51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this was yummy, I added a can of corn and can of peas to mine to make it more of a chicken dumpling soup and it was yummy

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matthew strait February 06, 2002

This is just how Momma made them back home in the Eastern TN mountains!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaine1 October 09, 2001

This is the real thing! Thanks for bringing back memories. I've looked quite a while for a chicken 'n' dumplings recipe that doesn't use a can of cream soup. I'm not sure if it is a myth or not, but according to my grandma you should never open the lid of the pot until the dumplings are done because or the won't be fluffy. I think this is because the steam cooks them (if it is true at all...) You never know!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daphne2002 January 20, 2003

I only needed a recipe for the dumplings. So far, these are better than all the others I have tried ... and I've tried a lot. I liked that they were light and fluffy, not chewy, even though they were rolled out. Took about 15 minutes in simmering broth for them to be cooked to our tastes. When I make them again, I will add a pinch more salt and some poultry seasoning, just because that's the way I like them! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel'sWife October 30, 2010

Excellent! My picky son requests this all the time - enough said!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueloo February 08, 2012

I made this recipe step by step per the recipe and it was awesome. The ONLY thing I did different, was I took the lid off to slow cook it at the end. This helped release a lot of moisture and thicken up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkearn01 December 26, 2010

This was okay but I'll stick to my mom's recipe. Don't boil a whole chicken....rub the chicken down with butter and s & p and Roast it for sunday dinner and eat the breast. throw the rest of the chicken into a large stock pot and fill it up with water- simmer it for a few hours and the dark meat will get even more tender. Cool the stock for a bit and put it in the fridge. The next morning skim the top to remove the fat (the stock will look like jelly) and then follow the rest of the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah*Belle January 13, 2010

i am only commenting on the dumplings, bc that is the only thing i used from the recipe. Next time i'll use butter flavor crisco. It was really good though. I added onions, garlic, celery, carrots, corn and peas to mine. I used boneless chicken breast cut it up and saute it with the onions and garlic, then added the veggies and water. Just wanted to add veggies to it. thanks for the recipe, its a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mitziebella_fly October 22, 2007

If you decide not to make the chicken soup part. Use the dumpling recipe for sure,outstanding! Tender, light fluffy. I did see reviews about adding some onion,celery, carrots it does add flavor. The dumplings do swell when cooked so glad I made my squares a little smaller. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty C. April 22, 2015

This was very good. Had an idea to bake a dumpling. Made and amazing biscuit!!!! So thank you for a versitle dumpling recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal B. November 12, 2013
Southern Chicken and Dumplings