Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / South African Chutney Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    South African Chutney Chicken

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2008

      This was delicious and so tender and juicy. I used bone in chicken breasts. I didn't have any dark meat left which we prefer here because the white meat always comes out dry but not this time. I only had a 1/2 jar of mango chutney so I add a 1/2 cup of sweet chili sauce and 1/4 cup of mango spread. Instead of the onion soup mix which I also didn't have I used 1 medium onion and 2 tsps of knorr beef boulin. Delicious we will be making this again. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      Very tasty and easy.

      I have never cooked with chutney before. The only chutney I could find was mango chutney and it wasn't spicy so I added a tough of cayenne to it. I was afraid the chutney might burn before the chicken was done so I baked it covered for the first 30 minutes and then uncovered for the next 30. I used a mix of chicken thighs and breasts. I enjoyed it very much. I served [url=http://www.food.com/recipe/couscous-with-currants-and-cumin-490]couscous with currents and cumin[/url] with this, which went very together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Delicious!!! We used Mrs Balls Chutney ordered from SA but next time I will try it with home made chutney recipe I got of this site. So naturally it was delicious with Mrs Ball's chutney. I spiced it up with cayenne too. Thanks:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      I made this using boneless chicken breasts and it came out nice and juicy. We really enjoyed the onion/chutney taste combination but I'll make a few changes when I make it next time. Without adding any liquid, the dry soup mix came out with a very strong onion flavor, so I'm going to try it again using half a can of french onion soup with I have mixed with half a can of water, and use French's canned french-fried onions in place of the soup mix. With those changes, I think the flavor will be a little milder while still retaining the great mix of flavors. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Delicious and couldn't be easier. I used hot mango chutney. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      What a delicious way to fix chicken thighs! This was so easy, I didn't have onion soup mix so I used Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix instead. My husband loved it and kept going back to the fridge long after dinner was over. This may be my new favorite way to have chicken. Made and reviewed for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I used peach chutney-not hot, this was delicious! To go with this South African menu I served this with South African Yellow Rice and Pumpkin Fritters / Pampoen Koekies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      I made this recipe about a year ago. I found it in a magazine somewhere. When I went to post it, I found the same recipe! It is really good. I recommend trying it. It is simple, quick, and easy. This is so good, it is on my "possible" list to make for a visit from my mother!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for South African Chutney Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 410.5
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    62%
    Total Fat 28.6 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 157.9 mg
    52%
    Sodium 522.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chutney

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites