little deep fryer on the patio so the house wouldn't smell... came out great !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      The only fried chicken I make now!!! Easy and delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Absolutely Fantastic! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      This is probably the best chicken I have ever made, very flavorful and crispy. I was worried about the hot sauce being too spicy but it added a really great flavor. This is now my go-to fried chicken recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      This is definitely a five-star recipe! I first had this recipe when my sister made it, as chicken nuggets. She cut up boneless, skinless chicken breasts into nugget shapes and proceeded with the rest of the directions. The tanginess goes great dipped in honey, blue cheese dressing, or ranch dressing. They are awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Fried Chicken (Look out KFC!) (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 797.0
     
    Calories from Fat 357
    44%
    Total Fat 39.7 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 356.1 mg
    118%
    Sodium 3012.2 mg
    125%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 55.3 g
    110%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites