Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / South Louisiana Chicken and Sausage Gumbo (No Okra!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    South Louisiana Chicken and Sausage Gumbo (No Okra!)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2002

      This was absolutely wonderful!! My dh, who is from New Iberia, LA ate 3 helpings of this. He has bugged me to find a good gumbo recipe and now I know I have. He appreciates the fact that there is no okra in this and so do I because I have found okra to be slimy. Thank you Melissa for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      This is the best tasting GUMBO I have ever had!! I personally do not like okra and don't see what the big deal is with the above two comments made. I lived in Louisiana for several years and had been served GUMBO without okra on several occations. I highly recommend this recipe especially for those who don't particualarly care for the green slimy vegetable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      I was raised in Louisiana as well and gumbo is something made with a roux and some sort of meat. You do not necessarily have to have okra in it for it to be gumbo. You can go to any fine resturant or in fact any Good cajun resturant and find there is not okra in the gumbo. Mulate's in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana makes some of the finest gumbo around and there is no okra in it at all. It is all a matter of personal choice. My mother, grandmother and great-grandmother are all Louisiana natives as I am, and for 4 generations back, okra was never used in any of our gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2002

      This was absolutely delicious. It does take time to make, but was well worth the wait. I had to use more grease to get the roux to a good consistany. And Roux is not easy to make. You are right about keeping an eye on it and stirring it constantly. But in the end it was all worth it. I used a store brand all beef sausage with the chicken, next time I will go a little more fancy with the sausage. My DH ate this up and promptly went for seconds then thirds. I will make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      This is the closest to how I make it I've ever seen. There is a okra gumbo with chicken but okra in all gumbos is totally inaccurate. At least not in Franklin, La. Oh yeah, don't forget to put the file' on the table for everyone to use as much as they want

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      This is the best!!! Last time I had GUMBO this good was when I was in New Orleans last year for Mardi Gras. I have wanted to find a recipe that would compare to Ralph and Kakoos in New Orleans and this is it!! I just added some shrimp to the roux and it made it just right. Thank you Melissa!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      What a flavorful Gumbo! I cooked it one evening then put in in the fridge over night and had it the next day. The flavors were delightful! I used chicken breasts and a spicy beef sausage served over basmatic rice. My whole family loved it. I do appreciate the 'no okra', I never would have tried a recipe with okra in it. Thank you Melissa for this keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      Amazing. Turns out great every time. Sometimes I add okra, sometimes not. Good either way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Many Thanks!! Missy for personally teaching me how to cook this wonderful gumbo recipe. I can't tell you enough how wonderful it is on a cold snowy day. You have so many other great recipes I hope you will continue to share them here on Recipezarr. Huge Hugs..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      I loved this dish! However, I did add the okra because I am a fan of this slimmy veggie. The time of making this recipe was well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

    • on September 22, 2005

      I went to a fund raiser for Katrina victims at a local church in Windsor, New York at which they served this soup. I heard several people raving about the soup and our family loved it also! 5 Stars! FYI - If it doesn't use OKRA, it is not GUMBO. (Every dictionary definition I've read for GUMBO uses the word OKRA in the definition, so this is not a GUMBO in the pure sense of the word!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2004

      I,m from Va. and I am the bomb *** gumbo cooker, as they call me in California and Missy totally forgot to add gumbo file on her recipe that is the main thing you also need in the gumbo with the okra I don't know what she trippin' on but I'm telling you what you need to put in your gumbo to make it mmmmmmmmm good. But you know also what would go good with that recipe, if you throw some crab legs and some shrimp with some stew tomatoes and louisiana gumbo seasoning, thank you very much, but I'm telling ya'll what the best thing to do for ya'll gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      Everybody is going on about okra. what is this, other than in my opinion culinary pathology, about okra? and as for slimy, have you considered the possibility that you dont know how to cook it? No problem, Ive never been able to get tea to satisfy my Normandy friends from London. by the way london is a big city and you are going to have guess where in London... so, in short, you dont know how to cook okra and have limted internation experience with food? so what else is new...? try: trying it. Wm. Waugh Turner, III

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      Folks, This is pretty good, but it ain't gumbo. "Gumbo" means "okra". That is the literal translation. I was born and raised in Louisiana and I've had this argument with my Mother-in-law a thousand times. She loves fried okra but doesn't like it in gumbo. That's fine, but then it's an excellent stew, not "Gumbo". L.R. Beckwith

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2002

      All this needs is lots of sliced OKRA!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for South Louisiana Chicken and Sausage Gumbo (No Okra!)

    Serving Size: 1 (465 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.0
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    52%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 89.6 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1493.6 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 31.4 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites