Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Cornbread Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Cornbread Dressing

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2003

      I thought this was absolutely wonderful. I did make one change, I added some chicken to this recipe. I made my own chicken broth. First I boil the chicken, , kept the broth from the chicken. Then I remove the chicken and added it to my dressing. I am just a country girl from alabama and we love meat. It was excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This is basically like my grandmothers. Since my grandmother would die if I posted her entire recipe, I thought I'd rate this one. Instead of white bread, my grandmother uses homemade biscuits. She also uses closer to a dozen eggs for her dressing. (her skillet is about 3 inches larger and we make ours as a cross between a custard and a dressing). But otherwise the recipe is exactly the same. We like this. If you want sage in your dressing, you make a northern recipe. I am from the South, I don't know anyone that uses sage in their dressing. Although it's easily added if you so choose

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

    • on December 19, 2007

      This sounds great, but true Southern Cornbread dressing has to have sage in it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      This is very good and much like my Grandmother's. She had a varation on it though, use at least of cup of cooked diced chicken in it and the broth and don't forget the sage to taste. Also, (instead of chicken)try small fresh oysters and the juice (in addition to some chicken broth, in accordance) and you have two great dressing casseroles! Use salt sparingly, pepper generously. Cook until golden and firm. I don't use bread just a fresh cooked pone of cornbread. Enjoy! Chef MichaelY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      This was super fantastic! I just made this for the first time for a Major in the US Airforce originally from the South. I added sage sausage though with additional sage seasoning. It was a big hit and yummy! Thanks, I will make only this dressing from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      This is really, really good! For years, I've been trying to duplicate my Grandma's recipe for dressing.. she died when I was 7 or 8, but I can still remember the taste, smell, and texture.. this comes very close.(I'm so happy:).. I omitted the green onions, and added sage and thyme... absolutely delish!! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      This is the best dressing ever! I've had this every year since I can remember with Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. My family's version is only slightly different: I add some poultry seasoning to taste, prefer wheat to white bread, and I add some hard-boiled egg instead of the beaten egg. Also, something Southerners take for granted: use unsweetened cornbread! (And don't be afraid to make it a little on the soupy side--it firms right up in the oven.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      Easy to make and yummy! I added 1 store-bought Italian sausage, browned and crumbled and halved the recipe, cause there were only 4 of us for Thanksgiving. Since no exact amount of Chicken broth is indicated in the recipe, I thought it might help others to know that I used 1 can of Chicken broth for half the recipe. Also it took about 40 mins at 350 for top to reach golden brown. - Thanks JANIC412!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      This was easy to make but I didn't find that had much of a taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2001

      True "Southern Cornbread Dressing" has sage added to your taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Cornbread Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (620 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 564.3
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    16%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 211.5 mg
    70%
    Sodium 1205.2 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.5 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 15.8 g
    63%
    Protein 21.2 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cornbread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites