23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh Jim~this is delicious. It's New Year's Day here on the farm, and we wanted.....well something to that was just fun to eat as a family and would bring us good cheer and good luck. Yesterday I had purchased a large amount of chicken drumsticks, and these were perfect. Fat and big and budding with tender meat, I had the uncontrollable urge to just make "fried" chicken. I didn't however have self rising flour, but added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder right in with the flour. Other then that, this guided us to comfort and soul reaching for this first day of the New Year. Unbelievably great! Thank you so much, Jim! Happy gardening in 2008! :D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm January 01, 2008

Excellent! I made this a little different, meaning I am on a low fat diet, so I boil my chicken first, then batter & fry it, turned out great, I will make it again for sure

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candio August 16, 2003

I`m not a fan of frying foods because of the mess and the extra fat. So I made little changes. I added 1 tablespoon old bay to the flour for a little kick! I fried the chicken browning on both sides. Then placed on a rack on a cookie sheet pan. Finished cooking in the oven. The fat drained away from the chicken. The chicken was moist inside and crisp out! Thanks to you for the great fried chicken and your Mom for passing it on to you. She did good by you! Happy 75th Birthday Jim!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ April 04, 2006

The whole family really enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bella_4624_19 October 07, 2014

This was soooo good! My kids loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hbecky11 May 28, 2013

Mmmmmm....fried chicken. I made this for my family and we devoured it. I did and some hot sauce to the buttermilk, but otherwise followed you instructions. I served this with mashed potates, corn and biscuits. Thank you so much for sharing with comforting recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 06, 2012

Needs more seasoning. Overall it was alright.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amaris mom September 05, 2011

This was very enjoyable and similar to what I ate, while growing up. I did use boneless breasts, as it is what I had on hand, and the chicken was done in a little over 20 minutes. I used my cast iron skillet and enjoyed these with creamed potatoes, just like Mom's! Putting this in the keeper file! Thanks for sharing, JimB427!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl July 27, 2011

This was really good,As with all my chicken,I sprinkle a lil garlic powder on em :) Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DarksLight July 01, 2009

OMG I can't believe I forgot to rate this recipe I made this 2 weeks or so ago :( I am sorry. This fried chicken recipe was the BOMB!! Loved Loved it! I would give you 10 stars if I could. The the ease of it was extra bonus! I made 9 drumsticks and they were all gone in 1 feeding between 3 adults. This will be made often in my home. Thank you so much Jim :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 May 12, 2009
Southern Fried Chicken