Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2002

      this was yummy, I added a can of corn and can of peas to mine to make it more of a chicken dumpling soup and it was yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2001

      This is just how Momma made them back home in the Eastern TN mountains!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      This is the real thing! Thanks for bringing back memories. I've looked quite a while for a chicken 'n' dumplings recipe that doesn't use a can of cream soup. I'm not sure if it is a myth or not, but according to my grandma you should never open the lid of the pot until the dumplings are done because or the won't be fluffy. I think this is because the steam cooks them (if it is true at all...) You never know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I only needed a recipe for the dumplings. So far, these are better than all the others I have tried ... and I've tried a lot. I liked that they were light and fluffy, not chewy, even though they were rolled out. Took about 15 minutes in simmering broth for them to be cooked to our tastes. When I make them again, I will add a pinch more salt and some poultry seasoning, just because that's the way I like them! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      Excellent! My picky son requests this all the time - enough said!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I made this recipe step by step per the recipe and it was awesome. The ONLY thing I did different, was I took the lid off to slow cook it at the end. This helped release a lot of moisture and thicken up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This was okay but I'll stick to my mom's recipe. Don't boil a whole chicken....rub the chicken down with butter and s & p and Roast it for sunday dinner and eat the breast. throw the rest of the chicken into a large stock pot and fill it up with water- simmer it for a few hours and the dark meat will get even more tender. Cool the stock for a bit and put it in the fridge. The next morning skim the top to remove the fat (the stock will look like jelly) and then follow the rest of the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      i am only commenting on the dumplings, bc that is the only thing i used from the recipe. Next time i'll use butter flavor crisco. It was really good though. I added onions, garlic, celery, carrots, corn and peas to mine. I used boneless chicken breast cut it up and saute it with the onions and garlic, then added the veggies and water. Just wanted to add veggies to it. thanks for the recipe, its a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      This was very good. Had an idea to bake a dumpling. Made and amazing biscuit!!!! So thank you for a versitle dumpling recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      Can you give 6 stars??? This recipe was by far the best dumplings I've eaten. My wife is crazy for cracker barrel dumplings and we'll never go back. I did sub buttermilk for regular milk and added peas into a sauce from this recipe...http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chicken-pot-pie-ix/detail.aspx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      Because I was pressed for time, I used cut-up boneless, skinless chicken thighs. After boiling the meat long enough to create a broth, I removed 1/2 cup and set aside. I added carrots, peas, onions, and garlic. While the veggies cooked, I made the dumplings and substituted the broth for the milk. They turned out wonderful! It was a great Sunday dinner. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      Very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      This recipe is really good. The dumplings are easy to make & have great flavor. I like to saute sliced chicken breasts. Then slice & saute carrots, celery & green onions. The flavor is very rich & filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I always alter recipes to suit my family but this is a great recipe for the basics of chicken n dumplings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      I made a vegetarian version of this that was excellent. I added a bag of the Quorn chicken tenders the last 10 minutes with the milk. For the base I used vegetable broth with carrots, peas, celery, and onion. The dumplings were amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I had made some broth from a left over roasted chicken. I was looking for a recipe that included lots of chicken broth. I heated it up and added the dumplings. At first, they bubbled and puffed up....thought I had made a mistake. Cooked them a little longer and they were perfect! The hubby ate 4 bowls! Added extra pepper and garlic because everything needs pepper and garlic! Thanks, Tonk, for helping us make comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      I only needed a dumpling recipe, as I was out of Mary B's frozen ones, and wow! Never again will I use frozen, these were delicious, and reminded me of my great grandma's dumplings (which is a huge compliment!) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      The chicken and dumplings that I have ever had. My DH loves the dumplings. KEEPER!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      I made these last night. I was looking for a recipe like my husband's grandmother made and this was it. My Granny made puffy dumplings, so I was skeptical about rolled out ones. I loved them! Super flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      My husband wanted chicken and dumplings one day and I had never tasted them , let alone made them before. This recipe is so awesome!!! It's easy, delicious and sometimes I make just the dumplings with leftover shredded chicken. It's the perfect feel good meal. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 784.7
     
    Calories from Fat 450
    57%
    Total Fat 50.1 g
    77%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 202.0 mg
    67%
    Sodium 1223.4 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 45.5 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes