Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Southeastern North Carolina Pulled Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southeastern North Carolina Pulled Pork

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2003

      this is without a doubt one of the best new things i've made in a long time! i've eaten enough pulled pork but never even thought of making it until i saw your recipe. i had the butcher cut it for me since it wasn't on the shelf, and got 5 lbs. made the rub in the morning, massaged it in, took a shower, put it in the 300 oven with 3/4c water- i was nervouse in case it boiled down. went to work, came home, lowered the heat to 200, made the sauce. to die for-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      Simply fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Great rub for pulled pork! We made the bbq sauce suggested and cooked the roast in the crock pot. It gave the meat a nice flavor, but it was too vinegary for us to eat on its own. We made crusty hoagie rolls (Pammy's Hoagies) from scratch and dipped them in the extra sauce. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      Used about 2 lbs of pork roasted for 3 hours. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Yum! To the halved recipe, I added 1 tsp of garlic powder and about a half tsp of dry mustard. I knew I had a sweet barbecue sauce, so I left out the white sugar in the rub, and poured about 1/3 cup of apple cider vinegar in the dutch oven before cooking the pork at 275 for 3 hours. I then added a little over 1/2 cup Sweet Baby Ray's sauce to the shredded meat, a good splash of apple cider vinegar, and a tbsp water. So good! Thanks for the easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Absolutely fabulous! I work all day so I seared the pork roast off in the morning and threw it the crock pot. It was so nice to come home and have a delicious meal waiting for me. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Can I give this 10 stars rather than 5? I've been using this recipe for eons but have never left a review. I would recommend this to anyone that loves pulled pork. I do like to add dry mustard and garlic powder to the rub. I serve it with the bbq sauce Leta suggests, very tangy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      We have been using this recipe for months now, and it's the only one we will ever use! My husband usually prepares the meat the night before, and I cook it during the day. We did replace the Mexican Chili Powder with Paprika, but that's the only modification. EXCELLENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Fantastic pulled pork! The spices give it a nice bit of heat, but not too much. Could easily be toned down by substituting paprika, as some others have suggested. I used a 2 lb shoulder, split the rub in half, and baked at 275 for 4 hours. The pan I used had a poorly-fitting lid, so I used 1/2 cup water in the bottom and flipped the shoulder twice to keep it moist. I don't know whether flipping it really made any difference, but it sure was moist! There was so much liquid remaining at the end of 4 hours that I considered pouring some off before pulling the pork. Luckily I didn't and it made the most delicious, moist meat ever! It could have been pulled fairly easily after 3 hours, but after 4 it just fell apart and was perfect. If you have the time, leave it in the extra hour and keep the liquid, you won't be disappointed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Excellent! I used a 1 3/4lb boston butt and roasted it for 3 hours at 275*. The pork was moist and succulent with just enough kick. Since DH doesn't like BBQ sauce, he had a pork sandwich with mayo. I thinned out some Blue Mountain Barbecue Sauce to make my pulled pork sandwiches. This recipe also makes for great leftovers. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      I had two pork butts and a lot of company coming, half of which were children so I made this rub along with Mean Chef's pulled pork rub for the adults. I wanted this one to be 'mild,' so I omitted the cayenne and new mexico chile powder, and used sweet paprika instead. The flavor of this pork was awesome! I tossed the pork in some Sweet Baby Ray's sauce and served it on buns for the kids, and they loved it! I definitely think the flavor of this rub is in the same league as the famous Mean Chef recipe here on 'Zaar. In fact, after roasting the two same-sized roasts side by side in my oven, this one was much more tender! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      The barbecue sauce just adds the perfect zing to this. The rub is good, but next time I'll decrease the cumin as it's not really my favorite spice so I was quite aware of its presence. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      This was by far, the best pulled pork that came out of my kitchen. This is exactly what I was looking for and so glad I found it. Thanks for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      Wowsers!!! I didn't have ancho chile powder so I used regular. DH is from NC, and I thought this was worth a short. I think he wants to hand write you a Tyou note, Leta! I used the BBQ sauce and just mixed it in with the pork juices in the pan after it was done cooking. I used a stainless steel braiser pan, and it really locked in the flavor. My roast was only about 2.5 pounds,so I cooked it at 260 for about 3 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      Simply delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except that I used cooked it in a crockpot for 5 hours at 275.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      Hands down, the best pulled pork I've ever made. I added more sugar, some garlic powder and used less chile powder. Covered and baked a 4 lb butt for exactly 4 hours at 250. It melted in the pan. Absolutely amazing and our new family favorite. Thanks for posting - it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      This recipe resulted in the most stunningly good pulled pork I've EVER had. I substituted a low to medium-spiced cajun spice mix for the new mexico chile powder (one of my guests couldn't tolerate very spicy foods, but loves pulled pork). That was the only change I made. I put the meat in a dutch oven and cooked it at 300 for exactly 5 hours. It was succulent, tasty, and pulled very, very easily. I think the key is the water, really - it helps really cook the meat without it drying out. However, a word of caution - the meat pulls so easily, be careful not to pull too much, or the meat will get mushy. I think I've found my pulled pork recipe right here - it was divine! Thanks, Leta - this is a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      I cooked this in my crockpot for 5 hours, it was so delicious! I made it with the suggested sauce and I will definately be making it again! I put the rub on overnight. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      Wow! This was wonderful. The only change I made was to put the pork in my crockpot after rubbing with spices. I cooked it for 6 hours on low and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      This is a hit at my house. I had this at a local sandwich shop in southwestern Colorado of all places and wanted to make it at home. Leta's recipe will stop my search!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southeastern North Carolina Pulled Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (316 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 663.6
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    40%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 259.9 mg
    86%
    Sodium 1422.0 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 87.1 g
    174%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites