Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / South Beach Muffin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    South Beach Muffin

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2009

      Tried this last night and was impressed. I split the batter in half and made 2, and reduced the micro time to 1 min 10 seconds. Shared with a couple of bread free friends and they were grateful to have "bread". I want to experiment with this and make is savory so I can have it with soups, etc. Absolutely loved it for what it was. I will make this frequently and would give it more stars if that were possible. I did add 1/4 tsp vanilla and Penzeys "Cake" spice. It was delicious. I even liked it cold...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      Rarely am I so surprised by a recipe...usually I can imagine what it will taste like by reading the ingredients, and know if my family will like it or not. I expected that this one would be something I would settle for, knowing that it is low carb and phase one suitable....but I thought that it was great! Fast, easy and with great texture, just needing some flavour tweakings for personal preference it truely deserves a 5 star. I noticed that the recipe had been submitted in 2007, and since microwaves are now stronger in power, I cooked my muffin for only 1 minute and 15 seconds which was just perfect. It remained moist, but fully cooked, and with a texture not unlike a sponge cake, which to me is a good thing! I am going to experiment also with savory seasonings so I can serve with soup or main courses.
      Thank you so much for submitting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I made this because my doctor wants me to add more flax seed to my diet so I wasn't expecting too much, but this is awesome. I will definitely be making this again and again - maybe adding some fruit and/or nuts although it is very good as is. Thanks for a fabulous recipe. Just wanted to add an update. I took this recipe to my doctor and she said this is great. She told me that my cholesterol is 32 points too high and that if I eat this every day, it should lower it enough that I won't have to go on pills. So thank you, thank you, thank you. I hate taking pills. Just wanted to add - I've been using flavored yogurt and omitting the sugar. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      These came out fantastic!!! I didn't put stars because I used Chia seeds instead of flax.
      Did as the recipe was written. Cooked the first batch in the microwave----good.
      Baked the second in the oven for 20 minutes and they were good also.
      Thanks for posting. When I get flax seeds I'll make another batch...both ways.
      I had chia seeds because they have 3 g of protein/1 T, so 3T of chia is 9 g of protien.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      DELICIOUS! So soft; wonderful texture. I used a mix of cinnamon and nutmeg. Sliced it and drizzled with a bit of honey--heavenly! Next time I'll add some dried fruit. I bet if you use salt they can pass for hamburger buns. What about some gratted cheese (any) in the dough? Garlic and/or onion powder... So many possibilities, so little time! (I wonder how these taste when cold or if they can be frozen... Anyone tried?)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      After reading the reviews, I had to try this muffin. 7 days on the SBD(5lb easily lost) and I needed a "carb" fix! Hot and fresh out of the oven, this muffin was terrific! I used Greek nonfat yogurt and stevia. Can't wait to add blueberries in phase 2.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      Very hesitant at first....but I was glad I listened to the ratings and followed through! I followed the recipe exactly (FYI- 5 packets of splenda= 1.5 teaspoons ) and it was a perfect change to the egg betters and egg muffins I have been eating each morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      I love how adaptable this recipe is! My mom makes it with extra cinnamon, but I replace the cinnamon with 1 1/2 tsp cocoa powder (yum!). I grind 1.5 Tbs of flax seeds to get about 3 Tbs of flax meal. I mix a week's worth of the dry ingredients every weekend. I use about 2 Tbs of vanilla yogurt, and I serve it with maple syrup (one of the few sweeteners that doesn't trigger my sweet tooth).<br/><br/>I experimented with microwave times, to find when it's *just* cooked, not overly cooked and dry, not under cooked and runny. It's done when it starts to pull away from the sides of the deep bowl I cook it in. Depending on the microwave, I've used from 1:20 to 2:00.<br/><br/>I love, love, love how tasty this is, how adaptable it is, and all without triggering a carb or sugar binge. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      I made these this morning as we just started the South Beach diet and my husband has high cholestrol so didn't want so many eggs each morning. They were delicious adding a little vanilla and using the flavoured vanilla with 10 grms sugar so I omitted splenda. I think they would be good with a slice of low fat cheese for breakfast. He had his with a 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt which was okay also. I used a dish 4 times the size of the ingredients and it came right to the top so go large when cooking. I think I microwaved mine about 1 min 25 seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      I made this for breakfast yesterday, I really liked it. At first I was a bit leery of the recipe but with so many high reviews I had to try it. I added half an apple chopped up and used raspberry flavored yogurt. Today I'm going to try and make "raisin bread" with it and substitute cream for the yogurt since I don't have any left. I can wait to try it with a bunch of different fruit this coming year :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      This is just "okay." Yes, it does have the texture and consistency of bread, but it was a little dry and simply not sweet enough for me (But I do have a raging sweet tooth!). I Used Sweet 'N Low instead of Splenda because that's what I had in the house, and I added walnuts. Eat these immediately because they dry out quickly as they cool. I will try this again, but I will try to add something to give it a little more moisture (maybe extra yogurt...suggestions welcome!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I know this has had a lot of raves- but if you are on South Beach or want decreased carbs etc. this was really good! I added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp cocoa powder, used vanilla no sugar added yogurt. I think I will try to make it even more spicey next time.I ate the rest of the yogurt with it- then I got a whole dairy serving. If you are on Phase 2- a little applesauce on the side would be yummy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      This solves my carb cravings. Like other reviewers said, this recipe is incredibly versatile. Thank you so much, Pixie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      This is an amazing recipe. You can do so much with it. Once I added pumpkin puree and pumpkin spice. Very yummy. Great for South Beach diet and gluten free!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      This is very easy and tasty. I ground the flax seeds in my Magic Bullet, and then simply added the rest of the ingredients to blend. After cooking, I sprayed the top with spray type margarine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      No, this does not taste like a full-fat, high carb muffin - but having been on the Atkins diet for 3 months this is a darn good substitute. Really easy to make (literally took 5 minutes total) and delicious! Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      So good! I added a little more cinnamon and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Reminded me of gingerbread so maybe I will add a bit of ground ginger and some allspice next time to see what happens. Thanks for sharing!!! It hit the spot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Great recipe, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      This was fantastic! I doubled the recipe, used stevia in place of Splenda, and topped with thawed strawberries. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Everyone at work is on a low carb diet so I thought I would try a recipe. I loved how easy and quick this recipe was. I will def cure the carb craving if you just want the texture. Taste wise it was not as bad as I thought though I tripled the cinnamon and added some orange extract. Mine may have been a little dry because I used Greek yogurt instead of regular. On a whole if you are low carbing it's a good one to try, if not I think it can be played with to fit your tastes. I will probably play with this recipe which will probably make it non-low carb. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for South Beach Muffin

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.0
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    60%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 186.2 mg
    62%
    Sodium 266.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites