12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I first tried this recipe when I was living overseas (where wheat germ, among other things =) was very expensive) - so, I would make this without the wheat germ and put either extra oats of extra flour in the recipe to replace it. Sometimes it was still too watery so I'd just decrease the milk. I LOVE this recipe and make it all the time! It works best when you let the oats soak in the milk for the full 10 minutes (or longer) to get a thicker batter (which I tried to skip out on once in awhile because I was hungry or in a hurry!). Now that I'm back in America, I love topping them with a little sugar-free maple syrup, although I think they're wonderful plain as well! Oh - I also have tried adding either a teaspoon of vanilla extract or cinnamon just to change it up a little. Yummy, delicious, and nutritious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kekeni January 07, 2007

I had to add about 1/2 cup whole wheat flour because the batter was too runny. I used instant oats instead of the rolled, maybe that was why? Anyway, I also needed to add about 2 tsps. of baking powder because they were coming out completely flat at first. But after that, these pancakes were Fabulous! They were light, moist and flavorful. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BD_Woman June 26, 2010

Wonderful recipe! Very light delicate texture. I did make a few substitutions. I used lowfat buttermilk instead of milk, raw wheat germ instead of toasted, flax oil instead of canola oil, and becuase I was out of regular Quaker Oats, I used the new low sugar Maple and Brown Sugar instant oatmeal packets (3 of them) and it turned out wonderfully. This will not only be in my make again list, but in my make often list!! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DogAndCatDoc February 28, 2005

Nice, healthy and filling. A breakfast that made me feel good and well-fueled for the day. So many ways you could dress this recipe up too - adding natural fruit compote, yogurt topping, sugar-free syrup, etc.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Artemis March 18, 2012

A healthy way to start the day. I added 1/2 t. cinnamon and 1 t. vanilla. Would be delicious topped with spiced sliced peaches or apples. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms May 31, 2009

The first time I made these, my 7yr old son ate 10 pancakes! So I guess they are a hit. I added a little cinnamon, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Will keep in my South Beach favorites recipe book. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kirbyandjill May 03, 2009

A good oatmeal pancake. I even forgot the eggbeaters and they turned out, but I only got 10 pancakes, maybe that's why. The only thing I would change is they are too salty for DH's and my taste. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pardeemom May 20, 2008

I wish I could give more stars! I've made them several times now and I practically know the recipe by heart. I make a half batch in the morning on workdays. It makes 3 fresh pancakes (each) for me and my hubby. At about 225 calories/3 pancakes it's a perfect breakfast! We use spray butter and Smucker's Sugar Free syrup. If you add some frozen (thawed) or fresh strawberries or blueberries, suddenly all of the employees are lingering around your desk! (Sorry, there's only enough for me.) That will teach them for giving me so much crap about my "dieting". THANKS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo February 08, 2008

We love these pancakes at our house! The only part we don't like is waiting 40 minutes to cook 'em! Great for Sunday breakfast - we like that you can add a variety of ingredients to change 'em up! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amos3 January 20, 2008
South Beach Diet Oatmeal Pancakes