Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2008

      Oh Jim~this is delicious. It's New Year's Day here on the farm, and we wanted.....well something to that was just fun to eat as a family and would bring us good cheer and good luck. Yesterday I had purchased a large amount of chicken drumsticks, and these were perfect. Fat and big and budding with tender meat, I had the uncontrollable urge to just make "fried" chicken. I didn't however have self rising flour, but added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder right in with the flour. Other then that, this guided us to comfort and soul reaching for this first day of the New Year. Unbelievably great! Thank you so much, Jim! Happy gardening in 2008! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      Excellent! I made this a little different, meaning I am on a low fat diet, so I boil my chicken first, then batter & fry it, turned out great, I will make it again for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      This was soooo good! My kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      Mmmmmm....fried chicken. I made this for my family and we devoured it. I did and some hot sauce to the buttermilk, but otherwise followed you instructions. I served this with mashed potates, corn and biscuits. Thank you so much for sharing with comforting recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Needs more seasoning. Overall it was alright.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      This was very enjoyable and similar to what I ate, while growing up. I did use boneless breasts, as it is what I had on hand, and the chicken was done in a little over 20 minutes. I used my cast iron skillet and enjoyed these with creamed potatoes, just like Mom's! Putting this in the keeper file! Thanks for sharing, JimB427!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      This was really good,As with all my chicken,I sprinkle a lil garlic powder on em :) Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      OMG I can't believe I forgot to rate this recipe I made this 2 weeks or so ago :( I am sorry. This fried chicken recipe was the BOMB!! Loved Loved it! I would give you 10 stars if I could. The the ease of it was extra bonus! I made 9 drumsticks and they were all gone in 1 feeding between 3 adults. This will be made often in my home. Thank you so much Jim :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      very good! i am from new orleans, so i needed flavor so i added alot of other seasonings such as paprika, garlic powder, italian seasonings, tony chacheres, and cayenne pepper. It turned it good and crunchy! I substituted buttermilk for milk and lemon juice since i didn't have any on hand. The milk became thick and rich so i am assuming it turned into buttermilk. i will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Super yum! Yesterday was our 12th wedding anniversary. We celebrated not with a romantic dinner for two, but by cooking some authentic southern food and sharing it with our kids. Oh how yummy it was!! This chicken was perfect! It is definitely going in my faves box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      This was just delicious and made a very comforting meal. The skin was nice and crispy and we couldn't ask for more. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      This is it! The recipe I've been looking for years! My son who loves fried chicken just couldn't get enough! Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      JimB427.....you have "DEFINED" Southern Fried Chicken. This is "true" Southern....not Kentucky, not Maryland, but true Southern....no added spices and such. This is "THE WAY" I have always eaten fried chicken, and prepared fried chicken! This simple recipe just cannot be beat! I will add that for those who like a bit more crust, you can prepare as stated, but add one step. Once the chicken is prepared for the frying, let it sit on bakers racks to dry a bit, and once again put it back into the flour to coat again...NOT BACK INTO THE BUTTERMILK....mind you. This is a true to the South fried chicken from the days when added spices and salts were a virtual unknown. It just cannot be beat! I have almost posted this same recipe before without even knowing it was already on 'Zaar. For fried chicken afficionados, just try it. You'll never go back to the "other" methods. And BTW, peanut oil is what what my granny always used, as well as my mother. Other oils will work, but just not as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      This is an excellent recipe for souther fried chicken. The buttermilk is the secret for moist tender chicken. Great recipe, JimB427 and so easy too. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      We had company for supper and everyone enjoyed this recipe. I put the chicken in a large bowl and added the buttermilk with salt and pepper and alittle Johnny's seasoning salt and a dash of Beau Monde seasoning and let it sit on counter for 30 minutes while I prepared the rest of the dinner. I fried the chicken in my cast iron pan for 35-40 minutes on med high heat and the last 15 minutes I laid a piece of foil over top of pan and let it steam alittle. It turned out delicious and had lots of crunch to it and moist inside. Thanks for sharing your moms recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      I found this recipe a little blan even though I added some spices to the flower. I will not be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      JimB..thank you so much for this recipe. It was great! It's the best fried chicken I've made in ages.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      This is another PAC recipe I made today. This was very good and crispy, however I did add some extra spices to the flour mixture for personal preference. Thanks for a really nice southern comfort Mother's Day meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      I`m not a fan of frying foods because of the mess and the extra fat. So I made little changes. I added 1 tablespoon old bay to the flour for a little kick! I fried the chicken browning on both sides. Then placed on a rack on a cookie sheet pan. Finished cooking in the oven. The fat drained away from the chicken. The chicken was moist inside and crisp out! Thanks to you for the great fried chicken and your Mom for passing it on to you. She did good by you! Happy 75th Birthday Jim!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      The chicken was wonderful. I didn't make it though, my mom did. I think that I could have easily made it though, because if mom can make it, surely I can. I'll put it this way, she don't fry chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.7
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    21%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 858.0 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites