8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The real South African Melktert is NEVER made with puff pastry. The Tannies in South Africa would be horrified!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef 962519 September 21, 2008

Chef Zee, I am so sorry to have to give this a low rating, the idea sounded great and *surely* I must have done something wrong. I am on an elimination diet for allergies so no flour is allowed and had colleagues at work rate this for me: without exception they said that the filling tasted overwhelmingly floury ! - ??? And definitely not a creamy, custard-dy inside that they were expecting. I’m really sorry that this didn’t work for me, it baked and puffed up well, rose up like a soufflee and fell before my eyes as I took it out the oven, and it looked great. I have included a photo of a slice so that you can see the heaviness that I encountered: that’s obviously NOT what it’s SUPPOSED to look like. Maybe when I’m allowed flour again I might attempt this again. Thanks for a recipe that I hope works better for others as it sounds wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 26, 2006

this is definitely not traditional milk tart as I know it - it was more like a sponge type of cake but not even spongy which I had to throw away. I'm used to the custardy type but mine was nothing like this - I guess I'll look up melktert next time.......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebbyDooDah June 07, 2009

Thank you for this recipe. Your rating moves up - my mom uses the same filling recipe but does not bake it - she also uses a shortcrust pasty - Yuk, your version is far better. I love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef RobynQ June 06, 2009

I have made this recipe for many years, using puff pastry. The only change I make is to beat the 4 eggs together, without separating the whites, and I also use two cinnamon sticks in the milk. Perhaps the ground cinnamon & icing sugar should be sprinkled over the 'tert' when it has cooled, as this tends to get "runny". Great recipe!! And very traditional!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muldool February 25, 2009

I haven't tried this recipe yet,but I just have to agree with Zurie, traditional Milk Tart is ALWAYS made with puff pastry. I hope to try this soon, it sounds yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol-SA November 11, 2008

Hi Zuri, YOUR recipie is the old traditional way...I believe that this way is the best but it is an art in itself to perfect, which is why the "Modern" version was made. There is a bake shop down the road from me here in South Africa who still bakes the milktart the traditional way to this day! they bake 150 per day and they all get sold out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefJax October 26, 2008

Pardon, but I beg to differ on this recipe.. I have never ever had melktert served with puff pastry... Maybe another version of the "custard tart" .. but according to my knowledge, melktert should always be on a shortcrust base with a creamy filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iluv2cook59 March 06, 2008
South African Milk Tart -- Traditional