8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious and so tender and juicy. I used bone in chicken breasts. I didn't have any dark meat left which we prefer here because the white meat always comes out dry but not this time. I only had a 1/2 jar of mango chutney so I add a 1/2 cup of sweet chili sauce and 1/4 cup of mango spread. Instead of the onion soup mix which I also didn't have I used 1 medium onion and 2 tsps of knorr beef boulin. Delicious we will be making this again. thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlitt June 30, 2008

Very tasty and easy.

I have never cooked with chutney before. The only chutney I could find was mango chutney and it wasn't spicy so I added a tough of cayenne to it. I was afraid the chutney might burn before the chicken was done so I baked it covered for the first 30 minutes and then uncovered for the next 30. I used a mix of chicken thighs and breasts. I enjoyed it very much. I served [url=http://www.food.com/recipe/couscous-with-currants-and-cumin-490]couscous with currents and cumin[/url] with this, which went very together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riverside Len March 11, 2011

Delicious!!! We used Mrs Balls Chutney ordered from SA but next time I will try it with home made chutney recipe I got of this site. So naturally it was delicious with Mrs Ball's chutney. I spiced it up with cayenne too. Thanks:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boat_girl February 09, 2012

I made this using boneless chicken breasts and it came out nice and juicy. We really enjoyed the onion/chutney taste combination but I'll make a few changes when I make it next time. Without adding any liquid, the dry soup mix came out with a very strong onion flavor, so I'm going to try it again using half a can of french onion soup with I have mixed with half a can of water, and use French's canned french-fried onions in place of the soup mix. With those changes, I think the flavor will be a little milder while still retaining the great mix of flavors. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester September 09, 2009

Delicious and couldn't be easier. I used hot mango chutney. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 23, 2008

What a delicious way to fix chicken thighs! This was so easy, I didn't have onion soup mix so I used Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix instead. My husband loved it and kept going back to the fridge long after dinner was over. This may be my new favorite way to have chicken. Made and reviewed for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ June 22, 2008

I made this recipe about a year ago. I found it in a magazine somewhere. When I went to post it, I found the same recipe! It is really good. I recommend trying it. It is simple, quick, and easy. This is so good, it is on my "possible" list to make for a visit from my mother!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 15, 2007
South African Chutney Chicken