Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2008

      I'm sure this is awesome cornbread,The reason I'm not reviewing it is I "assumed" by using self-rising cornmeal,I didnt need the baking powder or baking soda,I was wrong.Next time I will use the soda & powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      The BEST cornbread I've ever had in my life! I actually used regular yellow cornmeal and thought it was just fine. Thank you, Patty Mae, for the new family favorite at my house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      This was really good. I am always looking for a cornbread recipe without flour. I followed the recipe, (with the exception of the butter), and it was VERY thin. So much so that I added a half cup more cornmeal. I am not sure I needed to, or if it would have turned out fine, I just panicked! Even without the butter, it turned out VERY moist and very tasty! Oh, I also subbed Splenda for the sugar! I will definately make this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Very good cornbread! Not too sweet and very moist, yet crisp on the outside. Served it with pattikay in LA's Cincinnati Chili. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      WOW! This is AWESOME! I used 1 heaping T of refined coconut oil to grease the pan, but after that I followed the recipe to the letter. My husband (who is a former Northerner and had reservations about trying Southern cornbread) raved about it! It was moist and cohesive, fell right out of the pan easily like it said, and had a crispy golden brown crust. It was not gritty at all even without any flour, and had a savory corn flavor without being sweet. My husband described it as "satisfyingly craggy..." the perfect texture to soak up a little extra butter once plated. The moral of the story is: don't try to "fix" this recipe; it is perfect the way it is. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      I wanted a southern cornbread recipe because I had never made it and because I needed some to make a good southern stuffing. This made a perfect cornbread for stuffing, and when I tasted it I realized it was good enough to eat plain too (I grew up with sweet cornbread, so for me this is a departure). It is moist, savory and tastes a lot like corn. It is perfect to eat with butter, or with a ladle of chili poured over it. It is a very high quality, easy cornbread recipe. Thank you for helping me expand my culinary pallet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This was fantastic! It had just the right texture. Will be making this a lot I'm sure. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

    • on July 13, 2008

      This is the best recipe for cornbread. My fiance found it one night when he had a huge craving for cornbread and spighetti. This made the whole house smell good. Also anything made in a cast iron skillet is also great. This is a wonderful keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.9
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    38%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 97.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 456.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites