Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / " South Beach" Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    " South Beach" Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2012

      First off, I think the recipe needs to be revised because there is information and steps missing. It was not clear what kind of tomatoes to use (fresh? canned?) It tells us to cut the tops off the peppers but it never says to take out the seeds and membranes. And although worchestershire sauce was in the ingredient list the directions never told us when to add it. That being said, overall this was fairly tasty. I would suggest that if you try this recipe that you check your peppers in the microwave before the 5 minutes suggested. Mine were so overcooked by that time they were almost falling apart. Since I don't have Spike I substituted my own combo of herbs and spices and I added a little cheese in the meat mixture instead of putting it all on top. It was certainly fast and filling which is good when you are on SB phase one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      I could not have tomatoes because of the acid so I added mushroom soup and it still was very goooood! Thank you for the recipe..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Very good! I only had a can of tomato sauce and used half of it in place of the canned tomatoes. It turned out very well- will make again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      Delicious, simple & SB friendly...sans rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      I've noticed that some of these folks added rice to this recipe. Rice is NOT on the list of foods for Phase 1 of the South Beach Diet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      These are great! I make them all the time now. The kids love them and so does the hubby. Also they are simple to assemble. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      Wonderful recipe. Even my toddler devoured it! We added a bit of quinoa instead of brown rice and it had a great flavor with the rest of the dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      This recipe was so filling and so good! I did not use the whole jar of tomatoes and used greek seasoning instead. Everything was so tasty and a great healthy recipe for the whole family. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      This recipe is easy and very tasty. I've been making it with ground venison (although I've also made it with the ground turkey) and it comes together quickly and makes a fast, healthy and satisfying dinner. Following the recipe as written, I usually have some extra filling after stuffing four peppers, but the filling makes great leftovers over rice or on a bun. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      I altered this recipe by using groud turkey and a tomatoe based cheese sauce instead of the worchestire sauce...it came out FANTASTIC!!!!! Definitely a dinner meal that I will plan to have again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      I'm not giving this any stars because I did not have Spike seasoning and used a substitute. It worked out okay but was not great. The peppers were GREAT however, so I would love to try the recipe as written sometime if I ever find Spike seasoning. My only other comment is the recipe never says when to add the Worchestershire or the Spike. I assume they should be added when the turkey if cooking but it should be clarified regardless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      We didn't care for this at all and we love stuffed peppers. It was very bland and WATERY. The water really made it unappetizing. Sorry we didn't like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      This was so good! I made a few adjustments. I used lean ground beef, chopped up 2 medium sized tomatoes, did about 4 tbl worc.sauce, did garlic powder instead of garlic, omitted the celery and added a tiny bit more salt. I also added some fiesta blend cheese to the mix before scooping it into the peppers, then topped with more cheese, moz and fiesta blend, so darn yummy!!!! There is only two of us and 4 peppers was too much, next time I will just use 2 and then maybe save the rest of the mix and serve it over rice or I guess you could eat it in a tortilla or with nacho chips? This was yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      so yummy!!! I have been trying to stay away from rice and pasta so i made this recipe :) I was worried that my husband might miss the rice, but he told me that he liked it even better without because it is meatier :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I added a cup of cooked rice and seriously...this was AMAZING. I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I love this recipe!! Have never been fond of the rice type stuffed peppers...this is perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe! Added a dash of red pepper flakes and made it with soy crumbles rather than turkey to appease my vegetarian sister. Easy to make, filling, and delicious. I suspect it will be even better when I try it with turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Absolutely amazing! Already can't wait to make them again :) Perfect as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      These were very, very good! I also chopped up some fresh spinach and added it to the veggie mix. I used Penzey's Northwood Fire instead of the Spike. I blanched the peppers first rather than microwaving them. This recipe is so good that it really hides that not so great ground turkey aftertaste. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      We absolutely loved these stuffed peppers! Made them exactly as the recipe said except I hade no Spike seasoning so I had to improvise. :) We will absolutely be making these again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for " South Beach" Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (480 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.9
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    40%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 87.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 266.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 28.2 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    spike seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites