61 Reviews

Love the chicken broth! I've always used water like my mom did, but never again. Skipped the celery because I didn't have any, used spiral sliced ham instead of bacon, and a one pound bag of dried peas not pre-soaked. Cooked covered for 4 hours - perfect!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy C January 03, 2009

Beans were delicious! I'm from the South as well. It's silly for anyone to claim certain ingredients disqualify something from being Southern cuisine. Just 'cause your mama and granny cooked something one way, doesn't mean someone else's didn't cook it another. Also, we do have celery and garlic in the South just like everywhere else. I thought they both made for nice additions.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PluckyInKY September 30, 2013

Exactly what I was looking for. Notes to self...soaked beans overnight, one hour cooking time. Use plenty of onions and garlic. I chopped up one smoked sausage as I didn't have bacon. Tossed in a dried red pepper and herbes de provence. Used a beef bouillon cube, don't think beef or chicken would matter. Season at end.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha September 01, 2013

Slow cooker or Cast Iron Roaster is the best way to get all those flavors to come together perfectly. I am not a big fan of black eye peas but this is the best recipe to use, my husband loves them. We do not eat pork so I use smoke turkey as a substitute. I also add 2 Tbsp of sugar, help bring out the natural sweetness in everything cooking. I also prefer chicken bullion cubes with dissolved in hot water over canned chicken stock, if I don't make my own stock. Thats just me, I sure it will be fine either way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yoli B-P June 21, 2014

Excellent! I used dried beans that I'd pre-soaked and I simmered them for 2.5 hours. (I like my BEP's consistency a bit more done and mushy... everyone's mileage varies.) I loved the chicken broth in place of water and I also chopped up a half cup of pickled jalapenos and tossed those in the pot for some added heat and flavor. Very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhondapalooza January 02, 2012

5 stars because I live in West Africa and they know how to cook beans. I fixed these the other day and my worker said "you really know how to cook beans." That's a pretty high compliment. I really don't like beans but sometimes, when I talk myself into it, I can handle Black-Eyed or black beans. I agree they are best when they are cooked in a broth. I will definitely repeat this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
manderson December 09, 2010

This is great! I've made this recipe several times now. I added a little thyme and a lot more garlic. Some reviewers say it isn't traditional Southern, and it might not be, but who cares?! I'm from the South and what matters is taste; this recipe takes black eyed peas (a very healthy food) to another level. And a little grated extra sharp cheddar on top is a special treat. By the way, it freezes and microwaves well, too. Fill freezer container up to the top with drained beans to minimize air space.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moosehead June 29, 2010

I have never liked "peas" growing up. No matter who made them, they all tasted the same to me. But since having transplanted to the South and DH having grown up here, I knew I had to find a way to get over it. LOL. Searching, I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. Not like this one needs another five, but here they are. Followed exactly as written, only thing different was that my peas were dried. Everything else was the same. DH..RAVED about them, saying they were by far, one of the best pot of peas he's had in his 41 years. Even the two year old terror LOVED them. And for myself, TxBlue...you've made me a convert! ;) Thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I am his Jenni December 03, 2009

I am a born and bred Louisiana Cajun girl and this is hands-down the BEST black-eyed pea recipe I have ever tried. Even my skeptical husband (who normally will only eat red beans and rice) RAVED about this dish! I believe the secret is in using the chicken broth. The only thing different I did was used a pound of dried beans (quick soak method where you boil the peas in water covering them by 2 inches for a minute and let them soak for an hour- discard the excess water and proceed with the recipe as is), added a green bell pepper, used Tony Chachere's creole seasoning instead of salt & pepper, added several dashes of Tobasco and in place of the bacon, I substituted a cup of fatty ham that I cut off a spiral ham before cooking (braised it like the bacon but shredded the meat and discarded the fat after the peas cooked down.) Mmm-mm! Ca c'est bon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZCajungirl June 13, 2008

I am born and raised in the South. Please do NOT add the garlic for an authentic Southern Black-eyed Pea recipe! The celery is also questionable. I have NEVER seen this added once in my 34 years of being a G.R.I.T.S.!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
G.R.I.T.S. Girl Raised in the South March 03, 2008
Southern Black-Eyed Peas