Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / South African Curried Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    South African Curried Eggs

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2013

      Wow, did this take me back to me childhood in SA - just like my mum used to make it - I love vinegar curry - I used quite a hot curry, added 1/2 teaspoon tumeric and only used 1 cup of water - Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      Great recipe, one of the best curry sauces ever. Never had one with this sweet-sour touch, it makes a lovely match with the curry. Used gluten free mix of white rice flour, cornstarch and arrowroot starch, and it thickened nicely. Will definitely use this sauce for other dishes, too - I can imagine it being perfect for veggies. Thanks for sharing!
      Made for New African Tag Game / Africa Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Seriously good eggs! They were so different, but in a very good way. I was definitely skeptical about this recipe, but it came together beautifully. All of the ingredients seemed made for each other in the end. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      I reduced this to only make 2 eggs to serve as a side. I was expecting more of a curried style deviled egg, but that isn't what this recipe is at all. This was the first time to try something like this & we thought it was interesting. It definitly is full of flavor and has lots going on flavorwise. I served with baked chicken made with Nairobi Meat Rub, a simple baked potato, and Onion and Tomato Salad (Salata Bonjon-E-Rhumi-E-Piaz). Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      These eggs are GOOD! I didn't have cake flour and substituted unbleached all-purpose flour. I also used Bo-Kaap Cape Malay Curry Powder - South African Spice Mixture for the curry powder. This ones a keeper. Make for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      I am not a curry lover, so I was worried about messing with my eggs which I love. So I served this in a little side dish on the side, I used my own curry recipe and I liked the sauce on my eggs, as long as I went lightly. Will make again, but still keep the sauce on the side. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Interesting egg recipe. The flavors work very well together. I used Madras Curry Powder for the curry powder in this recipe and it was excellent. I garnished the eggs with some fresh cilantro. Perfect! Thanx for a great new egg recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      WOW, these were great!! Had them today and everyone enjoyed them very much!! Will definitely make these again! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      The recipe intrigued me. I love curry and had to give this a try. I did not have hot curry powder and used the sweet which was had a wonderful flavor for me. I did reduce the eggs to 4 for the 2 of us. Perfect Boiled Eggs was used for the boiled eggs. Made for *ZWT 4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      Easy & delicious!!! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      This was unusual but very good. i served it on wholegrain rice and adorned it with some spinach leaves and tiny diced cucumber - so all in all this is a great high protein meal for our mainly vegeatarian family - thanks Marra for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for South African Curried Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (480 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 442.7
     
    Calories from Fat 251
    56%
    Total Fat 27.9 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 590.0 mg
    196%
    Sodium 1461.7 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 12.7 g
    51%
    Protein 21.2 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes