Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / South African Milk Tart -- Traditional Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    South African Milk Tart -- Traditional

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2008

      The real South African Melktert is NEVER made with puff pastry. The Tannies in South Africa would be horrified!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Chef Zee, I am so sorry to have to give this a low rating, the idea sounded great and *surely* I must have done something wrong. I am on an elimination diet for allergies so no flour is allowed and had colleagues at work rate this for me: without exception they said that the filling tasted overwhelmingly floury ! - ??? And definitely not a creamy, custard-dy inside that they were expecting. I’m really sorry that this didn’t work for me, it baked and puffed up well, rose up like a soufflee and fell before my eyes as I took it out the oven, and it looked great. I have included a photo of a slice so that you can see the heaviness that I encountered: that’s obviously NOT what it’s SUPPOSED to look like. Maybe when I’m allowed flour again I might attempt this again. Thanks for a recipe that I hope works better for others as it sounds wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      this is definitely not traditional milk tart as I know it - it was more like a sponge type of cake but not even spongy which I had to throw away. I'm used to the custardy type but mine was nothing like this - I guess I'll look up melktert next time.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      Thank you for this recipe. Your rating moves up - my mom uses the same filling recipe but does not bake it - she also uses a shortcrust pasty - Yuk, your version is far better. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I have made this recipe for many years, using puff pastry. The only change I make is to beat the 4 eggs together, without separating the whites, and I also use two cinnamon sticks in the milk. Perhaps the ground cinnamon & icing sugar should be sprinkled over the 'tert' when it has cooled, as this tends to get "runny". Great recipe!! And very traditional!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      I haven't tried this recipe yet,but I just have to agree with Zurie, traditional Milk Tart is ALWAYS made with puff pastry. I hope to try this soon, it sounds yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Hi Zuri, YOUR recipie is the old traditional way...I believe that this way is the best but it is an art in itself to perfect, which is why the "Modern" version was made. There is a bake shop down the road from me here in South Africa who still bakes the milktart the traditional way to this day! they bake 150 per day and they all get sold out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      Pardon, but I beg to differ on this recipe.. I have never ever had melktert served with puff pastry... Maybe another version of the "custard tart" .. but according to my knowledge, melktert should always be on a shortcrust base with a creamy filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for South African Milk Tart -- Traditional

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 548.8
     
    Calories from Fat 309
    56%
    Total Fat 34.3 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 12.7 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 125.3 mg
    41%
    Sodium 578.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes