Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / South of the Border Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    South of the Border Chicken

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2013

      Fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      I really liked this one! I had some leftover salsa rice from another recipe, so I used that as the base here, then followed the directions as written except for using red pepper instead of green. Loved every bite, and can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Made for ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      Made for ZWT7 and enjoyed VERY MUCH. I did experience some difficulty getting it out of the pan-but it is SO GOOD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Reviewed for ZWT7- quite liked this dish. It was easy to put together. I thought that whilst it tasted good, presentation wise it really didn't look too appetizing. Photo also to be posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      i thought this was pretty tasty. it has more calories than i would prefer, but overall it's easy to make, tastes good and is good for leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I don't think this recipe could get any easier!!! I put it together in no time.... My family loved this and DH said this is a remake!!! Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I really enjoyed this recipe! I did make a few changes. I added an onion and sauted it with the chicken and green pepper. I also cut my breasts into 2 pieces each rather than stips. I used home made very hot/spicy salsa and still added a bit of mexican chili powder with lime. But this dish would be just fine exactly as written too. I plan on putting this one into my monthly menus for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      I love how simple this is and so tasty with only a few ingredients, also great as it can be prepared ahead of time & put in the oven later. Great recipe I'm sure we'll make again. Thanks Iewe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      Very easy. I used a mild salsa because DH doesn't do spicy; I was worried that this wouldn't be very flavorful, so I took some other reviewers suggestions and sauteed the chicken and peppers with 2 cloves of garlic and some pepper and onion salt. I also added a sprinkle of garlic powder, chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper to the rice. It was very creamy and tasty, but I think I could have added even more of the spices to perk up the flavor and my family would probably like this better if I cut back a little on the sour cream. Would definitely make this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      Not often I try something from this site and have to rate it a 3 - maybe it is just our personal tastes. We found it much too heavy with the rice in the bottom and, also, the chicken dried out quickly. Maybe I should have covered for half the time? Next time (because we loved the flavors) I will omit the rice, cover it for 15 mins. uncover and then add cheese. Maybe that way we can make it more to our tastes. Sorry!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      Yummo! I made using cooked brown rice instead of white, other than that, made as directed and it's SO good! I think next time, I'll mix everything together first than put it in the baking dish. I served it with Southwest Salad. This was a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Da Bomb!! However I made some revisions. Since I love onions & garlic I sauted these along with the green pepper & chicken. I also took others advice and added cumin, seasoning salt and red pepper. I used colby jack cheese. I baked in a 9x13 pan since I used more than 2 cups of rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      How simple and tasty this was! I wanted something nice and easy to do for dinner and chose this - what a winner! Although the cook time is a little longer than I would usually allow for weekday meals, prep took no time at all and this was so delicious and tasty that it was worth the extra wait. Both my other half and I really enjoyed it (praise indeed from him)! I made the recipe exactly as stated, except I didn't have any pre-cooked rice so I used pilau quick-cook rice as it was the only thing I could get cooked quick enough: The flavours actually worked really well together though I'd be keen to try it with regular rice as well. Also I decreased the fat a little by using olive oil spray to sautee the chicken and peppers, and I used low fat sour cream. Everything else remained unchanged and to be honest I don't think any further amendments are needed. Fabulous recipe and a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      This is a nice base recipe. I used a red pepper rather than green and added the juice of 1/2 a lime, 1/3 cup chopped jalepeno and 2 cloves of garlic in with the chicken and added some cumin, chili pepper, salt and black pepper to the rice. I also subbed low fat sour cream with no problems. Quick yummy meal. Thanks iewe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This is a very tasty and easy to make weeknight dinner. I did jazz it up a bit, I sauted the chicken and bell peppers with some salt and pepper and some garlic. I also shook a little garlic powder and chili powder on the rice before topping with the chicken and sauce. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Wonderful Recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for South of the Border Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 465.7
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    37%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 119.9 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1029.4 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 36.4 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites