Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / South West Cauliflower With a Zing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    South West Cauliflower With a Zing

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2012

      We really enjoyed this cauliflower dish with tonight's dinner. Cauliflower is my favorite veggie and I love this take on it. The only change I made was to use half & half vs. milk and canned mild green chilies. I also used fresh sourdough bread crumbs tossed with a little melted butter for the topping. DH loved this dish and went back for more. Will definitely make this delicious dish again very soon. Made for Make My Recipe Reunion tag, December, 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Yummy! This has just the right amount of 'zing' for my kids to eat. Different take on an old favourite. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      We made this recipe last night as a side to Chicken in Creamy Chipotle Sauce. We really enjoyed it! It is the first time I have made cauliflower with cheese sauce (usually I roast it with rosemary and garlic) and I have to say that it was great! I will definitely make this recipe again. We followed all instructions and ingredients as posted. Thanks! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Lovely, we love cauliflower and cheese and this was a great variant! Not too spicy for those who don't enjoy, nice zing for those who do. I made my sauce in the microwave.. force of habit! Easy to prepare, and delicious, thank you, Leslie! Made for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      I love cauliflower too and this an excellent preparation. I didn't add bread crumbs and used a few chopped jalapenos rather than the chilies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      Awesome side! I stand corrected- my family now eats cauliflower! Thanks for that and for such a great recipe Leslie! I followed this exactly except I had to use colby jack as that is what I had. Gave a nice color to the veg. This made the all too bland and misaligned cauliflower really taste amazing. The zing was very mild and very nice. This could be served at any family dinner as well as a very nice and more formal event. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      YUMMY! This is a new favorite! I used 1 chopped up head of cauliflower steamed for 5 minutes. I used 1 tablespoon of butter, 1 minced garlic clove cooked in the butter first, a 4oz can of mild green chilies undrained and half and half in place of the milk. Everything else the same. My sauce was a paste before adding more half and half. I poured it over the cauliflower and topped it with more cheese. I omitted the bread crumbs. I had to bake it for 20 minutes. The sauce thickened upon standing. I loved the crisp tender cauliflower with the flavorful creamy sauce....sooooo DELISH! I think the green chilies make it extra special. This would also be good topped with parmesan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      We really enjoyed this recipe.I left out the green chilies as we are not spicey food people. I did find though that when I took it out of the oven the sauce that was creamy and thick was quite watery. I think it may just have been because I didn't strain the cauliflower enough. I will definately use this recipe again. Thank-you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This is really easy and went together well. I felt that the sauce was a little thin. I used low-fat cheddar cheese instead of the low-fat Monterey just because that was what I had on hand. It had a nice zing without the addition of the green chilies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      The sauce didn't come together as I would have liked - I'll make an old fashioned roux based cheese sauce next time. It was, however, delicious & was gobbled up by all, runny sauce & all. I used pepperjack instead of adding chilies and skipped the breadcrumbs just as a personal preference. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      I actually like cauliflower now - I have never before been able to eat it no matter what sauce it was served with: it's a miracle! Although I halved the recipe I doubled the cayenne pepper and would add more of this, the garlic and the chillies next time too - we like our dinner hot! Simple and easy, I just cooked my cauli in the microwave. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      Well this is so much tastier than melting cheez whiz on cauliflower... I didnt add bread crumbs either becuase my Dad didnt want the cheese getting soaked up..LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      Yummy, and very easy to make. I liked the creamy sauce on this. I used pepper jack cheese as a substitute for the monterey and peppers. I went easy on the cayenne because of the pepper jack cheese, but now wish I had put more in for more zip. I didn't feel the bread crumbs on top added much tast-wise or looks. Being fresh, mine started to burn a little so I layed a piece of foil on top. It was a nice recipe for a change from boring steamed cauliflower. I will make again, but with more cayanne next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for South West Cauliflower With a Zing

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 99.3
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    59%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 19.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 221.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites