Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southern Barbecued Beef Tips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Barbecued Beef Tips

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2002

      We enjoy the sauce, so we double the sauce recipe, especially of we are serving the dish over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      I'm a bit afraid to add a review, because I just realized I forgot to add the brown sugar . But the meat had a good flavor just the same, and was quite tender. The sauce cooked out a bit much for me, so next time I will use a smaller pan (10" vs. 12" that I used this time) with a better lid. I also plan to add the brown sugar, LOL. Major bonus points for calling for ingredients that I always have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2002

      Great flavours, I used cross cut blade steak and simmered for 1 hour, will have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2002

      Fabulous dish! I agree with using the smaller saute pan, rather than the larger one. I used an 8" pan and although the meat was a little crowded, I think the sauce covered it better than if it had been in a larger pan. Great flavor. I recommend this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      i used this for beef tips and although i made it for others (4 pounds!) and did not get to eat any myself :( this got RAVE reviews! the only thing i did different was use regular yellow mustard instead of prepared mustard (1/2 Tablespoon per pound of meat). very easy and a wonderful dish to make ahead and reheat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      Oh boy, these beef tips are incredible. I loved the sauce and wish I had doubled it. The beef was nice and tender and I served over noodles. Very tangy-sweet which is how we like our BBQ sauce. Thanks Dawn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2003

      I doubled the sauce also, everything but the meat and the onion. Next time I think I'll double the meat too. It was an excellent dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      We loved this, so tasty and the meat was so tender. I, as usual, cleaned out the freezer and had a ribeye steak, 2 sirloins and 2 chuck eyes. diced them up and used it all and doubled the sauce. Served with mashed potatoes, corn and applesauce. My 12 yo daughter and 13 yo son both went back for more twice!. This will be a staple with me for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      I have made beef tips/rice before, but this recipe's sauce made the meal! I used Heinz "Kick" catsup with tabasco sauce for extra zing. It was really easy to prepare and served with a simple tomato salad, corn and biscuits made a hearty dinner. My husband's review --"When can we have this again?" Thanks for saving dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      This is a tasty recipe, good especially when you want barbeque and the weather is too bad to cook outside. Very good with cole slaw!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      Dinner tonight was awesome! We looove barbeque anything. This was easy to throw together and let simmer on the stovetop. I also doubled the sauce ingredients (except for the salt and pepper) and served it over egg noodles. We will enjoy this often! Thanks Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      We always have a freezer full of beef, so I am always on the lookout for new beef recipes. I doubled the sauce and my husband liked this, so I will make it again. Thanks, Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Love, love, love this! I absolutely loved the sauce, which I doubled as many recommended. It was sweet, tangy and spicy! I am not overly crazy about sirloin steak, but this came out beautifully tender and succulent. I wasnt sure if "prepared mustard" meant dijon mustard of the regular yellow kind. Since my dijon was at the bottom of the jar, I opted to use the regular yellow. I'll make this one again and again! Y'all should give this one a try if you're looking for a down-home comfort dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      this was great I liked making my own BBQ sauce, like others said I may double next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Awesome recipe!! Husband made it for dinner tonight and WOW!! We especially loved the homemade barbecue sauce, and plan on using it on several other recipes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I used beef stew meat and it was tender and tasty. It smelled wonderful cooking. The sauce was great. Will add this to family favs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      These were actually pretty good! I admit, I was a little bit skeptical, even after reading the good reviews, but the meat turned out nice and tender and the sauce had good flavor. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      For sure the sauce recipe needs to be at least doubled. The sauce was excellent, had a wonderful flavor. However, not the right taste for beef tips. I think the sauce recipe is going in my book but for sloppy joes instead of beef tips. This would make an excellent sloppy joe sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      These beef tips were DELICIOUS! I really wasn't sure if i'd even like them but I really did! The only thing I did differently was to add a bit more sugar as I like my sauce on the sweeter side. I used a really cheap cut of meat and I was surprised that it turned out so tender. I served these with buttered egg noodles. I'll definitely be making these again! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I enjoyed this. I used regular yellow mustard b/c it's what I had and It was very tangy, maybe a little to ketchup-y for me (the mustard could have something to do with this too). I served it with broccoli and pineapple chunks and found that all those flavors mixed really well with the beef tips (sauce doubled) and white rice. Next time I'll mix in the broccoli and pineapple just before serving. This also helped cut down some of the tangy-ness. Thanks for a great recipe. Will definitely add to the keep pile :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Barbecued Beef Tips

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.5
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    28%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 75.6 mg
    25%
    Sodium 801.1 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 15.1 g
    60%
    Protein 26.1 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites