Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Black-Eyed Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Black-Eyed Peas

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2009

      Love the chicken broth! I've always used water like my mom did, but never again. Skipped the celery because I didn't have any, used spiral sliced ham instead of bacon, and a one pound bag of dried peas not pre-soaked. Cooked covered for 4 hours - perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      Beans were delicious! I'm from the South as well. It's silly for anyone to claim certain ingredients disqualify something from being Southern cuisine. Just 'cause your mama and granny cooked something one way, doesn't mean someone else's didn't cook it another. Also, we do have celery and garlic in the South just like everywhere else. I thought they both made for nice additions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      Exactly what I was looking for. Notes to self...soaked beans overnight, one hour cooking time. Use plenty of onions and garlic. I chopped up one smoked sausage as I didn't have bacon. Tossed in a dried red pepper and herbes de provence. Used a beef bouillon cube, don't think beef or chicken would matter. Season at end.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      Slow cooker or Cast Iron Roaster is the best way to get all those flavors to come together perfectly. I am not a big fan of black eye peas but this is the best recipe to use, my husband loves them. We do not eat pork so I use smoke turkey as a substitute. I also add 2 Tbsp of sugar, help bring out the natural sweetness in everything cooking. I also prefer chicken bullion cubes with dissolved in hot water over canned chicken stock, if I don't make my own stock. Thats just me, I sure it will be fine either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      Wow! I had actually never had black eyed peas before. I loved them! Next time I will cut out the added salt. I didn't think it was necessary. Truth be told, I added a dash of cayenne pepper to the pot. I'm not from the South, so I apologize if that's sacrilegious! It sure was tasty, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      This was my first time making black eyed peas since my mom moved away. She doesn't have a recipe really so I came looking. I made these and they were delicious! I added a little sugar and cayenne, since that's what she does and they were perfect! My daughter doesn't like black eyed peas and she ate half the pot! I will definitely make these again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      Really great basic recipe. These were cheap, tasty, easy and fast to make. I added bay leaves and cayanne and used salt pork instead of bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      These were delicious! I added 2 chopped jalapenos for a kick... loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      We loved these peas! I added a fresh jalapeno when sauteeing the veggies, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

    • on January 02, 2012

      Excellent! I used dried beans that I'd pre-soaked and I simmered them for 2.5 hours. (I like my BEP's consistency a bit more done and mushy... everyone's mileage varies.) I loved the chicken broth in place of water and I also chopped up a half cup of pickled jalapenos and tossed those in the pot for some added heat and flavor. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Turned out perfect. Used salt pork instead of bacon, but did everything else the same. Dee-Lish! Thanks for your submission.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Really good!! I used Applewood Smoked Bacon and canned peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      I am don't eat pork so we skipped the bacon just made with other ingredients listed minus the salt, it didn't need any extra. I used less broth since I used canned beans. They turned out perfectly and my whole family enjoyed them for dinner. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      This was the first recipe I ever used to make black eyed peas, and I really, really like it. Since I don't usually have bacon, I always use ham instead. My only complaint is that, if you use water and chicken bouillon for the broth, it can get a bit salty. (Maybe the ham is partly to blame.) So, I have been experimenting with replacing some of the broth with water. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      So delicious! Five stars for sure. I added a little cayenne and also some smoked ham. Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      5 stars because I live in West Africa and they know how to cook beans. I fixed these the other day and my worker said "you really know how to cook beans." That's a pretty high compliment. I really don't like beans but sometimes, when I talk myself into it, I can handle Black-Eyed or black beans. I agree they are best when they are cooked in a broth. I will definitely repeat this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This is great! I've made this recipe several times now. I added a little thyme and a lot more garlic. Some reviewers say it isn't traditional Southern, and it might not be, but who cares?! I'm from the South and what matters is taste; this recipe takes black eyed peas (a very healthy food) to another level. And a little grated extra sharp cheddar on top is a special treat. By the way, it freezes and microwaves well, too. Fill freezer container up to the top with drained beans to minimize air space.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      We aren't big black eyed pea fans but we made these for New Years for luck. They disappeared quickly and have gone in to a regular rotation! Simple recipe - great results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Black-Eyed Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (390 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.0
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    18%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 3.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 997.9 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 15.5 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites