8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of the nicest vegetarian curries I have ever had (and I have tried quite a few). It had a beautiful nutty coconut flavor. I didn't want to go to an indian store and buy special ingredients, so I roasted my own chickpeas for the roasted channa dal. I opened up a can of chickpeas and roasted a few on a tray in the oven, until they were hard and a bit brown, and I ground them in the spice grinder. I added the leftover chickpeas into the curry when I added the eggplants and they added a really nice texture and flavor to the curry (so I will keep adding them in the future when I make this curry again). I also just roasted store bought dessicated coconut in a fry pan and ground it in my spice grinder, I think it worked well and it didn't add any significant sweetness to the dish (and it smelt beautiful while I was roasting it in the fry pan). All the other ingredients such as the poppy seeds and sesame seeds, I could just find in my local supermarket. I am adding this recipe to my regular meal rotation.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zainab23 October 18, 2011

This is a very good recipe. Basically, it is the coconut powder that makes this outstanding. I made a lot of changes: substitued eggplants with okra (bhindi), and added a lot of potatoes as well. Added lots of freshly squeezed lemon juice, and increased the amount of freshly-chopped coriander (dhania). When it was all done, I felt some more coconut milk was still needed, so added a few tablespoons of that. Salted to taste with sea salt. Next time I would decrease the amount of coriander and cumin powder, especially if your garam masala mix already contains those two powders (has anyone else noticed that the coriander & cumin powder adds too much of a hard/harsh edge to the taste--like it's almost bitter?). Overall, this dish turned out brilliantly: tangy, spicy, and with a heavenly, subtle taste of coconut.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndiaLover May 21, 2011

Best Eggplant Curry I've ever tried!! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sara60 March 11, 2010

Your Auntie is a genius. This is absolutely delicious. I was careful to brown the seeds, but otherwise, I didn't adhere strictly to the order of things, and it was still amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 09, 2015

This is an excellent version of baingan bharta! I knew from the moment I was toasting the spices that the smell alone would drive me crazy! The toasting coconut powder was unbelievable! WARNING!!! I do want to mention to others that the coconut powder is not sweetened like Angel flake for baking!!! I keep a stock of the coconut powder on hand for using in low carb and diabetic recipes but having it in Indian cuisine is really nice! Overall it was wonderful wonderful! And will be my newest favorite baingan bharta recipe. Thanks for sharing!!! ~Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau July 10, 2008

Absolutely delightful recipe!!!!!! My DH(who hates eggplants!)was literally licking his fingers at d end of our meal... I used one gigantic eggplant-cut up into thin strips.... Ran out of peanuts ,so I found the suggestion of substituting it with quarter cup peanut butter really helpful...and I did omit the roated channa dal too!Again,I too added 2cups of water to get a smooth creamy consistency and found 1tsp of salt to be sufficient. The recipe sounds a little long n tiring...but it turned out to be simple n ofcourse was a real treat too!!thnx for sharing this amazing recipe:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seeprats October 15, 2007

My husband, who is from hyderabad, loved this! It was very tasty and smelled wonderful while it was cooking. This is a very fragrent dish without being too spicy.I didn't have time to go to my local Indian store to pick up the small eggplants and roasted Channa Dal. So I used 1 large eggplant cut into 2-3 inch chunks and I omitted the roasted Dal. Other then that I followed the directions. It was perfect! Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmHumza February 24, 2006

This is fabulous, worth more than 5 stars, and is South Indian cooking at its best!! I made some slight changes...first, I didn't have roasted peanuts, so I substituted with 1/4 cup crunchy peanut butter. I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I used 2 cans of tomatoes, drained and chopped. I couldn't obtain egg-sized eggplant, so I used a lovely, large, fat, bulbous eggplant and diced it into 1 inch cubes. I consider that these changes would have had little impact on the flavor of the finished dish. The recipe doesn't specify when to add the peanuts, so I tossed them (well, actually, the peanut butter) in with the coconut mixture. I added close to 2 cups of water rather than the 1 1/2 cups specified. I don't add much salt to my food, so I found a good pinch sufficed. I can't wait to try your South Indian Coconut Chutney and your Dover Sole Fillets with Peanut Chutney. Can you re-visit your South Indian food phase and post more recipes along these lines?? Please?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydream April 20, 2005
South Indian Eggplant (Aubergine) Curry