Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / South African Melktert or Milk Tart (Custard Pie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    South African Melktert or Milk Tart (Custard Pie)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2007

      This was great. I made only 1 pie because I only had enough milk for 1 :) I reduced the sugar a little too. The recipe only called for 1/4 cup but I added less anyway. I made my own crust instead of using puff pastry but it didnt cook through completely. The pie was done in about 12 mins! Next time, I will pre-bake my crust before adding the mixture. This is so great and my 2 yr old who prefers to eat nothing at all, actually took 4 bites of this one! It reminded me a little of a Caramel pudding my mom use to make when I was young. Great stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      I live in South Africa and my family loves MelkTert, but the one time I tried making it, it was very laborious and not particularly successful. All that has now changed!!!!! This recipe was easy to follow and produced a beautiful, melt-in-the-mouth melktert....my daughter and I worked together, we Halved the recipe since we were not confident of ourselves! and the pie was eaten up in one go and we wished we had made two!!!!!!!!!! The one thing I found, the custard puffed up while baking, I thought, oh no...but on cooling, it quickly settled to look as it should, so I hope that was what I should have expected? i didnt have any almond essence so I used vanilla essence. Ill be making this again...and again...probably tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      I choses this for my husband's b-day dinner and it is my new favorite dessert. This turned out "picture perfect" but I needed to increase the baking time since my dough was refrigerated (1 hour)first. The filling is so creamy and fluffy. If you love tarts, custard pie, and pudding, you will love this. I added my cinnamon sugar during the last few minutes and it got crackly like a creme brulee topping. This is a ten star recipe! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      The custard was excellent but I must have done something wrong with the pastry crust . . . extremely difficult to get out of the pan. I reduced the recipe by 50%. Instead of custard powder (which I had none) I added an extra egg and little extra corn starch and sugar, it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      I really did not know what to expect when I made this, I generally don't care for custard. But this was light and creamy....a terrific texture and taste. We really enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      Very Tasty! It was the first I made custard. And I LOVED it! Very easy to make. I will make it again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      My partner is a custard lover and he absolutely loved this! I really don't like custard that much but had a little slice and found that I do like some custard. I followed this recipe to the letter. When the tart came out of the oven it looked like a superb souffle - it deflated as it cooled (which is to be expected) but the result was a light and delicate custard encrusted in pastry. Totally delicious and definitely will be made again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      I have found a hidden gem. This was great custard. I loved the switch of using a pastry crust. Thanks for posting this for the ZWT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for South African Melktert or Milk Tart (Custard Pie)

    Serving Size: 1 (1314 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1263.1
     
    Calories from Fat 627
    49%
    Total Fat 69.7 g
    107%
    Saturated Fat 24.6 g
    123%
    Cholesterol 432.9 mg
    144%
    Sodium 715.1 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 125.9 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 51.2 g
    205%
    Protein 33.9 g
    67%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    custard powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites