Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / South America Quinoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    South America Quinoa

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2010

      Very nice salad...! I followed the recipe ingredients as written except for the oil....where based on what the other reviewers wrote, I only used a tbsp or so. I think anymore and it would have been too wet (let alone it just doesn't need it). I also toasted the quinoa. I think next time I might cook the quinoa in veggie broth, just for a little extra flavour. Thanks Deb, this was very fresh and has nice flavour. I'm planning to make this again for a large BBQ party in a few weeks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      One of the best quinoa dishes I've made! The avocado really makes it (I made a half recipe, but used the whole avocado). I also used broth, double the "cilantro" (subbed parsley for DH's sake), and only a half tablespoon of oil for the half recipe. A definite new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      What a wonderfully fresh way to serve quinoa; although, I didn't cook the quinoa, instead I sprouted it over night to add even more to the nutritional power this grain has. I halfed the oil as others suggested cutting it down a bit but needed a little extra since it wasn't cooked. I served this over a bed of crispy romaine and generously sprinkled with chili powder and red pepper flakes. My husband really enjoyed this and since this is so healthy I think he will be having this once a week. Thank you so much for this!! Made for Veggie Swap 23!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Lovely, lovely, lovely!!!! Mmmm, the flavours of this tabbouleh really blend well together and make for a very tasty treat! I made a few changes due to personal preference: Used parsley instead of the cilantro and left out the oil and the lemon juice. I found the end result to be super delish and will definitely make this again and again! THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this lovely recipe with us, Debbie! Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday February 2010-Sharing the Love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Wonderful. I enjoyed this for lunch today. I wasn't able to find plain quinoa in any of my local stores, so I had to substitute a whole grain quinoa blend that included brown rice, millet, cilantro and other seasonings. The package directions stated to saute the grains in 1 tablespoon of oil until golden brown. I omitted the 1 cup olive oil as WiGal suggested. Otherwise made as stated. Would also be good with some grilled chicken. Thank you for the recipe...it is a keeper! Made for Every Day is a Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      I don't know that I can really rate this since I changed the recipe up a bit. Increased salt to 1 tsp. Used one lemon. Sauteed 1/4 onion and 2 cloves garlic in 2 tbsp. olive oil and didn't use any more oil than that. Didn't have any cilantro or corn. Used 2 good sized tomatoes and 1/2 cucumber. Served avocado on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This was absolutely excellent! This was my first time making quinoa and I am glad I did. I will be adding this to my regular meal rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This recipe is SOOOOOOO delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Delicious! I served this with my panko crusted chicken schnitzel. It was a terrific way to get healthy veggies into me and the quinoa was surprisingly good. I used the toasted method as well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Excellent recipe! Before making this I did toast the quinoa as suggested in Quinoa-Toasted which really does add a lot. I reduced the oil to 1 tablespoon to lower the fat levels. I subbed zucchini for cucumber and a hard boiled egg for the avocado. I also added in 1 teaspoon of ground cumin. Thank you debbwl for a wonderful lunch. Made for Everyday is a Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I followed the suggested toasting directions and was well pleased with the difference it made. I made the salad with only two adjustments and used lime juice instead of lemon. I used very little oil~ maybe 1 and a half tablespoons. There was plenty of flavor from the other ingredients and it is a very colorful salad. Served with Ranch Style Beans With Okra and BBQ Chili Drumsticks With Avocado & Tomato Salsa. Made for Ramadan Tag in the NA*ME Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Toasting the quinoa, as suggested changed my entire perspective of quinoa! It wasn't bitter, was nutty - and quite simply - was delicious - before I added the rest of the stuff! LIke CK, I halved the olive oil, and even then, think I could get away with even less than that. Excellent, flavours in here, this will make wonderful lunches to take to work next week! Thanks, Debb! Made for Veg*n Swap 12.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      Quinoa is so cool--and this salad is an excellent use of it. I halved this and did use a bit less oil than called for. I also skipped the corn and used red bell peppers instead of chilis. I followed the recommendations and toastd the quinoa and added some cumin to the salad--super results and SO healthy. Thanks, Deb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for South America Quinoa

    Serving Size: 1 (312 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 629.5
     
    Calories from Fat 404
    64%
    Total Fat 44.9 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 112.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes