44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoy the sauce, so we double the sauce recipe, especially of we are serving the dish over rice.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn April 07, 2002

I'm a bit afraid to add a review, because I just realized I forgot to add the brown sugar . But the meat had a good flavor just the same, and was quite tender. The sauce cooked out a bit much for me, so next time I will use a smaller pan (10" vs. 12" that I used this time) with a better lid. I also plan to add the brown sugar, LOL. Major bonus points for calling for ingredients that I always have on hand.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch September 23, 2002

Great flavours, I used cross cut blade steak and simmered for 1 hour, will have this again.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* April 20, 2002

Fabulous dish! I agree with using the smaller saute pan, rather than the larger one. I used an 8" pan and although the meat was a little crowded, I think the sauce covered it better than if it had been in a larger pan. Great flavor. I recommend this dish.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon September 28, 2002

i used this for beef tips and although i made it for others (4 pounds!) and did not get to eat any myself :( this got RAVE reviews! the only thing i did different was use regular yellow mustard instead of prepared mustard (1/2 Tablespoon per pound of meat). very easy and a wonderful dish to make ahead and reheat.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brave Noodle (njg) June 05, 2003

Oh boy, these beef tips are incredible. I loved the sauce and wish I had doubled it. The beef was nice and tender and I served over noodles. Very tangy-sweet which is how we like our BBQ sauce. Thanks Dawn.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' December 23, 2003

I doubled the sauce also, everything but the meat and the onion. Next time I think I'll double the meat too. It was an excellent dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pegger1 January 30, 2003

We loved this, so tasty and the meat was so tender. I, as usual, cleaned out the freezer and had a ribeye steak, 2 sirloins and 2 chuck eyes. diced them up and used it all and doubled the sauce. Served with mashed potatoes, corn and applesauce. My 12 yo daughter and 13 yo son both went back for more twice!. This will be a staple with me for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE October 02, 2002

I have made beef tips/rice before, but this recipe's sauce made the meal! I used Heinz "Kick" catsup with tabasco sauce for extra zing. It was really easy to prepare and served with a simple tomato salad, corn and biscuits made a hearty dinner. My husband's review --"When can we have this again?" Thanks for saving dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosi Wilkins September 24, 2002

This is a tasty recipe, good especially when you want barbeque and the weather is too bad to cook outside. Very good with cole slaw!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara's Cafe June 11, 2014
Southern Barbecued Beef Tips