22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is without a doubt one of the best new things i've made in a long time! i've eaten enough pulled pork but never even thought of making it until i saw your recipe. i had the butcher cut it for me since it wasn't on the shelf, and got 5 lbs. made the rub in the morning, massaged it in, took a shower, put it in the 300 oven with 3/4c water- i was nervouse in case it boiled down. went to work, came home, lowered the heat to 200, made the sauce. to die for-

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia March 26, 2003

Simply fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen December 17, 2012

Great rub for pulled pork! We made the bbq sauce suggested and cooked the roast in the crock pot. It gave the meat a nice flavor, but it was too vinegary for us to eat on its own. We made crusty hoagie rolls (Pammy's Hoagies) from scratch and dipped them in the extra sauce. Fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover August 05, 2012

Used about 2 lbs of pork roasted for 3 hours. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
metrozazie March 05, 2012

Yum! To the halved recipe, I added 1 tsp of garlic powder and about a half tsp of dry mustard. I knew I had a sweet barbecue sauce, so I left out the white sugar in the rub, and poured about 1/3 cup of apple cider vinegar in the dutch oven before cooking the pork at 275 for 3 hours. I then added a little over 1/2 cup Sweet Baby Ray's sauce to the shredded meat, a good splash of apple cider vinegar, and a tbsp water. So good! Thanks for the easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oelkesm March 20, 2010

Absolutely fabulous! I work all day so I seared the pork roast off in the morning and threw it the crock pot. It was so nice to come home and have a delicious meal waiting for me. I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lunalady01 December 06, 2009

Can I give this 10 stars rather than 5? I've been using this recipe for eons but have never left a review. I would recommend this to anyone that loves pulled pork. I do like to add dry mustard and garlic powder to the rub. I serve it with the bbq sauce Leta suggests, very tangy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madriley61 November 09, 2009

We have been using this recipe for months now, and it's the only one we will ever use! My husband usually prepares the meat the night before, and I cook it during the day. We did replace the Mexican Chili Powder with Paprika, but that's the only modification. EXCELLENT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelli harris July 06, 2009

Fantastic pulled pork! The spices give it a nice bit of heat, but not too much. Could easily be toned down by substituting paprika, as some others have suggested. I used a 2 lb shoulder, split the rub in half, and baked at 275 for 4 hours. The pan I used had a poorly-fitting lid, so I used 1/2 cup water in the bottom and flipped the shoulder twice to keep it moist. I don't know whether flipping it really made any difference, but it sure was moist! There was so much liquid remaining at the end of 4 hours that I considered pouring some off before pulling the pork. Luckily I didn't and it made the most delicious, moist meat ever! It could have been pulled fairly easily after 3 hours, but after 4 it just fell apart and was perfect. If you have the time, leave it in the extra hour and keep the liquid, you won't be disappointed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef mshannon June 25, 2009

Excellent! I used a 1 3/4lb boston butt and roasted it for 3 hours at 275*. The pork was moist and succulent with just enough kick. Since DH doesn't like BBQ sauce, he had a pork sandwich with mayo. I thinned out some Blue Mountain Barbecue Sauce to make my pulled pork sandwiches. This recipe also makes for great leftovers. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely October 08, 2008
Southeastern North Carolina Pulled Pork