9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm sure this is awesome cornbread,The reason I'm not reviewing it is I "assumed" by using self-rising cornmeal,I didnt need the baking powder or baking soda,I was wrong.Next time I will use the soda & powder.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DarksLight October 28, 2008

The BEST cornbread I've ever had in my life! I actually used regular yellow cornmeal and thought it was just fine. Thank you, Patty Mae, for the new family favorite at my house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Rosie* December 20, 2008

This was really good. I am always looking for a cornbread recipe without flour. I followed the recipe, (with the exception of the butter), and it was VERY thin. So much so that I added a half cup more cornmeal. I am not sure I needed to, or if it would have turned out fine, I just panicked! Even without the butter, it turned out VERY moist and very tasty! Oh, I also subbed Splenda for the sugar! I will definately make this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norwegianwife April 14, 2007

Very good cornbread! Not too sweet and very moist, yet crisp on the outside. Served it with pattikay in LA's Cincinnati Chili. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD January 01, 2007

WOW! This is AWESOME! I used 1 heaping T of refined coconut oil to grease the pan, but after that I followed the recipe to the letter. My husband (who is a former Northerner and had reservations about trying Southern cornbread) raved about it! It was moist and cohesive, fell right out of the pan easily like it said, and had a crispy golden brown crust. It was not gritty at all even without any flour, and had a savory corn flavor without being sweet. My husband described it as "satisfyingly craggy..." the perfect texture to soak up a little extra butter once plated. The moral of the story is: don't try to "fix" this recipe; it is perfect the way it is. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyllaursen February 20, 2014

I wanted a southern cornbread recipe because I had never made it and because I needed some to make a good southern stuffing. This made a perfect cornbread for stuffing, and when I tasted it I realized it was good enough to eat plain too (I grew up with sweet cornbread, so for me this is a departure). It is moist, savory and tastes a lot like corn. It is perfect to eat with butter, or with a ladle of chili poured over it. It is a very high quality, easy cornbread recipe. Thank you for helping me expand my culinary pallet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinks599 December 24, 2010

This was fantastic! It had just the right texture. Will be making this a lot I'm sure. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn September 10, 2009

This is the best recipe for cornbread. My fiance found it one night when he had a huge craving for cornbread and spighetti. This made the whole house smell good. Also anything made in a cast iron skillet is also great. This is a wonderful keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Speaktok July 13, 2008
Southern Cornbread