8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I grew up eating Ouma's Rusks, and these taste almost exactly the way I remember them.<br/>When I was making them, I mis-wrote the recipe down and used brown sugar instead of castor sugar, and they still came out beautifully.<br/>I definitely will be making these again for my South African mum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leigh.m.brandt December 24, 2014

This recipe is just what I have been looking for. It most closely matches the rusks we had in SA. We had them mostly while on safari, but we also found them in the supermarkets (Super Spar) around SA. I just made my first batch and they came out just as I remember them, hard as rocks with flavor, ready for dipping. This is definitely a keeper. I love them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krugerman September 17, 2012

I really liked this recipe because of the low sugar and butter content. They were crunchy and delicious and I will be making them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy D kennedy January 26, 2013

These rusks were lovely, after reading the other reviews I did make some changes, because I am a lazy cook, I used five cups of self raising flour instead of the flour and baking powder in the recipe. 1 1/4 cups brown sugar, 1 tsp salt and 500ml buttermilk, the rest was as is. All the other rusk recipes I have seen and used called for 250 to 500gr butter, so this was perfect for a low fat treat. I will be making another batch this weekend, Because it was very gooey, I will try pouring the mixture into a baking dish and then cut up before drying out. will let you know how it works. thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lula'S mom July 02, 2010

Recipe is not how I remember making rusks and it did not turn out how I remember. Too flat and not flavorful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPOLLAK February 27, 2008

this rusk recipe is to die for delicious!! i am south african and have been looking or a recipe this ggod for ages. thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caroline_mc December 01, 2006

As a South African, this is not the recipe I'd use again for my beloved morning rusks-and-sweet-tea. The baking powder is not enough for a good rise and the sugar used is too little -- rusks should have a definite sweetness for that early morning lift! I'd also use more butter next time. (Rusks are not a diet food -- enough sugar and butter are musts!) Otherwise, it's okay.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie April 17, 2005

These are also called \

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinie Hill July 08, 2003
South African Rusks