13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice salad...! I followed the recipe ingredients as written except for the oil....where based on what the other reviewers wrote, I only used a tbsp or so. I think anymore and it would have been too wet (let alone it just doesn't need it). I also toasted the quinoa. I think next time I might cook the quinoa in veggie broth, just for a little extra flavour. Thanks Deb, this was very fresh and has nice flavour. I'm planning to make this again for a large BBQ party in a few weeks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner May 02, 2010

One of the best quinoa dishes I've made! The avocado really makes it (I made a half recipe, but used the whole avocado). I also used broth, double the "cilantro" (subbed parsley for DH's sake), and only a half tablespoon of oil for the half recipe. A definite new favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 19, 2012

What a wonderfully fresh way to serve quinoa; although, I didn't cook the quinoa, instead I sprouted it over night to add even more to the nutritional power this grain has. I halfed the oil as others suggested cutting it down a bit but needed a little extra since it wasn't cooked. I served this over a bed of crispy romaine and generously sprinkled with chili powder and red pepper flakes. My husband really enjoyed this and since this is so healthy I think he will be having this once a week. Thank you so much for this!! Made for Veggie Swap 23!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious June 07, 2010

Lovely, lovely, lovely!!!! Mmmm, the flavours of this tabbouleh really blend well together and make for a very tasty treat! I made a few changes due to personal preference: Used parsley instead of the cilantro and left out the oil and the lemon juice. I found the end result to be super delish and will definitely make this again and again! THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this lovely recipe with us, Debbie! Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday February 2010-Sharing the Love.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 12, 2010

Wonderful. I enjoyed this for lunch today. I wasn't able to find plain quinoa in any of my local stores, so I had to substitute a whole grain quinoa blend that included brown rice, millet, cilantro and other seasonings. The package directions stated to saute the grains in 1 tablespoon of oil until golden brown. I omitted the 1 cup olive oil as WiGal suggested. Otherwise made as stated. Would also be good with some grilled chicken. Thank you for the recipe...it is a keeper! Made for Every Day is a Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms February 07, 2010

I don't know that I can really rate this since I changed the recipe up a bit. Increased salt to 1 tsp. Used one lemon. Sauteed 1/4 onion and 2 cloves garlic in 2 tbsp. olive oil and didn't use any more oil than that. Didn't have any cilantro or corn. Used 2 good sized tomatoes and 1/2 cucumber. Served avocado on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miriachi January 11, 2010

This was absolutely excellent! This was my first time making quinoa and I am glad I did. I will be adding this to my regular meal rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamme January 10, 2010

This recipe is SOOOOOOO delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather_werner November 01, 2009

Delicious! I served this with my panko crusted chicken schnitzel. It was a terrific way to get healthy veggies into me and the quinoa was surprisingly good. I used the toasted method as well

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba October 17, 2009

Excellent recipe! Before making this I did toast the quinoa as suggested in Quinoa-Toasted which really does add a lot. I reduced the oil to 1 tablespoon to lower the fat levels. I subbed zucchini for cucumber and a hard boiled egg for the avocado. I also added in 1 teaspoon of ground cumin. Thank you debbwl for a wonderful lunch. Made for Everyday is a Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal September 11, 2009
South America Quinoa