42 Reviews

These were so good I'm ready to cry. I will definitely make them again. After reading the other reviews, I modified the recipe a bit. I used 3/4 c. Splenda brown sugar substitute, rather than the 1 c. recommended. I also ground up a handful of peanuts and threw them in. After being on Phase 1 for 9 days, I'm starting to realize that many of the foods I used to eat are way too sweet. I'm rating this recipe 4 stars because, although I reduced the Splenda, I thought they were a bit too sweet. Next time, I'll try 1/2 c. brown Splenda instead. Also, you didn't say what type of peanut butter to use (I used Smart Balance creamy.) But seriously, thank you so much for this recipe. You have no idea how much I enjoyed it.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crowdjen June 10, 2009

I love this recipe for flourless cookies! I make one almost identical (the difference is the addition of 1 teaspoon of baking powder) to it frequently, as it's an easy and delish solution to making a cookie that both my sister (no dairy) and me (no gluten) can enjoy together. I usually make them with real sugar, but both ways are still wonderful. These DO tend to be fragile, though! Once or twice, I have made them without the baking power and they are even more apt to break apart There are a few tricks to making these a little less crumbly: 1) Use full-fat peanut butter 2) refrigerate the dough for an hour or two 3) keep the cookies smallish- great for portion control (they're pretty rich, anyway) and for keeping them together 4) Bake on parchment and make sure they're COMPLETELY cool before removing

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VNess February 18, 2009

EDITED 7/24/12: I modified the original recipe as follows and just edited my version once again. As for the sweeteners to use - you decide but measure accordingly. Agave Nectar (GI 15), Stevia (GI at 0):

1 cup All Natural Chunky Peanut Butter
1 egg
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
1 TBS Splenda brown sugar
1/8 Tsp Stevia (SweetLeaf brand only) OR 1/4 cup Raw Organic Agave Nectar (WhoelsomeSweeteners Brand only)

Drop by teaspoon on parchment paper.
Bake 350 for 10 mins
Cool completely before removing from parchment.

Note: These are not overly sweet and they do not crumble. Next time I will dip a fork in some brown sugar to make the typical crisscross pattern on top of the cookie before baking.

NOTE: My apologies for so many edits but I was researching the sweeteners and wanted to pick the most healthy ones. You can use cane sugar as well if you are not restricted in any way however, I did not determine the measurement for it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jansafoody July 24, 2012

Thank you! These cookies saved me :) I only used 1/4 c of Splenda and added a splash of vanilla extract, they were wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sclark77 August 26, 2011

These are definatly a favorite in our house since my husband and I are on the SBD. We thought we were going to go crazy until we found this recipe! I love the fact that there are only 3 ingredients. I make a batch every few days or so just to keep the peace! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mirandalopez January 10, 2011

Delicious! I also make a similar version with vanilla extract and ricotta cheese blended in. These aren't even close to being too sweet...I'm thinking maybe people used the splenda packets instead of granular/baking splenda? I like to keep these in the freezer and take out a couple at a time. They are very tasty while still slightly frozen.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ScrappieDoo January 04, 2011

Totally satisfied my sweet tooth! I can't stand eating ricotta for dessert anymore! I read the reviews about the cookies being too sweet but I forgot to use less when I was mixing the cookies. However, I used freshly ground peanut butter so the sugar wasn't that bad since the peanut butter wasn't sweetened.
I think I would use a little less sugar next time, even with the freshly ground peanut butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babybub July 28, 2010

Looooved these! Thank you sooo much! I altered them a little bit using 1/2 natural peanut butter, 1/2 creamy, chopped up some peanuts, and used 1/2 cup brown sugar splenda with a dash of vanilla extract. They were so good, even my boyfriend couldn't believe they were SB. Thank you again, I will be making these for a very long time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
calowe05 July 13, 2009

really good. i used egg beaters and organic zero instead of splenda. thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snickels April 05, 2009

This was Terrific! I only used 3/4 cups splenda and it still had a little after taste, not bad though. Next time I'll only use 1/2 cups splenda.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
100% me March 18, 2009
South Beach Peanut Butter Cookies